Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV coax whole home network not working


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:18 PM

Nope, that was where my confusion came from in reading a multitude of your other threads where you advised other people in similar situations as mine. I have the HR 24/500 and the H25/500 with an SWiM. No additional DECA attached to my router and prior to the "mystery event" which caused my home network's problems, it functioned perfectly.

Now that the HR24-500 shows it is coax connected, and is using the 169.xxx IP, go over to the H25 and check what it says for both IP and coax status.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:20 PM

You get this no networked DVRs found. You do this.

And then to the HR24-500 if that one still doesn't see the network.

That is KISS.

Not all this checking IPs, and everything else they had the OP do.

You do it your way, but PLEASE LET ME do it mine, since DECA needs to be active and your steps never addresses it.

This isn't my first roundup, and as most know, I've been helping with DECA for a couple of years.
A.K.A VOS

#23 OFFLINE   det724

det724

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2011

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:21 PM

H25: network it just says "connected" IP address: 169.254.7.12

#24 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:22 PM

...Not all this checking IPs, and everything else they had the OP do...


I don't want to jump into this as I think VOS has it well in hand, but just a "quick" comment. Checking IP's is networking 101, and helps you understand the problem. Reboots are great, but wouldn't you rather try to understand what happened to prevent it in the future? If this was a router problem your solution would be "the long way..."
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#25 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:23 PM

H25: network it just says "connected" IP address: 169.254.7.12

I just verified this on my H25, and it should show "coax connected" there also.
Check again please.
A.K.A VOS

#26 OFFLINE   det724

det724

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2011

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:28 PM

yes, it only says next to network "connected" it doesn't include coax

#27 OFFLINE   det724

det724

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2011

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:33 PM

I just verified this on my H25, and it should show "coax connected" there also.
Check again please.



Checked again and it says "network: connected"

photo.JPG

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:34 PM

yes, it only says next to network "connected" it doesn't include coax

OK, why I'm not sure, since the only network this can connect to is the DECA.
Now at this point, you have the DECA network active.
If you had it connected to your router, the IP addresses would be handled by your router and it would be telling everything who is on the network.
Without a router connected, each receiver will poll the IP addresses themselves but this takes longer, so what come next is:
Wait and see if the receivers find each other, which can take "a while",
Or reset network defaults on each and reboot each, and then wait.

If you have whole home authorized, and have set the playlist to share, "it should work".
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:37 PM

Checked again and it says "network: connected"

[ATTACH]27595[/ATTACH]

Mine shows "network: coax connected", but this shouldn't be an issue.
A.K.A VOS

#30 OFFLINE   det724

det724

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2011

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:49 PM

OK, why I'm not sure, since the only network this can connect to is the DECA.
Now at this point, you have the DECA network active.
If you had it connected to your router, the IP addresses would be handled by your router and it would be telling everything who is on the network.
Without a router connected, each receiver will poll the IP addresses themselves but this takes longer, so what come next is:
Wait and see if the receivers find each other, which can take "a while",
Or reset network defaults on each and reboot each, and then wait.

If you have whole home authorized, and have set the playlist to share, "it should work".


Old school, you are a gentleman and a scholar. Thank you so much for the help, that fixed the issue! Have a fantastic night :hurah:

#31 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 10:50 PM

Old school, you are a gentleman and a scholar. Thank you so much for the help, that fixed the issue! Have a fantastic night :hurah:

Well I did have one more trick up my sleeve but I'm glad you didn't need it. !rolling
A.K.A VOS

#32 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,920 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 12 December 2011 - 11:02 PM

I don't want to jump into this as I think VOS has it well in hand, but just a "quick" comment. Checking IP's is networking 101, and helps you understand the problem. Reboots are great, but wouldn't you rather try to understand what happened to prevent it in the future? If this was a router problem your solution would be "the long way..."

Sorry but that's the other guy.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#33 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 12 December 2011 - 11:04 PM

Sorry but that's the other guy.


Huh?
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#34 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,778 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 December 2011 - 11:04 PM

Sorry but that's the other guy.

Why "this guy" asked about IPs and coax connected was to find out if there was a router, and if the DECA was working.
A.K.A VOS

#35 OFFLINE   Kane4LSU

Kane4LSU

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2011

Posted 25 December 2011 - 01:33 AM

Thank you sooooooooooooo much. I was trying to connect my HD-DVR box to the internet, but had very little success. All the while messing up my whole-home DVR. Through your instruction on here, I was able to successfully fix the problem. Again thank you so much! I really appreciate your knowledge and step by step guides (sort of). Merry Christmas! :)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...