Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

installing HR34 tomorrow: sat setup question


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 30 December 2011 - 03:42 PM

please forgive if asked answered

have Slimline dish with 4 cables fed to Zinwell switch and SWM8 feeding
3 HR24's and one HR20

tomorrow I self install an HR34 and SWM16 (SWM16 will replace Zinwell & SWM8)

currently there are 2 SWM sat cables to ea HR24

question:

do I have to do new setup for each HR24? what sat/switch option do I use? do HR24's still require 2 SWM feeds?

I assume HR34 just needs one SWM feed: I understand max of 8 tuners per port/16 total

TIA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 December 2011 - 03:53 PM

do HR24's still require 2 SWM feeds?

I assume HR34 just needs one SWM feed: I understand max of 8 tuners per port/16 total

TIA

I guess your answer is "no", because they NEVER required two SWiM feeds.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 30 December 2011 - 04:00 PM

I guess your answer is "no", because they NEVER required two SWiM feeds.


OK that is what i suspected: Thank you:)

what about the setup question?

do I have to change SAT dish settings for the SWM16?

Happy New Year!

Mark

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 December 2011 - 04:07 PM

OK that is what i suspected: Thank you:)

what about the setup question?

do I have to change SAT dish settings for the SWM16?

Happy New Year!

Mark

For what's currently on a SWM8, the SWiM-16 isn't any different.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 30 December 2011 - 08:20 PM

I just have to ask, HOW ARE YOU DOING A SELF INSTALL OF A HR34?

#6 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 31 December 2011 - 01:15 PM

install was easy: everything is working: HR34 still has old guide

thanks for the help and Happy new year :hurah:

#7 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:23 PM

install was easy: everything is working: HR34 still has old guide

thanks for the help and Happy new year :hurah:

What version? It should be 0x4C8.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:29 PM

What version? It should be 0x4C8.

Does it really matter?
The update to the latest version will be pushed, and it still will be the blue GUI.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:29 PM

What version? It should be 0x4C8.


it just updated to 0x4c8 but still has the old guide

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:30 PM

it just updated to 0x4c8 but still has the old guide

"my point" in the post before.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   markrubin

markrubin

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:58 PM

so next I want to try whole house DVR networking: I understand I have to have D* install it: they want $249.00 which seems steep

I could buy the network adapters (only want to network 3 DVR's)

can i do myself or do I have to have D* come to house?

already controlling by IP iPad app, RTI 2 way IP driver, and serial control: concerned any of these functions may be affected?

TIA

#12 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 December 2011 - 02:59 PM

it just updated to 0x4c8 but still has the old guide

When I took my HR34-700 out-of-the-box, its FW was old. And it didn't immediately upgrade to the NR.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#13 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 December 2011 - 03:01 PM

"my point" in the post before.

The update didn't happen for me.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#14 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 December 2011 - 03:12 PM

so next I want to try whole house DVR networking: I understand I have to have D* install it: they want $249.00 which seems steep

I could buy the network adapters (only want to network 3 DVR's)

can i do myself or do I have to have D* come to house?

already controlling by IP iPad app, RTI 2 way IP driver, and serial control: concerned any of these functions may be affected?

TIA

This week is when most of the senior experience personnel are off. Try again next week.

Looking at your equipment, you only really need is a DECA for your HR20. All your other receivers have DECAs built in and the HR34 can be connected to your Home Network via its Ethernet port.

So, I would say for something that practical needs very little equipment to be install, you should be able to workout a better deal from a more experience CSR. And it helps to have the Protection Plan.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,755 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 03:28 PM

This week is when most of the senior experience personnel are off. Try again next week.

Looking at your equipment, you only really need is a DECA for your HR20. All your other receivers have DECAs built in and the HR34 can be connected to your Home Network via its Ethernet port.

So, I would say for something that practical needs very little equipment to be install, you should be able to workout a better deal from a more experience CSR. And it helps to have the Protection Plan.

"Sorry" but most of this doesn't look to fly.
All of the required hardware looks to be a DIY install, so the DirecTV system doesn't show it.
While a better price may be had, it isn't going to be as simple as you post. There may need to be a service call to verify the equipment and it's "QA" status.
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,866 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 09:57 PM

The update didn't happen for me.


How long did you wait? I suspect if you had waited overnight it would have happened.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#17 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 10:10 PM

This week is when most of the senior experience personnel are off. Try again next week.

Looking at your equipment, you only really need is a DECA for your HR20. All your other receivers have DECAs built in and the HR34 can be connected to your Home Network via its Ethernet port.

So, I would say for something that practical needs very little equipment to be install, you should be able to workout a better deal from a more experience CSR. And it helps to have the Protection Plan.


Pure BS. The system presents the agent with any discounted offers that are available at that time. It's got nothing to do with "senior personnel". Also, when people go outside of the system to get the gear "right now" it's foolish to expect the system to know what the customer has done.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#18 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,896 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 December 2011 - 10:18 PM

How long did you wait? I suspect if you had waited overnight it would have happened.

11:30 PM. But an existing NR should be done ASAP. My last two HR24 updated within hours of getting turn on. But my HR34 didn't.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#19 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,866 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 31 December 2011 - 10:46 PM

I respect your opinion but updates can happen any time in the first 24 hours after installation. Most people arent as aware of the process as you are.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#20 OFFLINE   deardeva

deardeva

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2011

Posted 01 January 2012 - 11:18 AM

agree with Stuart, he does know all, and is correct that any newer software downloads for particular model number, should download within 24 hours of installation and activation

Edited by deardeva, 01 January 2012 - 11:25 AM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...