Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Ch 1 (customer information channel)


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Boobie1998

Boobie1998

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:35 PM

For me, it seems to work when it wants too. Tried it on my other tv and it doesn't work.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:38 PM

For me, it seems to work when it wants too. Tried it on my other tv and it doesn't work.

I played with this this morning, and "timing" of pressing did make it fail and then work.
A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,353 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 23 December 2011 - 08:03 AM

I posted this in the "NVRAM" thread that got locked - the part about it being difficult to discern the "NVRAM/Flash Cleared" message may be helpful to someone ...

IIRC, one requirement before trying to clear NVRAM is to wait for the interactive elements on Channel 1 to populate, which could take 10 to 15 seconds. Then try the button combination.

One of the difficulties here could also be that the "NVRAM/Flash cleared" message may appear in white text with no background, and since there's now a large white "Welcome to DIRECTV" message in the same location it's tough to read that it took!



#29 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,487 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 December 2011 - 08:22 AM

I posted this in the "NVRAM" thread that got locked - the part about it being difficult to discern the "NVRAM/Flash Cleared" message may be helpful to someone ...


Also, the "NVRAM/Flash Cleared" Message only lasts about 2 to 3 seconds so you have to Know Where to Look and When To Look or you will miss it.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#30 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,379 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 23 December 2011 - 08:30 AM

I posted this in the "NVRAM" thread that got locked - the part about it being difficult to discern the "NVRAM/Flash Cleared" message may be helpful to someone ...

Yup - its helpful.

As Richie also pointed out...the appearance of the quick screen test is very fast...actually more like 1/2 second or so. That doesn't help the average user even know it happened.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#31 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,133 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 23 December 2011 - 08:35 AM

Yup - its helpful.

As Richie also pointed out...the appearance of the quick screen test is very fast...actually more like 1/2 second or so. That doesn't help the average user even know it happened.

And for those that haven't done this before, look in the lower left of the screen for the message.
A.K.A VOS

#32 OFFLINE   dismayed

dismayed

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2011

Posted 24 December 2011 - 09:55 AM

I can tell a lot of folks in this thread are just replying without having tried it recently. So I gave it a try and here is what I saw:

The first time I tried it with my HR20 I indeed saw the same things that many of you are reporting. When I would hit the 'red' button I would get a 'bonk' error noise. Eventually hitting the 'blue' buttons would cause the mini-guide to come up and 'yellow' and 'green' would cause their respective shortcuts to come up. It was like Channel 1 was ignoring the 'red' button. I tried this again several times to no avail.

I changed the channel and then went back to Channel 1. I let it set a long time, much longer than I ever have in the past. I tried again and it worked fine.

So like one of the previous posters has said, I would recommend that if this doesn't work change the channel, change it back and then let it set a good long while before attempting it. DirecTV must have made a change to the channel that is causing it to take much longer to download all the initial stuff. Hope that helps!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...