Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Please HELP analyze Network Coax Stats


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pharmer53

pharmer53

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 21 December 2011 - 10:45 AM

Just completed installing MRV and having issues with movies freezing or stopping alltogether. My setup is as follows:
SWM-16
HR-24 (No DECA or Ethernet cable attached)
2- HR-22s (DECA attached)
HR-23 (DECA attached)
R-22 (HD) (DECA attached)
Linksys Wireless G router (several years old)
DECA Broadband Adapter into Green label splitter.

I've attached images of the Network Coax Stats. It seems the Phy Levels are much higher than I've seen posted on this board. Could crimp on connectors at the wall plate be causing the loss of signal? Any help is much appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Coax Network Stats1.jpg
  • Network Coax Stats2.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:08 AM

The 46 & 57 are a bit high from "the norm", "but" your PHY MESH rates are "good enough" to not be a problem, so I tend to think this isn't your problem..
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   pharmer53

pharmer53

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:14 AM

This may be a really dumb question, but does the Wireless router performance have anything to do with sharing programs between receivers? I'm still learning how all this deca and internet work together. Thanks!

#4 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,735 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:26 AM

This may be a really dumb question, but does the Wireless router performance have anything to do with sharing programs between receivers? I'm still learning how all this deca and internet work together. Thanks!

No.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:26 AM

This may be a really dumb question, but does the Wireless router performance have anything to do with sharing programs between receivers? I'm still learning how all this deca and internet work together. Thanks!

Not when all the receivers have a DECA. The wireless "hop" is just to your home network and internet. If you used DirecTV2PC, then it would come through the wireless link.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,946 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 11:34 AM

This may be a really dumb question, but does the Wireless router performance have anything to do with sharing programs between receivers? I'm still learning how all this deca and internet work together. Thanks!


No, since the distribution is entirely within the DECA "cloud" the router doesn't really enter the picture (as long as there aren't other signals sharing the DECA portion of your network). There will be a very small amount of data between the receivers and your router (DNS requests, etc.) but it should be insignificant.

#7 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,769 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 21 December 2011 - 12:31 PM

As VOS said, the loss levels are a bit high, but the throughput looks ok. The crimp connectors in and of themselves should not be a problem (I have nothing but crimp connectors in my installation, and my highest PHY number is 30).

What kinds of splitters are in use, and what is the topology (cascaded splitters and the like)? What are the cable lengths involved? I suppose it is possible for the low signal to cause an intermittent drop in throughput (perhaps when some RF interfence occurs).

The more information you can provide, the more suggestions that can be provided.

Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 12:35 PM

As VOS said, the loss levels are a bit high, but the throughput looks ok. The crimp connectors in and of themselves should not be a problem (I have nothing but crimp connectors in my installation, and my highest PHY number is 30).

What kinds of splitters are in use, and what is the topology (cascaded splitters and the like)? What are the cable lengths involved? I suppose it is possible for the low signal to cause an intermittent drop in throughput (perhaps when some RF interfence occurs).

The more information you can provide, the more suggestions that can be provided.

The PHY MESH are "so good" as to suggest the PHY Levels are well within the signal to noise ratio for full operation.

A system test will return an error when the PHY MESH is at/below 220.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   pharmer53

pharmer53

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 21 December 2011 - 12:51 PM

[quote name='Titan25']What kinds of splitters are in use, and what is the topology (cascaded splitters and the like)? What are the cable lengths involved?QUOTE]

I tried to post an image of my MRV setup, but the board wouldn't allow the attachment because I already posted the same image in the "Connected Home Installation Images" thread. It is the last post on that thread. As for the cable lengths, all are less than 100ft from the splitters. The SWM is about 10 ft from the dish.

All cables are RG-6 double shield, 75 ohm, 60% braid. I have one "blue insert" barrel connector on each cable leading from the dish to the SWM-16, and a barrel connector on each cable leading from the splitters to the wall outlets.

All DECA lights are green.

All receivers are finding the other available receivers on the network, but the program/movie frequently freezes or stops completely. The movie can then be restarted for a short time before it freezes again.

Thanks everyone in advance for all your responses!

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 12:55 PM

While I doubt it will help your playback issues, you can improve your PHY LEVELs by changing the 8-way splitter for a 4-way.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   pharmer53

pharmer53

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 21 December 2011 - 01:00 PM

While I doubt it will help your playback issues, you can improve your PHY LEVELs by changing the 8-way splitter for a 4-way.


Funny you mention that because I've already ordered a 4-way to replace the 8-way splitter. Should have it changed out by Friday.

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 December 2011 - 01:08 PM

I would expect only about a 4 dB improvement
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   phoneman06

phoneman06

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2005

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:42 AM

Where can I find the network coax stats menu?

#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 09:20 AM

Where can I find the network coax stats menu?

These come from a menu that can only be accessed from the front panel of the 24, 25, or 34 models that have internal DECAs.
Pressing both the guide and right arrow "buttons" will bring up a menu with coax as an option. Selecting it will start the testing. There are two test and post 1 shows the screens.
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   phoneman06

phoneman06

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2005

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:06 PM

Thanks for the info. I only have a H25 and the rest of my receivers are the older models. My phy levels are negative numbers, is that an issue?

Attached Thumbnails

  • image-3734406374.png
  • image-3952818711.png

Edited by phoneman06, 01 January 2012 - 12:17 PM.


#16 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,735 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:06 PM

These come from a menu that can only be accessed from the front panel of the 24, 25, or 34 models that have internal DECAs.
Pressing both the guide and right arrow "buttons" will bring up a menu with coax as an option. Selecting it will start the testing. There are two test and post 1 shows the screens.

One mo' Q then. What are bad numbers?

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#17 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,643 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:18 PM

Thanks for the info. I only have a H25 and the rest of my receivers are the older models. My phy levels are negative numbers is that an issue?

The negative display is the proper annotation of loss which these number are.
In up coming software updates, they all will be displayed like this.

BTW: your losses are low [good] and your MESH are high [also good]
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 12:20 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=200024 Use the DECA link. Good Info.
LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV




spam firewall