Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Firrmware L7.22 on the 722 DVR


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 08 December 2011 - 11:28 AM

Just received the update this morning. Anyone knows what this update does/fixes?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,714 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 08 December 2011 - 11:39 AM

I too have it. I hope it contains a fix for the guide download problem.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 December 2011 - 01:09 PM

Posted URL in prev post about L7.21 - http://www.dishsuppo...e-release-notes
Bookmark it - post the question there - get the answer.

[Never ending habits :( - do not use Search and read before post, duh !]

#4 OFFLINE   sliderbob

sliderbob

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2007

Posted 08 December 2011 - 01:24 PM

Posted URL in prev post about L7.21 - http://www.dishsuppo...e-release-notes
Bookmark it - post the question there - get the answer.

[Never ending habits :( - do not use Search and read before post, duh !]


Hmmm..I did a search there...NOTHING about the L7.22

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:05 PM

And will be nothing before someone will ask at THAT forum, not here. ;)

#6 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,714 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:18 PM

And will be nothing before someone will ask at THAT forum, not here. ;)

Hmmmm. It appears to me that the release notes threads are started by the Community Manager. So how do I ask?

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 December 2011 - 03:58 PM

PM him, - pretty easy, n'est-ce pas ?

#8 OFFLINE   TheFoxMan

TheFoxMan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 12:07 PM

I too have it. I hope it contains a fix for the guide download problem.


+1... haven't had time to play with it but will let you know if I see anything interesting.

#9 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,714 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:10 PM

Ok, now I know everything there is to know from the Dish Support site:

:confused:
ViP 722 - L722 (Partial Release)
STB date change, HDCP force TV2 fix, Misc stability fixes


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#10 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,714 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 15 December 2011 - 12:03 AM

One thing it didn't fix is the problem with the guide update. After discovering my guide only had two days left on it, I did a hard reboot. Darned.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#11 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 15 December 2011 - 10:25 PM

One thing it didn't fix is the problem with the guide update. After discovering my guide only had two days left on it, I did a hard reboot. Darned.


Ditto! My 722 will reboot itself automatically at random times, but not always download the guide leaving me with recordings going on for hours until I manually stop them. Have had to perform 3 hard reboots in the past week just to get the guide info to download. When is this fix coming??

#12 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 16 December 2011 - 10:56 AM

The update was released last week so you should be getting the update soon to resolve the issues listed. Thanks.

ViP 722 - L722 (Partial Release)
STB date change, HDCP force TV2 fix, Misc stability fixes

Ditto! My 722 will reboot itself automatically at random times, but not always download the guide leaving me with recordings going on for hours until I manually stop them. Have had to perform 3 hard reboots in the past week just to get the guide info to download. When is this fix coming??



#13 OFFLINE   BonefishPaul

BonefishPaul

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 16 December 2011 - 02:22 PM

Thanks for the update, Ray. I will check tonight to see what software version my 722 is running.

#14 OFFLINE   beetle02

beetle02

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 17 December 2011 - 06:18 AM

When mine updates it changes my timers. I look ahead to see what is going to be recorded and skip the ones I don't want to record. The next day all my user skips are gone. Or if I restore a program that was being skipped because it was not a new episode that gets reset after the update.

#15 OFFLINE   921tiger

921tiger

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 03:42 PM

About the time that this update appears to have been applied, my 722 started randomly crashing. Blank TV1 and TV2 outputs, no response to remote including power button. No lights on the front panel. Holding down the power button to force a reboot resets the receiver. It always seems to crash when I'm playing back a recorded program from my DVR.

If this fixed stability issues, it induced new, annoying ones that I'm falling victim to.

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:02 PM

still have the 921 HD DVR ?

#17 OFFLINE   921tiger

921tiger

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:33 PM

still have the 921 HD DVR ?


Hah. No, I had more than enough fun with it (not). :nono:

#18 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 23 December 2011 - 07:29 AM

Have you tried unplugging the receiver from the electrical outlet for 10 seconds and plugging back in to have the receiver perform a hard reboot? This clears all RAM and loads everything like a computer. Please let me know. Thanks.

About the time that this update appears to have been applied, my 722 started randomly crashing. Blank TV1 and TV2 outputs, no response to remote including power button. No lights on the front panel. Holding down the power button to force a reboot resets the receiver. It always seems to crash when I'm playing back a recorded program from my DVR.

If this fixed stability issues, it induced new, annoying ones that I'm falling victim to.



#19 OFFLINE   921tiger

921tiger

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2005

Posted 23 December 2011 - 09:46 AM

No, not yet. I'll give it a try--thanks for the suggestion!

#20 OFFLINE   921tiger

921tiger

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2005

Posted 24 December 2011 - 10:15 AM

Did a full power unplug reset last night. I was watching a DVR program just now and after about ten minutes, WHUMP. This time the TV1 output went dead, and DVR playback stopped. After about a minute, TV1 came back.

#21 OFFLINE   921tiger

921tiger

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2005

Posted 25 December 2011 - 10:21 AM

It's getting worse: I got a Christmas morning surprise:

This morning around 8:05 PST, while watching the first few minutes of Alton Brown on "Good Eats" on the Cooking Channel, video on TV2 froze. I was still able to bring up and clear off the program information (INFO button), then the video disappeared, and the entire unit went unresponsive.

When I went downstairs to check the 722, it was, again, completely dark. I pulled the power plug for a minute before plugging it back in and restoring normal operation.

#22 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 December 2011 - 11:27 AM

It's typical SW bug(s) symptoms.

#23 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,280 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 25 December 2011 - 01:25 PM

Ditto! My 722 will reboot itself automatically at random times, but not always download the guide leaving me with recordings going on for hours until I manually stop them. Have had to perform 3 hard reboots in the past week just to get the guide info to download. When is this fix coming??


A shortcut to update the EPG... if the EPG short-changes you, advance (use the Skip FWD key) to the last day on your EPG. The 722 should then tell you that the EPG needs updating and give you a one-button option to download a new one. Or at least that's what mine does.:)
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#24 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 26 December 2011 - 12:11 AM

A shortcut to update the EPG... if the EPG short-changes you, advance (use the Skip FWD key) to the last day on your EPG. The 722 should then tell you that the EPG needs updating and give you a one-button option to download a new one. Or at least that's what mine does.:)

There's also, being on a guide page and inputting 999, then pressing the Right Arrow key. If you are truly due for an update it will give you the option to do so. If not, it'll just take you to the last entry in the EPG.

#25 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 27 December 2011 - 01:05 AM

Finally today after a short rest for my EHD I reconnected it. Tried last night but it failed, again. Since L722 my EHD has become severely flaky(ier). To the point I don't trust it at all anymore. In addition to constantly disappearing, once unplugged from a DVR it still runs even after, until it is disconnected from the power. Prior to L722, it had it's issues but they were tolerable and although were not conducive to proper drive health, as per the manufacturer (not letting it sleep when not in use), seemed to be somewhat few and far between. But now it's there one minute and then gone the next. Then only after letting it stand a couple of days unplugged from the DVR and power it then works again. So I make it an "event" to use it and plan accordingly until I clear it out and then back to using to on a computer where it belongs. That's unless DISH fixes the way they deal with EHDs . . . ?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...