Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Samsung RVU TVs - Issues and Discussion (Q1-2012)


  • Please log in to reply
166 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,894 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 January 2012 - 11:44 AM

We'll be looking high and low for RVU stuff! Especially hints at non-TV clients. I have a bet with someone about the size and shape of what's possible.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 08 January 2012 - 01:42 PM

It's possible we could see more RVU TVs at CES.

If you're not seeing "Add Client" on your HR34 it's because your RVU service isn't turned on. DIRECTV's policy is to have the tech call to turn it on after the install. If you go high enough in the chain you may get someone to turn it on for you but that would be the exception not the rule.


I was working with a very helpful Case Management Rep. on activating the RVU functionality and everything was going fine "on both sides" until the "Call DirecTV to Add A Location" screen appeared on my TV. The Rep. was ready to take the "next step" but apparently couldn't find any screen, entry, code, etc. on his side to add the RVU TV (and thereby add another "receiver charge" to my Account). Unfortunately, his supervisor also didn't know the "magic" code/steps to "Add A Location". The Case is supposedly still open and I was told to expect a callback in the next few days with a further response. Not sure but it looks like I may be "partially activated" since I can (a) select the RVU Input on the Samsung TV, (B) see a screen that says "Go to the HR-34 and select Add a Client", © select Add A Client and receive a PIN from the HR-34 and (d) enter this PIN on the TV and again see the "Call DirecTV" screen to add the "new location". Firmware version 4C9 is also running on the HR-34.

I do understand the need for a slow, methodical rollout of the new RVU technology but I'd think the "universe" of new customers in limited markets who want an HR-34 and also have and want their Samsung RVU-capable TV connected as a "RVU client" would be rather small and it would benefit everyone if a current customer who had the appropriate equipment was willing to be a "guinea pig" (and pay the extra charge!). However, I also realize that I probably don't understand the entire process and the various "behind the scenes" activity currently underway and the need to "go slow"! :)

#28 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2012 - 01:52 PM

I don't know when or if directv will officially allow self-install of RVU clients. The underlying reason, though, is clear. I initially had problems with my RVU tv because I was networked over powerline. If directv allowed self installs, I am sure they would be deluged with people who didn't understand why the picture kept freezing. Sending a tech out is the bet way to confirm that the user has a good network connection to the client.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#29 OFFLINE   chellyaz

chellyaz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2012

Posted 08 January 2012 - 02:54 PM

The 1026.0 version of the official samsung firmware for the UN32D6500VF states that it provides RVU support. This is the link I've been using:

http: / / samsung.com / us / support / downloads / led-tv / UN32D6500VF

The firmware description clearly states that this version 1026.0, dated Jan 3, 2011, provides RVU support. However I can't get my 6500 to recognize the firmware when trying to load it via USB. TV see's the flash, allows me to browse, etc..., but it doesn't think that there is a version on the drive to upgrade. I've unzipped, etc....

My TV upgraded itself over the network to 1026 a few weeks ago, but there is no indication in the inputs options that RVU support is available.

Samsung, rather than helping understand how to get the firmware recognized, keeps telling me that RVU support is not available for the D6500. Is there a real answer here?

Thanks in advance.
Carter

#30 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 08 January 2012 - 03:07 PM

You raise a valid point. However (and just like the original rollout of the Whole Home functionality that included a "public beta"), it should be possible to make it clear (i.e., by disclaimer language at time of activation) that any self-install is not supported and any service call(s) WILL be at the CUSTOMER'S expense on a time & materials basis. Also (and not by way of criticism!), there are posts in this Forum that suggest even tech-installed new/updated overall configurations are not always done right. Finally, IF product-based RVU-functionalilty (as opposed to RVU-support via DirecTV client boxes) DOES become popular, I'm sure the industry (especially for client-side products) will start emphasizing self-connect and "Plug-N-Play" concepts.

FWIW, I'm using DECA-based connectivity on all of my receivers and I've looked at the Coax Network Stats on all of the units. Phy Levels and Phy Rate Mesh values all appear to be well within the critieria stated in the DECA Networking FAQs. In other words, "I'm all dressed up and ready to go" but stuck in "limbo".

#31 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 08 January 2012 - 03:15 PM

The 1026.0 version of the official samsung firmware for the UN32D6500VF states that it provides RVU support. This is the link I've been using:

http: / / samsung.com / us / support / downloads / led-tv / UN32D6500VF

The firmware description clearly states that this version 1026.0, dated Jan 3, 2011, provides RVU support. However I can't get my 6500 to recognize the firmware when trying to load it via USB. TV see's the flash, allows me to browse, etc..., but it doesn't think that there is a version on the drive to upgrade. I've unzipped, etc....

My TV upgraded itself over the network to 1026 a few weeks ago, but there is no indication in the inputs options that RVU support is available.

Samsung, rather than helping understand how to get the firmware recognized, keeps telling me that RVU support is not available for the D6500. Is there a real answer here?

Thanks in advance.
Carter


Not sure I can help you on the firmware flash issue but after I performed a F/W 1.26 download via the "Online" process for my UN40D6420, the Inputs "Menu" included a new "RVU" input line. However, it was "greyed out" because, at the time, I didn't have any RVU-server(s) connected to my network. If you actually have version 1.26 installed, did you scroll all the way down on your Inputs "Menu"? In my case, I had several DLNA devices on my network and the RVU input line wasn't visible when I first opened the "Menu".

#32 OFFLINE   mjwagner

mjwagner

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 521 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2005

Posted 08 January 2012 - 03:29 PM

The 1026.0 version of the official samsung firmware for the UN32D6500VF states that it provides RVU support. This is the link I've been using:

http: / / samsung.com / us / support / downloads / led-tv / UN32D6500VF

The firmware description clearly states that this version 1026.0, dated Jan 3, 2011, provides RVU support. However I can't get my 6500 to recognize the firmware when trying to load it via USB. TV see's the flash, allows me to browse, etc..., but it doesn't think that there is a version on the drive to upgrade. I've unzipped, etc....

My TV upgraded itself over the network to 1026 a few weeks ago, but there is no indication in the inputs options that RVU support is available.

Samsung, rather than helping understand how to get the firmware recognized, keeps telling me that RVU support is not available for the D6500. Is there a real answer here?

Thanks in advance.
Carter


The following Samsung series TV's have or have announced RVU capability:

6000, 6400, 6420
Mark

HR34-700, Epson PowerLite Pro Cinema 1080 UB Projector
HR21-200, Samsung UN-60ES8000
C31, Samsung PN-42A450
H25-700, Samsung LN-S3296D

#33 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:31 PM

Do we have any confirmation whether an RVU device can be added and removed to your account at will? In other words, many who own their receivers will activate them for a period of time (football season, spare bedroom, etc) will one be able to do the same with an RVU device?
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#34 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:38 PM

I know I was easily able to change the number of clients on my account as long as I had a minimum of one.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#35 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:44 PM

I know I was easily able to change the number of clients on my account as long as I had a minimum of one.


What would that mean for this situation?

Customer received install of:
1 HR34
3 H25's

Purchases a Samsung RVU capable Tv several months after install, but only wishes to use the Tv at certain times of the year.

If this customer has no additional RVU clients, and activites the Samsung Tv, can they not deactivate the same Tv when they wish (to save the mirror cost when not in use?)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#36 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 08 January 2012 - 11:01 PM

What would that mean for this situation?

If this customer has no additional RVU clients, and activites the Samsung Tv, can they not deactivate the same Tv when they wish (to save the mirror cost when not in use?)


And will it restart their contract when an owned RVU client is activated?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#37 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 January 2012 - 08:30 AM

I think you're asking a lot of hypotheticals. There probably are policies in place for that sort of stuff but I don't know what they are.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#38 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 09 January 2012 - 09:22 AM

My "proposal" would include:

- Monthly fee equal to whatever the current "Add A Receiver" (mirroring) fee is at the time you "Add A Location".
- Month-to-month "subscription" (based on your billing cycle) with NO partial-month refunds if you cancel your subscription mid-cycle.
- On-line "activation" at no cost (and you ARE "on your own" when it comes to connectivity, how to connect, etc. issues) via existing customer account management features. This would allow you to add/subtract locations depending on your needs (e.g., Super Bowl weekend, kids home from college, etc.) with minimal customer/DirecTV time and expense.
- On the other hand, IF you need installation help (e.g., added coax run, additional DECA box), impose either a flat fee or time/materials service charge for a truck roll. Also, IF RVU technology becomes popular and the installed HR-34 (and later) base becomes significant, consider implementing a limited "free customer telephone support option" similar to what other consumer electronics companies offer customers who purchase a new product. However, the PROBLEM with limited "free support" by DirecTV is they will NOT see any new revenue from the sale of the RVU-product (e.g., Samsung TV, Onkyo A/V Receiver, etc.) and, in effect, would be incurring expense to support another company's product.
- IF you're a new install or eligible (& pay) for an HR-34 upgrade, normal installation would include a "one-time" connection of requested RVU-devices.

I know this "proposal" is probably unworkable in practice but IF RVU-technology ever "takes off", DirecTV will be simply one more "vendor" in the RVU-universe and they will have to support and manage customers who want to attach/remove/move RVU-devices on a regular basis. It would be fascinating to see what would happen to the RVU "support discussion" if a MAJOR, non-TV vendor decides to support RVU technology in their devices (the company with a fruit logo? :) )

#39 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,894 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 January 2012 - 09:50 AM

. It would be fascinating to see what would happen to the RVU "support discussion" if a MAJOR, non-TV vendor decides to support RVU technology in their devices (the company with a fruit logo? :) )


United Fruit Co.? Chiquita Banana is here to say.....

Or, is that low-hanging fruit? Adam n Eve stuff?

You raise great points.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#40 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 January 2012 - 09:56 AM

denpri, I think that makes a lot of sense, in the future. With RVU in such an early phase, I understand why it's sort of closed right now.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#41 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

Success! Worked with another Case Mgmt. Rep a few minutes ago & RVU client (UN40D6420) is now active. Only spent a few minutes "navigating" with the TV Remote (i.e., the Rep couldn't find any way to send a RC70X) but, so far, the video & BASIC functions (e.g., channel change, last channel, "info", etc.) work fine. The only problem I've noted so far is the "audio sync" issue mentioned earlier in this thread. Audio trails video by a fraction of a second. HR-34 F/W is 4C9, Samsung F/W is 1026 and using DECA connectivity between HR-34 & TV (and all other DirecTV receivers).

Does anyone have a "translation guide" that IDs which keys on the Samsung Remote correspond to DirecTV functions? The Rep. mentioned an internal-only document which I obviously can't see.

#42 OFFLINE   alexginga

alexginga

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2003

Posted 10 January 2012 - 07:29 PM

I am able to control all my DirecTV HD DVR Receivers in the house using the following IP Control Remote URL on my ipod and iphone:

www.waltzremote.com

I have bookmarked the URL on my iPhone and can use it for trickplay and all advanced functions. It even includes a Macro for Smart Search (macro currently working only with the traditional blue UI).

Note: If you hold INFO button for two seconds (or visit the system info & test screen on the system menu) - the unit's IP Address will be displayed - you need to enter it in the remote Setup screen before you control the TV.

Have you tried using it for your RVU client?

#43 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 11 January 2012 - 08:56 AM

Actually, the regular Samsung TV Remote works quite well when controlling a RVU "session" and most of the DirecTV keys have similar counterparts on the Samsung remote so I probably won't experiment with third-party solutions right now. Of course, if the DirecTV iPad App would start supporting RVU "sessions", I'd be a happy camper! :)

Also solved the audio sync issue - Had to adjust the "audio delay" setting in the Samsung "Sound Menu". It was set to "60" (not sure if this is the "default setting") and I adjusted it to "30".

So far, I'm very pleased with the RVU feature. There is some slugishness in Menu appearance, etc. BUT I'm not sure it's an RVU-only issue since the HR-34 Menus, remote response, etc. are also slow (at least compared to the HR-24/H-25 HD GUI) even on a TV directly connected to the HR-34.

#44 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 37,032 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:02 AM

denpri, have you found a key combination that allows you to do 30-second skip or replay? Everything else seems to have a counterpart but that.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#45 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 11 January 2012 - 09:43 AM

denpri, have you found a key combination that allows you to do 30-second skip or replay? Everything else seems to have a counterpart but that.


You are right - Can't find any combinations that support these 2 functions.

Also, I'm noticing the audio sync issue is a little more subtle than a simple adjustment to the TV's "audio delay" setting. If I change channels, stop/resume playback of recorded items and even stop/resume live TV during a RVU session, there may/may not be a slight audio delay. As a result, the "value" of the "audio delay" setting seems to vary between 0 and 20-30. Based on this, I think there IS a sync issue but not sure whether it's in the server (HR-34) or client (TV) software.

#46 OFFLINE   CurtP

CurtP

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 11 January 2012 - 02:48 PM

denpri, have you found a key combination that allows you to do 30-second skip or replay? Everything else seems to have a counterpart but that.


I never could figure out how to make the Samsung remote skip, even though the logo is printed right above the ff/rw buttons. But the skip button is on the Samsung iPhone remote app.

It pains me to say that even though I now have the RC70X remote working, skip operation sucks.

Every day I become less and less tolerant of the RVU shortcomings :mad:

#47 OFFLINE   shaddow22

shaddow22

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2011

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:09 PM

If you're not seeing "Add Client" on your HR34 it's because your RVU service isn't turned on. DIRECTV's policy is to have the tech call to turn it on after the install. If you go high enough in the chain you may get someone to turn it on for you but that would be the exception not the rule.


FYI, I can "Add Client" on the HR34 and enter the PIN on the D6400 just fine without RVU enabled on my account. Once the two are paired, it goes to a screen that says to call DirecTV to add RVU. As an existing customer, this is where it all stops until Feb 9...

#48 OFFLINE   brent112

brent112

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2012

Posted 12 January 2012 - 09:49 AM

I never could figure out how to make the Samsung remote skip, even though the logo is printed right above the ff/rw buttons. But the skip button is on the Samsung iPhone remote app.

It pains me to say that even though I now have the RC70X remote working, skip operation sucks.

Every day I become less and less tolerant of the RVU shortcomings :mad:


Same here, i have an RVU capable TV but ended up having to just use a H25 i bought off ebay. The wife acceptance factor was not there. The sluggish interface and no skipping was driving her crazy. Hopefully they will push an update soon to fix those issues so i can go back to using it.

#49 OFFLINE   chellyaz

chellyaz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2012

Posted 12 January 2012 - 08:44 PM

Not sure I can help you on the firmware flash issue but after I performed a F/W 1.26 download via the "Online" process for my UN40D6420, the Inputs "Menu" included a new "RVU" input line. However, it was "greyed out" because, at the time, I didn't have any RVU-server(s) connected to my network. If you actually have version 1.26 installed, did you scroll all the way down on your Inputs "Menu"? In my case, I had several DLNA devices on my network and the RVU input line wasn't visible when I first opened the "Menu".

Sorry for the delay and thanks for responding. Yes, I did go through the complete inputs menu with no joy. Of course its possible that the error is in the 1026.0 firmware description for the UN32D6500VF, but I won't really know until I can download the latest 1026.0 to my TV. Any suggestions on how to get the Jan 03, 2012 release installed would be most excellent.

Thanks again

#50 OFFLINE   denpri

denpri

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2009

Posted 13 January 2012 - 07:59 AM

Sorry for the delay and thanks for responding. Yes, I did go through the complete inputs menu with no joy. Of course its possible that the error is in the 1026.0 firmware description for the UN32D6500VF, but I won't really know until I can download the latest 1026.0 to my TV. Any suggestions on how to get the Jan 03, 2012 release installed would be most excellent.

Thanks again


I simply used the "online update" method. Also, keep in mind some features listed in the "firmware changes" log may not be available on all models. For example, the log talks about changes to 3D functionality but not all sets have this capability. I'm not sure but RVU functionality may be limited to certain screen sizes. The easiest solution is to make sure you have installed 1026.0 (1/3/12) and then check the input menu again.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...