Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Signal Strength


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   johnc847

johnc847

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 02:13 PM

What is the lowest decent signal strength we should have? And how much loss in picture quality is there with lower signals?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 02:44 PM

Every area is different on what there min. signal levels should be.. Tell us what area you are in and we can look up what your min and average signal levels should be.. Also if you have ea or wa . You don't really loose picture quality on signal levels.. You drop picture.

#3 OFFLINE   johnc847

johnc847

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 05:30 PM

Every area is different on what there min. signal levels should be.. Tell us what area you are in and we can look up what your min and average signal levels should be.. Also if you have ea or wa . You don't really loose picture quality on signal levels.. You drop picture.


Im in arkansas, zip code 72120. What do you mean by ea or wa? Sorry I'm new.

#4 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 20 December 2011 - 05:35 PM

Im in arkansas, zip code 72120. What do you mean by ea or wa? Sorry I'm new.


Eastern Arc or Western Arc i.e. which direction your dish is pointed. We are about in the middle of them. Think our HD local channels are on Eastern Arc.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#5 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 05:44 PM

Yep eastern arch or western arch. If you grab the remote control and hit menu Then hit #6 then #1 then #1 Then hit check switch.. But don't run the test.. You will see where it says three different sat numbers.. Can you tell use what numbers are on there.. Then hit cancel a few times to get out of there..

#6 OFFLINE   johnc847

johnc847

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 05:51 PM

Here is what was listed.

77 - Echostar 77 West - 53% Signal
72 - Echostar 72.7 West - 57% Signal
61.5 - Echostar 61.5 West - 60% Signal

#7 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 06:12 PM

One more thing.. What is the closest big city.. My chart does not go by zip code.. So I have no idea what area it is.. And that means you are on the EA or eastern arch..

#8 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 20 December 2011 - 07:41 PM

OK,, Little Rock Min signal levels for 72 are tp 15=47 tp 17=51 tp19=51 and tp21=52 for sat 61.5 tp 10=45 tp14=49 tp29=52 and tp31=41 fpr sat 77 tp13=42 tp 16=42 tp 20=43 and tp 21=45

The TP stands for transponder.. on the check switch screen you can see the transponders switch that to any of those numbers above to the sat.. If any of your levels are below these.. You need to get your dish peaked.. I can also get what the average is for your area if you want them..

#9 OFFLINE   BillJ

BillJ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: May 05, 2005

Posted 21 December 2011 - 06:21 AM

Those average signal readings seem like they could be useful for anyone with a DISH installation. Are they available anywhere online for users to look up?

#10 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 21 December 2011 - 08:22 AM

Those are not average.. Those are the lowest levels they should be.. Sorry,, I have them on a exel spreed sheet..

#11 OFFLINE   BillJ

BillJ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 832 posts
Joined: May 05, 2005

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:54 AM

I'm in Illinois north of I-80 halfway between Chicago and Moline. Use satellites 110, 119, 129 and 61.5. Chicago locals are mirrored on 61.5 and 129 signal is poorest of all the satellites. My 622 receivers default to 129 but often switch to 61.5 for a better signal if the channel is on both.

Do you have average or minimum signals for this location?
Thanks.

#12 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 582 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 21 December 2011 - 06:20 PM

Attached File  STBH_Minimum_Thresholds.xls   748.5KB   1768 downloads

This is the excel sheet. Please note that it goes by DMA, satellite, and transponder (you change the satellite using the bottom tabs)

I posted this somewhere here before, but couldn't find it

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#13 OFFLINE   gokartergo

gokartergo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 21 December 2011 - 07:45 PM

Thanks Matt.. Couldn't remember where I pulled them from...:)

#14 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 582 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 21 December 2011 - 08:25 PM

Thanks Matt.. Couldn't remember where I pulled them from...:)


You're welcome :D

It's very useful

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#15 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 22 December 2011 - 11:50 AM

[ATTACH]27693[/ATTACH]

This is the excel sheet. Please note that it goes by DMA, satellite, and transponder (you change the satellite using the bottom tabs)

I posted this somewhere here before, but couldn't find it


Thanks for posting those Matt. My numbers (for my DMA of course) seem to run about 10 pts higher across the board so I'm good with that :)

#16 OFFLINE   Papote

Papote

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 07:42 PM

[ATTACH]27693[/ATTACH]

This is the excel sheet. Please note that it goes by DMA, satellite, and transponder (you change the satellite using the bottom tabs)

I posted this somewhere here before, but couldn't find it



Puerto Rico is not included here.
:(

#17 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 582 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 22 December 2011 - 08:43 PM

Puerto Rico is not included here.
:(


It's in there (next to Puerto rico)

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#18 OFFLINE   mcholak

mcholak

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 27 December 2011 - 06:03 PM

Thanks for that chart, that is going to be very helpful! This may be another question for a seperate thread, but how sensitive are these systems to the placement of the arm that holds the LNB? I'm trying to get my dish realigned at our cabin after a branch fell on it. I noticed that the arm doesn't sit in exactly the same place it used to and I'm wondering if I just need to keep playing with the aim of the dish or if I need to repair/replace it.

#19 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 28 December 2011 - 12:36 AM

They are very sensitive. If the geometry of the arm or the reflector are changed, it may be nearly impossible to get good signal strength. Fractions of an inch out of alignment can make a dish almost useless.

#20 OFFLINE   mcholak

mcholak

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2011

Posted 28 December 2011 - 11:13 AM

Great. I suppose the follow up question then is, do I try to fix this or just call Dish? There aren't any screws holding the arm in, it's basically two indentations on the frame attached to the dish and two indentations in the arm. It's held in by the frictions/tension of the tight fit. I could drill out these indentations but if I'm off just a bit then I'd be no better off than I am now, right?

#21 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,548 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 30 December 2011 - 01:08 PM

Buy a replacement dish, yours has been damaged and it may be quite difficult to fix it.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#22 OFFLINE   javrua

javrua

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2012

Posted 04 January 2012 - 04:21 PM

Matthew,

Thanks for the STBH chart. Can one imply from the STBH chart that signal from sat 72.7 can be received in Puerto Rico? I have a 6 foot dish I could point up there.

Javier

#23 OFFLINE   javrua

javrua

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2012

Posted 04 January 2012 - 04:23 PM

Matthew,

Thanks for the STBH chart. Can one imply from the STBH chart that signal from sat 72.7 can be received in Puerto Rico? I have a 6 foot dish I could point up there.

Javier

#24 OFFLINE   MattG@DISH Network

MattG@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 582 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 04 January 2012 - 05:12 PM

Matthew,

Thanks for the STBH chart. Can one imply from the STBH chart that signal from sat 72.7 can be received in Puerto Rico? I have a 6 foot dish I could point up there.

Javier


Unfortunately only 119 and 110 are supported in Puerto Rico. I'm not sure why the other satllites are listed on the chart. I do know that some customers in PR have a 61.5 dish installed, but this is not something that we officially support.

Matthew "Speedy" Gonzales
Social Media

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday/Friday 11a-10p MT.  Off: Weds/Sat/Sun.


#25 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 04 January 2012 - 06:43 PM

Great. I suppose the follow up question then is, do I try to fix this or just call Dish? There aren't any screws holding the arm in, it's basically two indentations on the frame attached to the dish and two indentations in the arm. It's held in by the frictions/tension of the tight fit. I could drill out these indentations but if I'm off just a bit then I'd be no better off than I am now, right?

That isn't a friction fit those are spot welds. If the welds are broken you definitely need a new dish.:)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...