Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Multi-Sport Pack HD


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   satlover25

satlover25

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2006

Posted 30 December 2011 - 05:55 PM

Can someone please help me understand who's decision is it...Dish or RSN...to not carry programming on the HD feed of the corresponding channel when I know for certain the game is available in HD? I get an immediate headache every time I see "check back often to see if your favorite team is playing in HD"! I can no longer watch games broadcast in SD...gives me the same headache. 60" TV's are not designed to show sports in SD. This causes a seriously frustrating experience for a professed NCAA College Basketball Junkie. Equally as frustrating as when I heard Gus Johnson would no longer be calling NCAA Men's Basketball on CBS. I need to stop typing before you will be able to literally hear my scream of frustration through your PC/Apple/Android speaker! :grin:
HR34
HR21
H25
2 Genie Mini Clients
16+ yrs w/Dish Network...finally had to let them go!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 359 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 30 December 2011 - 06:38 PM

Can someone please help me understand who's decision is it...Dish or RSN...to not carry programming on the HD feed of the corresponding channel when I know for certain the game is available in HD? I get an immediate headache every time I see "check back often to see if your favorite team is playing in HD"! I can no longer watch games broadcast in SD...gives me the same headache. 60" TV's are not designed to show sports in SD. This causes a seriously frustrating experience for a professed NCAA College Basketball Junkie. Equally as frustrating as when I heard Gus Johnson would no longer be calling NCAA Men's Basketball on CBS. I need to stop typing before you will be able to literally hear my scream of frustration through your PC/Apple/Android speaker! :grin:


The HD feeds on the Regional Sports are provided in Joined In Progress due to a bandwidth issue that DISH Network has. We can only carry so many regional sports simultaniously that we can only provide so many in HD and then the rest are in SD and will switch to HD when the bandwidith become available. I apologize for the inconvience this is causing you.

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday, Tuesday-Thursday 3:30pm-12:00am, Monday 11:30am-8:00pm (MST)

 


#3 OFFLINE   habsfan66

habsfan66

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 03 January 2012 - 08:55 AM

The HD feeds on the Regional Sports are provided in Joined In Progress due to a bandwidth issue that DISH Network has. We can only carry so many regional sports simultaniously that we can only provide so many in HD and then the rest are in SD and will switch to HD when the bandwidith become available. I apologize for the inconvience this is causing you.


So any timeframe when this will be fixed? After all, according to your nauseating ads, you are the "Industry Leaders" in HD.

#4 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 03 January 2012 - 11:33 AM

Bandwidth deals with available transponders. Dish would either have to drop a lot of channels to free up the space or get larger satellites in orbit. Not a quick fix unfortunately.




spam firewall