Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Samsung Smart TVs Firmware 1024 and higher (RVU support) - Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
259 replies to this topic

#251 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,959 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 10:57 AM

This is a known issue... 3d is not supported on the RVU clients. I'm talking to our friends at directv about this.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#252 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,952 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 01 January 2012 - 11:25 AM

This is a known issue... 3d is not supported on the RVU clients. I'm talking to our friends at directv about this.


have you or anyone gotten a 1080p program to play via the RVU clientTV??
j/w if 3D doesn't work right now would 1080p...

well now as i type that i realize the two likely dont relate as 1080p should be more bandwidth wheras 3D should be more codec/handshake support right? or am i off on that too. lil early here after new years still. lol

happy new year to everyone btw!

#253 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,047 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 02:07 PM

That might be a big deal if we didn't know that DIRECTV serves less than 20% of the marketplace. Even when combined with the DISH Network customers that could also use Mid-RF Annex frequencies you've elevated the number to something around 31% of the space.

From there you consider what percentage of the 31% that is likely to employ MoCA networking and you've arrived at a level that I like to call "vanishingly small".


Your % means nothing. They have millions of set top boxes, and from here on out, the majority will be hooked up with moca in mind, and at some point in the next couple years, most likely all new ones will. 40 million plus tvs being hooked up with moca devices is incentive enough for that particular spectrum, the issues is getting them manufactures to see the need for enabling moca on tvs because of all providers heading to that technology. Choosing a chip that will work with all favors will be the easy part. Showing the technology will be prevalent, that's the challenge.

#254 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,231 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 January 2012 - 11:05 PM

Your % means nothing.

My percentage is fact. Your numbers are what iffy.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#255 OFFLINE   MichaelG_STL

MichaelG_STL

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 05:50 PM

Samsung Smart TV Firmware V1026, check.
DECA installed, TV connected via Ethernet, check.
TV able to browse local network, check.
TV able to communicate out to internet, check.
Technician unable to understand what RVU is, and his tech support neither, FAIL. AARgh!

Edited by MichaelG_STL, 02 January 2012 - 08:15 PM.
New FW Version Update


#256 OFFLINE   shaddow22

shaddow22

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:33 PM

I finally got an tech out today to upgrade my current system to a SWM, install my HR34 and hook up a Samsung D6400 via RVU. Everything was going along great and we got the D6400 paired to the HR34. On the next screen it said to call DirecTV to activate RVU. The installer called and was on hold forever. They finally said that they couldn't activate RVU for an existing customer and that they'd "send an email up the chain" to see if someone could find a way to get it done. Has any existing customer been successful in getting RVU, and if so, how?

#257 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:41 PM

They finally said that they couldn't activate RVU for an existing customer


Its stuff like this that just makes a person want to scream. They should have had their computer systems, authorization systems, and procedures in place before the first box was sold.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#258 OFFLINE   drp392

drp392

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2009

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:49 PM

I finally got an tech out today to upgrade my current system to a SWM, install my HR34 and hook up a Samsung D6400 via RVU. Everything was going along great and we got the D6400 paired to the HR34. On the next screen it said to call DirecTV to activate RVU. The installer called and was on hold forever. They finally said that they couldn't activate RVU for an existing customer and that they'd "send an email up the chain" to see if someone could find a way to get it done. Has any existing customer been successful in getting RVU, and if so, how?


Call back the main 800 number and tell them you want to open a case management ticket to setup your RVU clients. Apparently they are the only ones that can enable it. It's actually called HMC in their system. You can activate a HR34 through the main number pretty easily but they don't have access to enable HMC/RVU functionality.

#259 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,962 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 02 January 2012 - 09:52 PM

Its stuff like this that just makes a person want to scream. They should have had their computer systems, authorization systems, and procedures in place before the first box was sold.


Existing customers aren't eligible so people get to deal with the issues of going around the system.

However none of the last few pages except for about 2 posts have to do with Samsung Firmware. Could we get this cleaned up or at least get back on topic.

#260 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,959 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 January 2012 - 10:48 AM

Actually I'm going to close this one and open up a new one for the new year.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...