Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

receiver turns on by itself


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 19 December 2011 - 10:09 AM

I have an H24 that turns on by itself. We turn it off, go back a short time later, and it is back on. It is not the remote from our DVR. We checked to see if it was IR (it is not) and it does not affect the H24. Anyone have a clue as to what is happening?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,017 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 19 December 2011 - 10:30 AM

Do you have autotunes set?

Could someone be turning it in via your home network?

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#3 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 11:50 AM

I reset the receiver and it stayed off all day Monday, but it was back on again this morning. I also received a message that the receiver had not received any satellite data for 1 hour, error 920. I don't even know what autotune is so it most likely is not the problem. I don't understand how anything could be happening through the home network.

#4 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 11:53 AM

P.S. I turned it off after discovering it on this morning and within 1/2 hour it was back on.

Edited by flaguy, 20 December 2011 - 12:04 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   bjdotson

bjdotson

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 267 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2007

Posted 20 December 2011 - 12:02 PM

This has happened to me also on my hr24. Usually discover in the early am.

#6 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 12:58 PM

. . . . I don't even know what autotune is . . .

Please look at the H24 AutoTune ToDo List

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#7 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:11 PM

I am not aware of any Auto Tune To Do List. Where would i find that? Remember, we are talking H24, not HR24,

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:34 PM

I am not aware of any Auto Tune To Do List. Where would i find that? Remember, we are talking H24, not HR24,


Think of AutoTune as a broken DVR. It will change to the channel at the right time, but won't record. One of the menu options will be the AutoTune ToDo List. See if there is anything there.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,017 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:48 PM

If it's getting a no satellite info error could it be resetting itself, have you run a signal check?

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#10 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 01:59 PM

Merg, there is no Auto Tune To Do List on the H24, at least not mine.

As far as a signal check, I'm receiving all of the channels okay.

#11 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 02:20 PM

I have an H24 that turns on by itself. We turn it off, go back a short time later, and it is back on. It is not the remote from our DVR. We checked to see if it was IR (it is not) and it does not affect the H24. Anyone have a clue as to what is happening?

Are you sure it's not constantly rebooting itself or possibly being powered off/on from a wall switch? Have you actually been there when it turned itself on after you shut it off to see if it rebooted itself?

Is it possible there is another remote from another nearby receiver that someone is using that is turning it on?

Is your home haunted?

#12 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 02:30 PM

TBlazer, I guess I'll vote for the last idea: a haunted house. No, it is not constantly rebooting itself. I interim between restarts varies greatly. Sometimes quickly, sometimes several hours. There is only one other remote (for the HR24) and I tried it several times and it has no effect on the H24--unless I'm in the same room, of course. The signal strength is in the high 90s, by the way.

#13 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 03:01 PM

I am not aware of any Auto Tune To Do List. Where would i find that? Remember, we are talking H24, not HR24,

It's under Extras/Manage AutoTunes on the New HDGUI. On the old SDGUI, it must be under one of the Menu sub-categories.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#14 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 20 December 2011 - 03:18 PM

Thanks for the guidance. Unfortunately, the To Do List has 0 items scheduled.

#15 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,639 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 December 2011 - 03:20 PM

I also received a message that the receiver had not received any satellite data for 1 hour, error 920.

bet this is a clue. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   dog6869

dog6869

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 20 December 2011 - 03:26 PM

Yes mine has been doing this Since Friday!!!! I SUCKS Dtv told me yesterday it was the first they heard of this.. I can be watching live TV and the TV will blink and about 30 seconds later the picture will come back on and I cannot go back to see what I have missed and I have not been able to recorded a full program since Firday16 DEC 2011.. Oh I have a HR21-700

Edited by dog6869, 20 December 2011 - 03:32 PM.


#17 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 03:33 PM

Ok then, AutoTune is not the culprit.

What does the Run System Test state. It can be found under Info & Test.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#18 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 20 December 2011 - 06:36 PM

bet this is a clue. ;)


Missed that post. Yes, that would be a huge clue.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#19 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,726 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 20 December 2011 - 07:49 PM

I reset the receiver and it stayed off all day Monday, but it was back on again this morning. I also received a message that the receiver had not received any satellite data for 1 hour, error 920. I don't even know what autotune is so it most likely is not the problem. I don't understand how anything could be happening through the home network.

Error Code 920

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#20 OFFLINE   flaguy

flaguy

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2008

Posted 21 December 2011 - 08:00 AM

Drucifer,

I ran the system test and it told me that the receiver had 1 error. It gave a diagnostic code of 12-150. What is that telling me?




spam firewall