Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What Do I Need


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:52 PM

I have a H10-200 receiver in the box. I currently have a SWM SL5 operataing an R22. I want to start watching my HD TV but don't want a DVR or another two year commitment.If I can get this baby going i will return the DVR and pay the extra $3 more a month.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 December 2011 - 04:59 PM

Is your R22 operating in HD mode?
Also, I doubt the H10 receiver will do you much good as it won't pick up the 99 and 103 sats (not MPEG4 capable).
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:05 PM

So it's of no use? Then what HD will it pick up?

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,351 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:40 PM

So it's of no use? Then what HD will it pick up?

That would be "what HD did it used to pick up", and that was the old MPEG-2 HD that was turned off a couple of years ago.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,888 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:10 PM

Best thing is to find an owned HD box, and add HD service. When you do that, the R22 will do HD. But if you just want one box, I'd eventually kill the R22 and keep the owned one.

You'll have no contract and won't need to return that box.

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:11 PM

I believe the H10 will receive OTA.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,633 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:11 PM

That is true, but I don't think it will receive MPEG4 HD.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:11 PM

If the H10 has a built-in OTA tuner, then that is the only HD it will pick up, other than that it gets absolutely zero HD from the satellite. Hasnt been able to receive any for a couple of years now.

#9 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:15 PM

will get rid of the H10.

#10 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 22 December 2011 - 07:32 PM

If the H10 doesn't need DirecTV authorization, it will make for a great OTA receiver. If you have an antenna, of course.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#11 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 460 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 24 December 2011 - 02:19 PM

Does directv sell owned receivers?

#12 OFFLINE   F1 Fan

F1 Fan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 838 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 24 December 2011 - 02:25 PM

Does directv sell owned receivers?


No

But there is a great buy/sell/trade category in this dboard further on down. I would check in there often. Probably the safest route.

Be careful when you buy a receiver from anywhere. Some people think they own them and they dont so when you go to activate it you end up with the commitment. There is a number you can call (access card department) that will tell you the status of the receiver when you give them the receiver id. You will also have to buy a new access card ($20 i think).
HR34-700, HR24-100, 3x H25-100s, MRV on DECA, SWM16




spam firewall