Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

RE: Superstations

underground

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 604 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 04 December 2011 - 03:59 PM

Just noticed that if you live in Canada and have Bell you can get WPIX, WSBK, and KTLA in HD. Hummmmm!!!! :(

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 04 December 2011 - 06:00 PM

Yes, what is the hmmmm? First, different rules in Canada, you can't compare what Bell does to what US providers can do. Second, Dish has little spectrum/transponder space to deal with, thus the lack of some sporting events in HD.

#3 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 604 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 04 December 2011 - 07:16 PM

Hummmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

#4 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 05 December 2011 - 09:30 AM

I've wondered for a long time why the superstation pack isn't offered in hd. There's been a lot of speculation on the board as to why, but no real solid reason. If I'm not mistaken, WWOR is offered in hd in the superstation pack, but only to those who are within the NY spotbeam. I'm not aware of any legal barrier to offering the superstation pack in hd.

#5 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 05 December 2011 - 04:31 PM

There are rules that govern HD that did not govern SD. As an example, you can't give the West Coast any distant channels from the East Coast in HD, but you can in SD.

WWOR in the superstation pack is ONLY available in HD on the East Coast, and then only if you are withing the spotbeam coverage as you mention. Very likely that is keeping within the rules.
And as I posted, even if they can, would Dish use the space for those to be in HD when they don't have much room to deal with?

#6 OFFLINE   renegade

renegade

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 07 December 2011 - 12:27 PM

Dish has little spectrum/transponder space to deal with, thus the lack of some sporting events in HD.


... They could have all the transponder space they need if they'd eliminate some of the more useless channels that are out there ...

Barbie Channel? Seriously?

--

Get the hell off my lawn!

Dish 1000.4 Eastern Arc: 61.5/72.7/77 with 119 wing dish
3 - ViP 211k/1TB external drive
Solo 508 DVR - Let's Pay More Fees! <-retired
Solo 301E <-retired

subscriber since 2/2000
AT200/Superstations/East-West distant nets
HD for Life since 3/2011
OTA antennas pointed at two markets: 32 channels
dedicated to getting Superstations in HD on Dish Network


#7 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 07 December 2011 - 04:45 PM

Not how it works at all. That is a paying channel, that in effect helps keep our bill less than it otherwise would be. Take all those away and your bill most definately goes up. Even at that, again, I am not so sure Dish can give everyone the HD version, their use may be predicated on SD.

#8 OFFLINE   levibluewa

levibluewa

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 604 posts
  • LocationWA, OR, CA
Joined: Aug 13, 2005

Posted 07 December 2011 - 09:09 PM

I've never read that DISH canNOT provide the HD version as superstations. 5 channels that are spotbeamed in HD. If they were all mpeg4 HD conus vs. the 5 spotbeams how much more tp space would be taken up.

#9 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 07 December 2011 - 09:56 PM

I've never read that DISH canNOT provide the HD version as superstations. 5 channels that are spotbeamed in HD. If they were all mpeg4 HD conus vs. the 5 spotbeams how much more tp space would be taken up.


I am also unaware of any law that prevents Dish from providing the superstations in HD. And if they were placed on conus, the spotbeams in those markets would be freed up for other stations.

#10 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,120 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:08 PM

... They could have all the transponder space they need if they'd eliminate some of the more useless channels that are out there ...

Barbie Channel? Seriously?

--

Get the hell off my lawn!


What's on Barbie channel anyway?

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#11 OFFLINE   FTA Michael

FTA Michael

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2002

Posted 09 December 2011 - 12:07 PM

Here's my reasoned guess:

1) I deduce that Dish can't really promote the superstations.
- Superstations must be profitable to Dish, or it wouldn't offer them.
- Superstations represent a rare, sustainable advantage over DirecTV's lineup.
- Yet you never hear advertising about them.
- The only reason Dish wouldn't promote a profitable product is that it can't. QED.
(Why? I assume that superstations are self-limiting; if they ever became really popular, local stations would syndex them away. At their current penetration %, they're below most locals' radar. Or there may be another reason, but it's an observed fact that Dish does not, and therefore cannot, promote the superstations.)

2) Five CONUS HD slots would take up a lot of room. Dish would rather use CONUS HD slots for channels it can promote.

3) Dish figures it wouldn't bring in enough subscriber fees from HD superstations to justify the room. OR Dish worries that HD superstations would make them attractive enough for the locals to notice them and syndex away both the SD and HD versions.

Although I use the Never word sparingly (see: MLB Network), given that Dish hasn't offered HD superstations by now, it's not wise to expect Dish to add them in the future. Too bad.
Yes, FTABlog is active again. Why do you ask?

#12 OFFLINE   nmetro

nmetro

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 618 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 01:51 PM

FYI. KWGN is offered in the Denver spotbeam in HD; it is still classified as a Superstation. It may be also available in Colorado Springs and in Cheyenne on their spotbeams as well.

By the way, why do I get the Superstations? Beacuse I like watching news from New York once in a while. Programming wise, KWGN, WPIX and KTLA offer the same programming (beyond the CW) like movies and syndicated shows. Though, WPIX offers specials which are New York specific. WSBK, now an independent does offer a reasonable choice of movies.

As for why not in HD, the previous post provides the logical reason. Personally, I am surprised that DISH still offers them, especially after the digital conversion. So, having them in SD is better than not having them at all. I wish, though, that they showed the channels in letterbox, instead of "center cut".

#13 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 09 December 2011 - 10:37 PM

Here's my reasoned guess:

1) I deduce that Dish can't really promote the superstations.
- Superstations must be profitable to Dish, or it wouldn't offer them.
- Superstations represent a rare, sustainable advantage over DirecTV's lineup.
- Yet you never hear advertising about them.
- The only reason Dish wouldn't promote a profitable product is that it can't. QED.
(Why? I assume that superstations are self-limiting; if they ever became really popular, local stations would syndex them away. At their current penetration %, they're below most locals' radar. Or there may be another reason, but it's an observed fact that Dish does not, and therefore cannot, promote the superstations.)

2) Five CONUS HD slots would take up a lot of room. Dish would rather use CONUS HD slots for channels it can promote.

3) Dish figures it wouldn't bring in enough subscriber fees from HD superstations to justify the room. OR Dish worries that HD superstations would make them attractive enough for the locals to notice them and syndex away both the SD and HD versions.

Although I use the Never word sparingly (see: MLB Network), given that Dish hasn't offered HD superstations by now, it's not wise to expect Dish to add them in the future. Too bad.


I generally agree with what you say. However, I will note that some superstations are already blocked in some markets. I have not researched why the stations are blocked, but it may be syndicated exclusivity.

Second, I have not researched whether grandfathered status applies to subscribers of superstations.

#14 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 10 December 2011 - 02:21 PM

I've never read that DISH canNOT provide the HD version as superstations.


I can only get WWOR as a superstation in HD and I am in the spotbeam.

FYI. KWGN is offered in the Denver spotbeam in HD; it is still classified as a Superstation.


That is an indication that there is some restriction. Two of us get a Superstation in HD only because we are in the spotbeam. It is very possible it has to do with not providing HD channels from the East to the West even though they are not technically distants. Or, the Superstation agreement does not cover HD, only SD which as has been demonstrated various times is not the same thing. (See Disney, See distants)

#15 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 10 December 2011 - 04:46 PM

So is KWGN available in HD to anyone within the Denver spotbeam who has the superstation pack, even those who are outside of the Denver market? If so, then that is the same situation as with WWOR. I am also wondering if KTLA is available in HD to those with the superstation pack and outside the Los Angeles market.

#16 OFFLINE   kucharsk

kucharsk

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 05 January 2012 - 05:38 PM

I have the superstation package and live in the Denver Metro area but do not receive KWGN in HD; to receive KWGN in HD I'd need to subscribe to the locals package which I don't.

I'm grateful for the SD superstations but would really, really like to receive KTLA in HD.

As far as I know the superstation package gets you only the SD channels, no matter where you're located.

#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,758 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:40 AM

I have the superstation package and live in the Denver Metro area but do not receive KWGN in HD; to receive KWGN in HD I'd need to subscribe to the locals package which I don't.

I'm surprised that you get it in SD without subscribing to your market's locals. Within their own local market, KWGN is not a superstation and DISH should not be delivering it to you without delivering the rest of your market's locals.

#18 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:40 AM

As far as I know the superstation package gets you only the SD channels, no matter where you're located.


You are incorrect, as I stated. I do not get NY locals, not in that DMA, I DO get WWOR in HD as part of the superstations. This has been well discussed at the other site. (Maybe here too not sure)

#19 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:49 AM

Being Grandfathered explains having the package without locals. It is something to think about, that they can give him a local channel and not the others. Satellite providers must provide all the locals (that meet the requirements) if they offer one. This sort of circumvents that. Dish does provide them, just not to kucharsk... lol

#20 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,120 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:51 PM

I generally agree with what you say. However, I will note that some superstations are already blocked in some markets. I have not researched why the stations are blocked, but it may be syndicated exclusivity.

Second, I have not researched whether grandfathered status applies to subscribers of superstations.


Back in 1999 I had all of the Superstations. One day in 2007 ii received a letter from Dish saying KBCW ordered to remove KTLA. A few months later the rest were gone. Something about syntax.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever





Protected By... spam firewall...And...