Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

THR22 Asked and Answered thread


  • Please log in to reply
257 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 December 2011 - 06:47 PM

Will the new tivo remote work a directv DVR? I suspect it will, but I wonder if it has all 8 ir codes built into it.


I'll tell you after I try it.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 366 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 06 December 2011 - 08:50 PM

I'm not 100% sure on either of those, but I think that if you gave up your TiVo you lose the lifetime service. You might be able to talk to someone like Ellen's office about that.

As for other remotes, all I know is that you can use the white remote. I'm trying to get clarification about other remotes.


When I purchased my Sony SAT-T60 DirecTivo back in 2001 I bought the lifetime subscription, I was told at the time that it was on that box only. In 2005 I got a DirecTivo R10 and DirecTv said that it wasn't on the unit it was on the account, and thus moved my lifetime to that R10. I lost it when I got an HR20 but they fixed it, turns out they should have added the HR20 before removing the R10. No issues when I replaced the HR20 with an HR22, I just asked that they add it before removing the HR20. Its now 10 years with lifetime DVR service, not bad for $299.

I guess I am wondering if I add a THR-22 will I pay anything other than the $6 for another box (and price of the box of course).
Though I am quite used to the DirecTv interface, and want to add another DVR, I just don't know if I need this Tivo unit.

Ed

#28 OFFLINE   TheFigurehead

TheFigurehead

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2009

Posted 06 December 2011 - 08:52 PM

A couple years ago, DirecTV notified me that my DirecTivo (Hughes DVR40) would no longer work in my market (Peoria-Bloomington). I already had an HR20 on my main TV and an installer had put a SL-5 dish + a standard oval dish on my roof. I asked the DirecTV rep if I could get a HD TiVo to replace the SD box... I was told that when the DiercTV HD TiVo came out I'd be able to use it in place of the old Hughes, but it might be a few months. Well, a few months has turned into 2 years now and my Hughes box is sitting in my closet doing nothing. I am sure it is too late to get the free swap, since they sent me a HR22 to replace the Hughes... but do you think it might be possible to add the new HD TiVo without adding another 2 year programming commitment?

#29 OFFLINE   oenophile

oenophile

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 273 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 06 December 2011 - 09:25 PM

Curious: will the new TiVo be the only DVR that you can request/order specifically? Or did D* change that policy across the board?

(I have two HR20's that I like, but I hear other models and possibly the newer HR's are faster/better -- but I've always thought you can't request a particular model so I'm holding on to my HR20's until they die.)

D* Subsc. '99
HR34 Genie + Client; Onkyo TX-NR5008


#30 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 06 December 2011 - 11:01 PM

I'm not 100% sure on either of those, but I think that if you gave up your TiVo you lose the lifetime service. You might be able to talk to someone like Ellen's office about that.

As for other remotes, all I know is that you can use the white remote. I'm trying to get clarification about other remotes.


TiVo lifetime only becomes inelligible if the entire account is disconnected. I'm not saying that people who have left and came back never got it back (or that they haven't) but keeping a TiVo active is not part of the deal.

#31 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,669 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:42 AM

TiVo lifetime only becomes inelligible if the entire account is disconnected. I'm not saying that people who have left and came back never got it back (or that they haven't) but keeping a TiVo active is not part of the deal.


I thought there was a directv free dvr service for life, as well as a separate TiVo directv dvr free for life, and they where different. Not positive though.

#32 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,669 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:45 AM

I'll tell you after I try it.


While you're at it, I am curios if you could get the new TiVo to work rf with a directv remote. Even if it doesn't have settings in the menu, I wonder if you could program a directv remote like you do a regular directv dvr with its access card numbers, and then see what happens. You never know. I'd be even more curios if you cold do that and work both rf and ir at the same time, something I wish there was a setting for in the current directv boxes.

#33 OFFLINE   Budget_HT

Budget_HT

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
  • LocationRenton, WA
Joined: Jun 04, 2003

Posted 07 December 2011 - 01:55 AM

I thought there was a directv free dvr service for life, as well as a separate TiVo directv dvr free for life, and they where different. Not positive though.


We started with 2 DirecTiVo SAT-T60 Sony units and we purchased Lifetime service on both from TiVo, not DirecTV. The programming of course was DirecTV.

At some point, the Lifetime per-box TiVo service was handed off by TiVo to DirecTV where it became Lifetime per-account from DirecTV. As we replaced a couple of defective units with DirecTiVo replacements, nothing affected the Lifetime service. When we added 2 HR10-250 units, these were also included in the Lifetime per account.

Since then we have had a mix of DirecTiVo SD and HD and DirecTV HR-2x DVRs, all covered by the Lifetime per account.

We are now down to one SAT-T60 SD DirecTiVo and one HR10-250 HD DirecTiVo (plus 2 HR2x boxes). I am wondering where we stand on the $5 fee if we want to replace the two DirecTiVo's with the THR-22 new units.
Dave

#34 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,012 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 07 December 2011 - 01:56 AM

I thought there was a directv free dvr service for life, as well as a separate TiVo directv dvr free for life, and they where different. Not positive though.


They are different however keeping a TiVo active on the account is not a requirement of free tivo for life.

#35 OFFLINE   Budget_HT

Budget_HT

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
  • LocationRenton, WA
Joined: Jun 04, 2003

Posted 07 December 2011 - 02:11 AM

They are different however keeping a TiVo active on the account is not a requirement of free tivo for life.


They are not different.

The DIRECTV DVR Lifetime Service - $0.00 that appears on my bill was originally DirecTiVo Lifetime service. Over time it progressed from DirecTiVo only (all DirecTV had for DVRs at first) to all DVRs, whether DirecTiVo or HR-xx.
Dave

#36 OFFLINE   BryanLyle

BryanLyle

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2007

Posted 07 December 2011 - 07:07 AM

Is this compatible with the AM21 for over the air signals?

#37 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,321 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 07 December 2011 - 07:59 AM

Curious: will the new TiVo be the only DVR that you can request/order specifically? Or did D* change that policy across the board?

(I have two HR20's that I like, but I hear other models and possibly the newer HR's are faster/better -- but I've always thought you can't request a particular model so I'm holding on to my HR20's until they die.)


I would think the Tivo and HR34 would be the only ones you could order specifically through DirecTV. That is until/if a THR24 or HR35 come out, then you could get a THR22 or THR24 etc.

#38 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 08:10 AM

The stand alone Series 2 and above support logical filters for the Wishlists. Unfortunately the older DirecTiVos do not. Does the THR22 support Wishlists with logical filters?

Ultimate plus movie channels

One Genie

Two HR21P


#39 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 10:29 AM

While you're at it, I am curios if you could get the new TiVo to work rf with a directv remote. Even if it doesn't have settings in the menu, I wonder if you could program a directv remote like you do a regular directv dvr with its access card numbers, and then see what happens. You never know. I'd be even more curios if you cold do that and work both rf and ir at the same time, something I wish there was a setting for in the current directv boxes.


I think RF works, yes.

Is this compatible with the AM21 for over the air signals?


Yes, definitely.

The stand alone Series 2 and above support logical filters for the Wishlists. Unfortunately the older DirecTiVos do not. Does the THR22 support Wishlists with logical filters?


I don't know... I never used logical filters on a TiVo. If you give me an example of how to use them I'll try and let you know.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#40 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,160 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 December 2011 - 11:17 AM

So do we have any way to get insider information as to why the Tivo can't just be a call in to order, download to receiver? Of course they would mail the remote and documentation... but this would save TONS of costs rather then replacing perfectly good working HR models already out in the field.

Say an HR22 has 0x04D1 software loaded on it.... why couldn't it just be authorized to download Tivo 0x0189? (Signal sent to it, or reboot and 0-2-4-6-8).

Is it purely a contractual issue because the Tivo logo is not sticky taped to the front of the unit?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#41 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:06 PM

It can't download to the receiver because to change an HR22 to a TiVo requires a change at a very deep level. It's still a software change but these devices were never designed to accept that sort of programming change over the air.

I can't get into more detail than that, but simple answer is, it's technical not contractual.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#42 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,669 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:39 PM

I would think the Tivo and HR34 would be the only ones you could order specifically through DirecTV. That is until/if a THR24 or HR35 come out, then you could get a THR22 or THR24 etc.


I'd agree with that concept. I think directv basically controls their inventory by category, and TiVo hd dvr is its own category, just as the hr34 will be its own category.

#43 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,669 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:42 PM

So do we have any way to get insider information as to why the Tivo can't just be a call in to order, download to receiver? Of course they would mail the remote and documentation... but this would save TONS of costs rather then replacing perfectly good working HR models already out in the field.

Say an HR22 has 0x04D1 software loaded on it.... why couldn't it just be authorized to download Tivo 0x0189? (Signal sent to it, or reboot and 0-2-4-6-8).

Is it purely a contractual issue because the Tivo logo is not sticky taped to the front of the unit?


The first problem with that idea is that there are that many people with hr22-100s that will want to change to a TiVo. I doubt very many people that have that specific unit will change. And remember, it would also have to be that exact model and manufacturer.

Add in its not technically something that should be done, and it won't be happening.

#44 OFFLINE   Boobie1998

Boobie1998

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2007

Posted 07 December 2011 - 01:01 PM

If you would like to swap one of your receiver with this one, do you still have to pay the $199 fee? If your no longer on contract would you have to renew?

Thanks

#45 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 01:29 PM

There is no "1-for-1" swap. Unless a CSR offers you a better deal, you'll pay $199 and get a new two-year commitment.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#46 OFFLINE   Boobie1998

Boobie1998

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2007

Posted 07 December 2011 - 01:54 PM

There is no "1-for-1" swap. Unless a CSR offers you a better deal, you'll pay $199 and get a new two-year commitment.


Ok, thanks

#47 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 03:10 PM

I think RF works, yes.



Yes, definitely.



I don't know... I never used logical filters on a TiVo. If you give me an example of how to use them I'll try and let you know.


Ok Stuart I am giving these instructions from memory. Consider them a framework and not literal step by step. If the below is not enough information I can get you exact step by step instructions.

1>Create a keyword Wishlist. Lets say "Sprint Cup."

2>After spelling it out select done entering keyword.

3>Select add additional keyword. Lets say "Practice."

4>After spelling it out select done entering keyword.

5>Now select add additinal keyword but this time highlight the word practice. Hit the thumbs down button. Now the word practice has a minus sign in front. The result will be anything Sprint Cup but no results with the word Practice in it. Of course this is just like the HR2X NNOT.


I wish I could think of something more relevant for this time of year but I guess you can tell I am a sports guy. This feature is sorely missing from my HR10. My Series 2 and TiVo HD can both do this stuff. Makes search results pin point.

Thanks for you input on this!

Ultimate plus movie channels

One Genie

Two HR21P


#48 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 03:57 PM

Seems to me it should be pretty obvious whether or not there's an option to add an additional keyword. Thanks!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#49 OFFLINE   Brennok

Brennok

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2005

Posted 07 December 2011 - 04:31 PM

If the box still has classic TiVo settings Menus, could you possibly post the software version number under System Information?

#50 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2011 - 04:38 PM

I will do that as soon as practical, and it will also be part of the Issues thread at the top of this forum.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...