Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

THR22 - First Pictures!


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,028 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:08 PM

It was the same thing with the HDVR2. Why would you want to put it in Stand By?


I would like to point out that the HDVR2 (and its almost visually identical cousin the HR10) did not have INTENSELY DRAMATIC BLUE LIGHT RINGS.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#52 OFFLINE   YMark

YMark

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:10 PM

Can't help but be jealous at you and all the new old gear you get to try out.


Fixed that for you. This receiver is old technology and fails to support a lot of new features.

#53 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:11 PM

INTENSELY DRAMATIC BLUE LIGHT RINGS.


That is an accurate emphasis :lol:
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#54 ONLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 299 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:19 PM

Hey Stuart are you able to post a screen shot of Directv On Demand yet. I was wondering if it is any different looking than the HR one. Also how is changing channel speed. From what I heard the new HD gui does not improve channel changing speed. Maybe on the Tivo it is better.

#55 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:24 PM

Hey Stuart are you able to post a screen shot of Directv On Demand yet. I was wondering if it is any different looking than the HR one. Also how is changing channel speed. From what I heard the new HD gui does not improve channel changing speed. Maybe on the Tivo it is better.


I think Stu's at work, but I can help. The channel changing, according to my completely unscientific tests is about 2.5 seconds from pressing "enter", compared to 3 seconds on my HR24 with the HD GUI.

Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#56 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,028 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:25 PM

Channel changing speed is about the same as a stock HR22. When I got it fired up I got only one channel of on demand, the main one, and it looked the same as it does on the HR22 except with the Tivo font (Franklin Gothic Condensed) used instead of the DIRECTV DVR font (Trade Gothic Condensed.) There were also color button instructions at the bottom.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#57 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,028 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:26 PM

Yep, that's what it looked like :)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#58 ONLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 299 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:31 PM

Thank you for the pics.

#59 OFFLINE   tzphotos.com

tzphotos.com

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 409 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 05:57 PM

Does it support OTA channels?

Tom

www.tzphotos.com

 


#60 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,028 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 05:58 PM

It does support OTA through the AM21 or AM21N module.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#61 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 364 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:39 PM

One big thing to note... the peanut remote has no POWER button, so you have to go into standby through the menus, or from the front panel, or deal with the blue light ring (since you can't turn it off.)


So pressing and holding the left part of the ring and pressing the right part of the ring 4 times has no effect here? Being on any non-active channel and doing this allows the blue ring to be turned off.

#62 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 739 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:40 PM

The green button is TV power.


Pressing the green button once will turn on TiVo and TV, but pressing a second time will only turn off TV, not TiVo.

#63 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:42 PM

So pressing and holding the left part of the ring and pressing the right part of the ring 4 times has no effect here? Being on any non-active channel and doing this allows the blue ring to be turned off.


Nope, 'fraid not. That's a feature in the DirecTV Firmware that apparently didn't make the transfer to TiVo's firmware.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#64 OFFLINE   Nighthawk68

Nighthawk68

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 364 posts
  • LocationNorthern Michigan
Joined: Oct 14, 2004

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:52 PM

Nope, 'fraid not. That's a feature in the DirecTV Firmware that apparently didn't make the transfer to TiVo's firmware.


Thanks. But I must add the following statement... "bummer"

#65 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 07:59 PM

Thanks. But I must add the following statement... "bummer"


Yeah, I'm reconsidering the bedroom location...
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#66 OFFLINE   FilmMixer

FilmMixer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 09:15 PM

Is there any mention of whole home anytime in the future with this series of boxes?

#67 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 09:22 PM

Is there any mention of whole home anytime in the future with this series of boxes?


Nothing that I've heard.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#68 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,590 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 09 December 2011 - 09:52 PM

Those screens remind me of my old HR10-250.
H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.

#69 OFFLINE   Brennok

Brennok

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 228 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2005

Posted 09 December 2011 - 11:44 PM

Nope, 'fraid not. That's a feature in the DirecTV Firmware that apparently didn't make the transfer to TiVo's firmware.


At least on the retail TiVos, and I swear the old SD DirecTiVos under settings there was a LED option. I believe it is Settings...Display...Displays on front of the DVR. It gave you option for LED On or OFF. I know in my bedroom I always turned them off.

#70 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:04 AM

At least on the retail TiVos, and I swear the old SD DirecTiVos under settings there was a LED option. I believe it is Settings...Display...Displays on front of the DVR. It gave you option for LED On or OFF. I know in my bedroom I always turned them off.


There's Bright, Normal, and Dim; but no way to turn it completely off.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#71 OFFLINE   drumdude

drumdude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2011

Posted 10 December 2011 - 10:14 AM

Thanks for the great screenshots all! Great work Stuart!

#72 OFFLINE   skatingrocker17

skatingrocker17

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2010

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:04 PM

Can we get a picture of the entire front of the box? Not just a portion of it.

Also, you said the UI is SD, does it look crappy? It's hard to tell from the pictures because it actually looks pretty good. Are the normal Tivos SD too?

#73 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:24 PM

Can we get a picture of the entire front of the box? Not just a portion of it.

Also, you said the UI is SD, does it look crappy? It's hard to tell from the pictures because it actually looks pretty good. Are the normal Tivos SD too?


The UI is not shabby by any means, but there is obvious pixelation in the line of the SD UI from DirecTV. It is the same UI from the Series 3 TiVo and TiVo HD. The currently-selling TiVo Premiere, XL, and Elite have a different, high-definition interface.

As far as pictures, I think this may satisfy your needs. All photos are high-resolution on the click-through, taken this morning with my DSLR.:

I should note this interesting thing: The record light is actually RED (like the HR23) unlike the standard HR22s which have more of an orange light.

Also, the second Ethernet port does not pass-through like the HR22. Both function as inputs though, just no output.

Posted Image
IMG_1918 by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Posted Image
IMG_1921 by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Posted Image
IMG_1923 by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Posted Image
IMG_1924 by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr

Edited by dirtyblueshirt, 10 December 2011 - 12:31 PM.

Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#74 OFFLINE   skatingrocker17

skatingrocker17

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2010

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:00 PM

Cool, thanks dirtyblueshirt.

I'm wondering why they went with an HR22ish design? It's not bad looking though.

#75 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    Under Suspicion

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:07 PM

Cool, thanks dirtyblueshirt.

I'm wondering why they went with an HR22ish design? It's not bad looking though.


Well, the manufacturing and R&D would be cheaper to use an existing unit and focus solely on the firmware. Plus DirecTV wouldn't need to pay Thompson extra to create new molds for manufacturing, as they can re-use the existing equipment to create the THR22-100.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™






Protected By... spam firewall...And...