Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20-70 not picking up all OTA channels


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   philmalik

philmalik

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:13 AM

I have a HR20-700. I also live close to the Canadian border and am able with my antennae outside my house plugged directly into my TV to pick up 6 OTA HD stations.

Signal levels are very strong for the OTA stations on my TV signal meter.

I thought I would experiement and plug the coax from outside into the off air input on the HR20-700.

I found that only 2 of the 6 stations show up on the DirecTV guide, which is also the case when I actually scan through all the OTA channels using channel up.

Was wondering why I only would be receiving 2 of the 6 OTA channels?

P.S. All the OTA 6 channels are digital, btw.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,015 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:23 AM

The DIRECTV receivers will not pick up Canadian channels.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#3 OFFLINE   philmalik

philmalik

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:41 AM

It's picking up 2 of the 6 I get through my TV.

#4 OFFLINE   DBSNewbie

DBSNewbie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 09:47 AM

I have a HR20-700...when I actually scan through all the OTA channels using channel up.

Was wondering why I only would be receiving 2 of the 6 OTA channels?

P.S. All the OTA 6 channels are digital, btw.


I wasn't aware that it was possible to scan OTA channels with an HR20-700.

I thought that it could only be done with an HD non-dvr (ie H20 or H2x with AM21).

Is this a new feature that has been added to the HR20 or has it always been there?
Slimline, WB616 (2), SWM8 (2), OTA, MRV (U)
Den: Sony KDS-60A3000 -> HR20-700; Sony KDL-40S2000 (5) -> HR20-700 (2) & HR20-100 (3)
Master Bed: Kuro PDP-5020FD -> HR34-700
Master Bath: Sony KDL-26S3000 + PSP -> HR24-200
Daughter's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR20-700
Son's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR24-500
Kitchen: Sharp 20" -> H24-700
Guest: Sharp 20" -> H20-100
Patio: SunbriteTV 3220 -> H25-500
Living Room: Sony 42" XBR Plasma -> HR20-100

Diagram of Setup

#5 OFFLINE   philmalik

philmalik

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:00 AM

It's always been there on the HR20-700. And, one of the benefits of the older school HR series is that it has the coax input built in. For some of the newer models, I think you have to buy an add -on to get OTA.

#6 OFFLINE   DBSNewbie

DBSNewbie

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:06 AM

It's always been there on the HR20-700. And, one of the benefits of the older school HR series is that it has the coax input built in. For some of the newer models, I think you have to buy an add -on to get OTA.


Yes. I know that the HR20 has a built in OTA input. I just didn't know that it could manually "scan" for OTA channels the way an HDTV could with an ATSC tuner.

An HR20 (or HR2x with an AM21), I thought, will only receive OTA channels that D* has in its system, based on what zip code you give it on OTA setup. A HD non-dvr, such as an H20, has this scan feature that will allow you to pick up additional channels that may not be in the D* data guide, just like an HDTV would.
Slimline, WB616 (2), SWM8 (2), OTA, MRV (U)
Den: Sony KDS-60A3000 -> HR20-700; Sony KDL-40S2000 (5) -> HR20-700 (2) & HR20-100 (3)
Master Bed: Kuro PDP-5020FD -> HR34-700
Master Bath: Sony KDL-26S3000 + PSP -> HR24-200
Daughter's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR20-700
Son's: Sony KDL-40W3000 -> HR24-500
Kitchen: Sharp 20" -> H24-700
Guest: Sharp 20" -> H20-100
Patio: SunbriteTV 3220 -> H25-500
Living Room: Sony 42" XBR Plasma -> HR20-100

Diagram of Setup

#7 OFFLINE   racermd

racermd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 10:09 AM

It's always been there on the HR20-700. And, one of the benefits of the older school HR series is that it has the coax input built in. For some of the newer models, I think you have to buy an add -on to get OTA.


I think there is some confusion over the word "scan" in this case.

The HR20 is unable to scan for local channels to be defined in the guide and, instead, relies in D* providing a channel map for your area. You get the channels they think you can get and no more.

You can then "scan" through those defined channels available to you to see what is on.

I hope that helps.

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:28 PM

It's always been there on the HR20-700. And, one of the benefits of the older school HR series is that it has the coax input built in. For some of the newer models, I think you have to buy an add -on to get OTA.


You cannot "scan" for channels on any of the HR20's. The only recent D* unit that actually would scan for OTA was the original H20 from circa 2005. Scanning for OTA is when you ask the tuner to look for all the channels it can see by scanning the entire frequency range. This is how most tvs and standalone ATSC tuners work. D* uses a lookup by zip code to tell which OTA channels to pickup, and provide guide data.

Perhaps for your zipcode, a couple of the canadian stations are included in your areas guide, but more likely they coincide with 2 frequencies for US stations you should be getting instead.

I had one of the original H20-600's and I still have an HR20-700, so I have had extensive experience with both units.

#9 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,201 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 23 December 2011 - 01:08 PM

My HR20 included almost all the almost sub-channels in the LA area in the DirecTV database up until about a year ago. Apparently DirecTV stopped adding any new sub-channels since then. I'm up to well over 100 total OTA digital channels on both my TV's with a rooftop antenna. Most are foreign language.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#10 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 23 December 2011 - 02:02 PM

HR34 w/AM21 actually "scans." Maybe they will eventually port that feature to the other HR's. I get about 18 more OTA stations on my HR34 than on my HR24's w/AM21's. Mostly useless stations with useless subchannels.

#11 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,821 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 23 December 2011 - 04:53 PM

HR34 w/AM21 actually "scans." Maybe they will eventually port that feature to the other HR's. I get about 18 more OTA stations on my HR34 than on my HR24's w/AM21's. Mostly useless stations with useless subchannels.


Is there any guide data present for those "mostly useless stations", or what does it display in the Guide? I would think there would only be guide data for the stations that are part of the D* database, and from your description, you are seeing quite a few more stations that those that are part of the database.

Is there a scan procedure for the HR34, so you can observe it actually "picking off" the individual OTA stations that are not part of the D* database?

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995





spam firewall