Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP922 Out for second time


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 04 January 2012 - 10:15 AM

Last night my Vip922 was functioning just fine. We watched a movie that we had previously recorded. This morning the screen was blank on the TV and pressing on the red reset button, produced the red globe start-up screen. Then I noticed that the screen seemed to recycle and all the lights on the panel lit up. I depressed the red button again, this time for 15 seconds, and got the start-up screen once more. Now I was nervous because the very same thing happened four months ago and I had to replace the unit, thus losing all saved data. My last hope was to disconnect the unit from the power source, and to restart the unit.
No luck! Called tech support, all that I did was correct, but the unit must be replaced. All recordings again will be lost. The unit is on an open shelf to prevent the possibility of over heating.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 905 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:03 PM

Performing a hard reset (unplugging from the electrical outlet), clears all RAM and reboots the receiver. I have noticed on my 922 receiver that it will cycle through the starting up screen a few times and then display the last channel I was watching.

To prevent the lost of your recordings, you can purchase an external hard drive (EHD) so you can transfer your recordings from the 922 hard drive to the EHD. You can connect from 50 GB to 2 TB EHD to a USB port on the receiver. It needs it own power supply and single tiered. Thanks.

#3 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 05 January 2012 - 12:52 PM

Performing a hard reset (unplugging from the electrical outlet), clears all RAM and reboots the receiver. I have noticed on my 922 receiver that it will cycle through the starting up screen a few times and then display the last channel I was watching.

"Now I was nervous because the very same thing happened four months ago and I had to replace the unit, thus losing all saved data. My last hope was to disconnect the unit from the power source, and to restart the unit." Upon restoring power, it just went to the Start-up screen and again just stayed on the screen.

To prevent the lost of your recordings, you can purchase an external hard drive (EHD) so you can transfer your recordings from the 922 hard drive to the EHD. You can connect from 50 GB to 2 TB EHD to a USB port on the receiver. It needs it own power supply and single tiered. Thanks.


I do have an EHD connected, so the very important saves were made, learned that from the first 922 failing! thx...

#4 OFFLINE   nhguy

nhguy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2006

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:03 AM

Maybe if the VIP 922 was not such a "work in process", you wouldn't have to buy a EHD just to make sure you don't lose what you already have versus adding to a collection.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:54 AM

Maybe if the VIP 922 was not such a "work in process", you wouldn't have to buy a EHD just to make sure you don't lose what you already have versus adding to a collection.


Now all resources dedicating to XiP813/110, a new dish's puppy.

#6 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 06 January 2012 - 04:14 PM

How's this for an interesting development. Dish got me a replacement 922 within two days, and I went through the tedious setup process. Well at least I had my backed up programs on my EKD to try the new unit with, or so I thought! The new receiver erased my 750 gig EKD, and the replacement's fan makes a humming noise!! Dish is now sending a tech with another replacement.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 04:16 PM

I don't know how important was your recordings ... but you could make a backup of those - search for "DishArc" threads.

#8 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,293 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 January 2012 - 06:13 PM

How's this for an interesting development. Dish got me a replacement 922 within two days, and I went through the tedious setup process. Well at least I had my backed up programs on my EKD to try the new unit with, or so I thought! The new receiver erased my 750 gig EKD, and the replacement's fan makes a humming noise!! Dish is now sending a tech with another replacement.

The receiver should never ever erase an EHD without you specifically telling it to do so. If that happened, I'd like to know as I talked my big rig driver daughter into getting one so she can watch her shows and she uses an EHD.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#9 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 06 January 2012 - 06:33 PM

The receiver should never ever erase an EHD without you specifically telling it to do so. If that happened, I'd like to know as I talked my big rig driver daughter into getting one so she can watch her shows and she uses an EHD.


This is the second time I've lost all my recordings, with no warning what so ever.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 07:33 PM

Perhaps you want do backup of DishArc folder(s) ? To preserve before connect your EHD to other DVR ?

#11 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 07 January 2012 - 03:12 PM

Perhaps you want do backup of DishArc folder(s) ? To preserve before connect your EHD to other DVR ?


Thank you, but in all honesty, most of what had been on the EHD was important to my Grand daughter who is three.

The tech from Dish came today with a brand new 922, it was still in its' anti static package, with all the accessories. Which was what I expected with the one that was shipped.

#12 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,700 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 January 2012 - 04:13 PM

You got after Xmas Gift :)




spam firewall