Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lost HD signal


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ERDr

ERDr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:37 PM

I have an HR 24 and slimline 5 LNB. I've noticed for the past two years that from October to May, I lose my almost all of my HD channels. I've had two installers come out and reposition the dish to no avail. Once May kicks in, everything is great. I share my service with my cousin who lives in Cleveland. I'm located in Oakville ON. I'm wondering if it's the change in the Earth's rotation which happens as we progress thru the year and I lose sight of the HD sats. SD is fine.

Here are pics of my signal strength and meter
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325550683

Any ideas or fixes? The dish in anchored into the upper level of my home with clear line of sight to the sky.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_2592.JPG
  • IMG_2593.JPG
  • IMG_2594.JPG
  • IMG_2595.JPG
  • IMG_2596.JPG
  • IMG_2597.JPG
  • IMG_2598.JPG
  • IMG_2599.JPG


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,372 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:44 PM

You're missing all readings from the 103º HD satellite. Do you have other Receivers/DVRs? Do they show the same problem?

Since it's intermittent, it's likely a problem with the multiswitch or the dish LNB itself.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   ERDr

ERDr

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:48 PM

Here are the signal meters
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1325551465

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_2600.JPG
  • IMG_2601.JPG
  • IMG_2602.JPG
  • IMG_2603.JPG
  • IMG_2605.JPG
  • IMG_2606.JPG
  • IMG_2607.JPG
  • IMG_2608.JPG


#4 OFFLINE   ERDr

ERDr

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 06:50 PM

You're missing all readings from the 103º HD satellite. Do you have other Receivers/DVRs? Do they show the same problem?

Since it's intermittent, it's likely a problem with the multiswitch or the dish LNB itself.


It's my only receiver. No multiswitch (ie splitter if that's what a multiswitch is)

Works perfectly in spring & summer and loses HD fall & winter.

#5 OFFLINE   ERDr

ERDr

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:16 PM

I believe I have a DirecTV Slimline SL5 KA/KU 5 Satellite Dish with 1 coax required for each tuner. Should I upgrade to the DirecTV Slimline SL5S SWM DECA MRV 5 Satellite Dish?

#6 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:24 PM

Sounds like an LNB problem if anything. Or cabling.

Kevin
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:24 PM

I see you are in Ontario and "share" an account with someone. This is highly against the rules. I am sure a mod will be along soon to lock this thread as doing things against the D* TOS are not allowed to be discussed at this site. Its called account stacking and it is not acceptable

#8 OFFLINE   ERDr

ERDr

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2011

Posted 02 January 2012 - 07:29 PM

I see you are in Ontario and "share" an account with someone. This is highly against the rules. I am sure a mod will be along soon to lock this thread as doing things against the D* TOS are not allowed to be discussed at this site. Its called account stacking and it is not acceptable


Sorry, wasn't trying to break the rules. I pay for the account. I know of many people who have residences in both the USA and Canada (snowbirds for example) and they want access to their account year round. Is this illegal too?

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,379 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 January 2012 - 08:33 PM

Sorry, wasn't trying to break the rules. I pay for the account. I know of many people who have residences in both the USA and Canada (snowbirds for example) and they want access to their account year round. Is this illegal too?

It's illegal to receive programing outside the US. For those in Latin American, there is another DirecTV service provider.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall