Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Samsung Smart TVs Firmware 1024 and higher (RVU support) - Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
259 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,876 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 December 2011 - 11:20 PM

This is an unofficial issue and discussion thread for Samsung TVs with RVU, firmware 1024.

This firmware is available as of 12/8/11.

To use RVU, make sure the HR34 is powered up, select RVU as the source, and follow the onscreen instructions.

This Setup Guide will help you configure the Samsung TV with an HR34 running the "blue UI."

A note: at this time the only approved RVU setup option is a truck roll, in other words, allowing DIRECTV to do the install. However, if you have a spare broadband DECA it is possible to do this install yourself by hooking up the TV via the DECA.

The Samsung TV remote can be used to control the RVU client but I'm still working out the particulars of what button goes where.

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 16 December 2011 - 04:04 PM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,022 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 09 December 2011 - 11:32 PM

Interesting, cool, wish I had one.

Good luck to everyone that has the opportunity.
DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#3 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,354 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:52 AM

Is that firmware available to all Samsung tvs, only certain models, or only certain series.

Edited by inkahauts, 10 December 2011 - 01:01 AM.


#4 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:56 AM

6000 series right now. If you have certain TV's that have the same boards it's possible to trick your tv to thinking it's that type however there are some big downsides so beware if you're doing this currently to get 10pt calibrations.

#5 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,267 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 10 December 2011 - 02:46 AM

This is an unofficial issue and discussion thread for Samsung TVs with RVU, firmware 1024.

This firmware is available as of 12/8/11.

To use RVU, make sure the HR34 is powered up, select RVU as the source, and follow the onscreen instructions.


Wow! That sounds pretty simple, I can't wait to try it out. :)

#6 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 03:36 AM

i have 1 the UN55D6400, but no 34 yet, argh............maybe i'll call tomorrow & get 1.

#7 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,031 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 06:09 AM

Will my higher level pn64d7000 work?

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#8 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 10 December 2011 - 07:08 AM

How about UN46C8000?

And how does it work so far Stuart? Do you have call and activate your accounts for the client?

Edited by LoweBoy, 10 December 2011 - 07:15 AM.

LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV

#9 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,872 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 10 December 2011 - 08:35 AM

This is an unofficial issue and discussion thread for Samsung TVs with RVU, firmware 1024.

This firmware is available as of 12/8/11.

To use RVU, make sure the HR34 is powered up, select RVU as the source, and follow the onscreen instructions.


very interesting here! more interesting will be how they structure the pricing on this. hopefully they allow "per each client" pricing....

#10 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,982 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 09:17 AM

very interesting here! more interesting will be how they structure the pricing on this. hopefully they allow "per each client" pricing....


Same as what I was thinking. If you get RVU working on the 6000 series, since no STB, does it track the TV info back to Directv servers via the HR34 Ethernet/broadband? Do they have to enable it? Assuming its connected to the internet.

What if the HR34 isn't internet connected?

#11 OFFLINE   renen

renen

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 09:52 AM

Downloaded and installed new firmware on a 40 inch 2011 6000 last night. Screen shows the same as before, no reference to Rvu. I guess it has to recognize an HR34 on the network before it display the Rvu screen?

Waiting for an HR34.

Rene

#12 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,027 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 10 December 2011 - 09:53 AM

Checked my PN51D8000, it's running 1023 firmware and there is no update available as of this morning.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#13 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,267 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 10 December 2011 - 10:13 AM

Downloaded and installed new firmware on a 40 inch 2011 6000 last night. Screen shows the same as before, no reference to Rvu. I guess it has to recognize an HR34 on the network before it display the Rvu screen?

Waiting for an HR34.

Rene


Press your source/input button. Should list RVU as a input.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#14 OFFLINE   renen

renen

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 10:32 AM

Press your source/input button. Should list RVU as a input.


Never thought of that!

When I press Source the screen shows my 4 HR20's and also my HP Smart Media Server. If I open one of the HR20 I can see the recorded shows but if I try to play them it tells me "Not supported file format"

Is RVU the future for all remote playing?

#15 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,023 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 10 December 2011 - 11:50 AM

Never thought of that!

When I press Source the screen shows my 4 HR20's and also my HP Smart Media Server. If I open one of the HR20 I can see the recorded shows but if I try to play them it tells me "Not supported file format"

Is RVU the future for all remote playing?


No HR34 = No RVU

#16 OFFLINE   texasmoose

texasmoose

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 677 posts
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:12 PM

Downloaded and installed new firmware on a 40 inch 2011 6000 last night. Screen shows the same as before, no reference to Rvu. I guess it has to recognize an HR34 on the network before it display the Rvu screen?

Waiting for an HR34.

Rene


u got the 1024? i didn't see it available on mine, still has the 1023, and nothing on Samsungsupport.com either. but i'm not with 34 yet any how.

#17 OFFLINE   renen

renen

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:28 PM

No HR34 = No RVU


Who is to say that Directv wont release support for a single RVU stream on the HR2* series in the future? As RVU becomes more prevalent it could save them $$ by the consumer using devices with build in RVU clients instead of having to obtain a second device.

Thinking about RVU clients. How about a Blueray player that would support RVU clients? It would be convenient for us, as we dont use the one in the family room that often and the other TV could connect to it from other locations inside the house!

TEXASMOOSE: I checked this morning and there is no new firmware for the Samsung D6000's on their website, but the TV set founded last night with the built in Internet update from the menu.

#18 OFFLINE   azarby

azarby

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,023 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:38 PM

Who is to say that Directv wont release support for a single RVU stream on the HR2* series in the future? As RVU becomes more prevalent it could save them $$ by the consumer using devices with build in RVU clients instead of having to obtain a second device.

Thinking about RVU clients. How about a Blueray player that would support RVU clients? It would be convenient for us, as we dont use the one in the family room that often and the other TV could connect to it from other locations inside the house!

TEXASMOOSE: I checked this morning and there is no new firmware for the Samsung D6000's on their website, but the TV set founded last night with the built in Internet update from the menu.


Who is talking about future products. This response was with regards to your comments about not seeing any RVU option on your Samsung.

As for putting RVU into older HR2x products, not very likley as the technology won't support it.

#19 OFFLINE   flipptyfloppity

flipptyfloppity

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,073 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 12:46 PM

Who is to say that Directv wont release support for a single RVU stream on the HR2* series in the future? As RVU becomes more prevalent it could save them $$ by the consumer using devices with build in RVU clients instead of having to obtain a second device.


I'll be the guy who says that. RVU requires the sending device (DirecTV box) decode the source stream, overlay the video and audio and reencode the output into h.264 and AAC (I think AAC). The DirecTV boxes other than the HR34 lack the hardware required to decode video, composite it and then reencode it into h.264 on the fly.

So it doesn't seem possible existing devices will ever do RVU. Future HR2x's with new hardware might do it though. But honestly I think the "home media server" idea only makes sense if you have a single (for most people) server for all your clients, and that means more than 2 tuners.
room 1:
HR34-700 through Sony STR-DA5300ES amp to LG 55" LE8500 LCD flat panel via HDMI. Discrete OTA.

room 2:
On break. I thought I'd get something in time for baseball, but...

AU9 SWM dish. Channel Master 4228 for UHF + big yagi for VHF w/CM7777 combiner/amplifier.

Connected via wired GigE to Apple Time Capsule base station.

#20 OFFLINE   renen

renen

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:01 PM

I am sorry, but I provided some incorrect information earlier! The TV did download 1024 last night, but it did not install until just a few minutes ago when I went to the menu and told it to upgrade!

Now, when I press the source button on the remote, I don't see the 4 HR20's, but I do see in gray meaning that it is NOT a valid source (since I don't have an HR34 yet) the RVU choice.

Sorry for the erroneus information.

Rene




Protected By... spam firewall...And...