Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

THR22 - First Pictures!


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,811 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 09 December 2011 - 11:43 AM

Patience, grasshopper. I have to actually record something then delete it for that to happen.


No patience necessary... ;)

As much as I like TiVo, I have no intention of getting one of these... though if I ever strike it rich, I might get one and stick it beside an HR34 on my main TV.

The classic UI doesn't appear to hold any surprises really, so I'm not really excited by the pictures... just checking them out. :D

~Alan

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,768 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 09 December 2011 - 12:23 PM

Thanks for the picture Stuart. While it has 8 channels on the screen at once in the grid, it still looks sort of dated. I like Virgin Media's Tivo grid guide much better.

Do they throw random ad's in the grid guide (similar to the DirecTV's software?)

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, MTV2, BBC World News, Ovation, Reelz , Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD (formerly SWRV), Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---
HR24-200
H24-200


#43 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 12:57 PM

So far no, but I have a feeling those take a couple days to come.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#44 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    *Recently Declassified

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 01:36 PM

ok thanks just wasnted to be sure because I saw this at Solid Signal under "features" ...The DIRECTV THR22 supports 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i picture resolution outputs and multiple screen formats.


Yes, and1080p is indicated differently than a typical HR22 as well. On a DirecTV standard box, the 720p and 1080i lights both illuminate to indicate 1080p content. on the THR22, the 1080i light is now labeled 1080i/p.
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#45 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,592 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 December 2011 - 01:42 PM

...Also it looks like whole room network is not supported. Maybe the THR24 may have this feature later on?


THR24? Not likely.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#46 OFFLINE   bpaulson

bpaulson

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2009

Posted 09 December 2011 - 02:30 PM

If it was HD, didn't cost an extra $5 a month, I didn't have to get a different box, and whole home DVR worked, then I'd switch.

I actually like where they've taken the hrxx series.

#47 OFFLINE   PrinceLH

PrinceLH

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 473 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2003

Posted 09 December 2011 - 02:45 PM

Too bad that TIVO didn't come out with a stand-alone, that supported Directv in HD.

#48 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 02:48 PM

Let's keep that kind of discussion in the "Not for me" thread, thanks.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#49 OFFLINE   adam1115

adam1115

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:02 PM

It was the same thing with the HDVR2. Why would you want to put it in Stand By?


Idling out both tuners so it can record suggestions?

#50 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    *Recently Declassified

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:08 PM

The Playlist with logos and deleted items folder would be a more exciting picture... :P

That being said, I'm currently in the process of recording "Live With Kelly!" on KABC (ABC7) this morning as my cousin was in the audience, so it's kind of cool to see that snapshot... plus, I'm always jealous seeing someone's guide with a CW-HD affiliate on it. :rolleyes: :( :mad:

~Alan


Sorry, no CW-HD logo... and I do get it in HD here in San Diego:

Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr

(of note, I don't even get a CW-HD logo on my HR24):
Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr

Edited by dirtyblueshirt, 09 December 2011 - 03:19 PM.

Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#51 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:08 PM

It was the same thing with the HDVR2. Why would you want to put it in Stand By?


I would like to point out that the HDVR2 (and its almost visually identical cousin the HR10) did not have INTENSELY DRAMATIC BLUE LIGHT RINGS.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#52 OFFLINE   YMark

YMark

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:10 PM

Can't help but be jealous at you and all the new old gear you get to try out.


Fixed that for you. This receiver is old technology and fails to support a lot of new features.

#53 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    *Recently Declassified

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:11 PM

INTENSELY DRAMATIC BLUE LIGHT RINGS.


That is an accurate emphasis :lol:
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#54 OFFLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:19 PM

Hey Stuart are you able to post a screen shot of Directv On Demand yet. I was wondering if it is any different looking than the HR one. Also how is changing channel speed. From what I heard the new HD gui does not improve channel changing speed. Maybe on the Tivo it is better.

#55 OFFLINE   dirtyblueshirt

dirtyblueshirt

    *Recently Declassified

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,091 posts
  • LocationAnaheim, CA
Joined: Dec 06, 2008

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:24 PM

Hey Stuart are you able to post a screen shot of Directv On Demand yet. I was wondering if it is any different looking than the HR one. Also how is changing channel speed. From what I heard the new HD gui does not improve channel changing speed. Maybe on the Tivo it is better.


I think Stu's at work, but I can help. The channel changing, according to my completely unscientific tests is about 2.5 seconds from pressing "enter", compared to 3 seconds on my HR24 with the HD GUI.

Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Posted Image
Untitled by dirtyblueshirt, on Flickr
Aaron Slater
Anaheim, CA
Network+, Security+, All-around NiceGuy™



#56 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:25 PM

Channel changing speed is about the same as a stock HR22. When I got it fired up I got only one channel of on demand, the main one, and it looked the same as it does on the HR22 except with the Tivo font (Franklin Gothic Condensed) used instead of the DIRECTV DVR font (Trade Gothic Condensed.) There were also color button instructions at the bottom.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#57 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:26 PM

Yep, that's what it looked like :)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#58 OFFLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 09 December 2011 - 03:31 PM

Thank you for the pics.

#59 OFFLINE   tzphotos.com

tzphotos.com

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 409 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 05:57 PM

Does it support OTA channels?

Tom

www.tzphotos.com

 


#60 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 05:58 PM

It does support OTA through the AM21 or AM21N module.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...