Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DISH Hopper coming at CES ?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
72 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dvrblogger

dvrblogger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 562 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2005

Posted 05 January 2012 - 01:49 PM

courtesy of zats not funny. DISH to unveil XIP now being called Hopper at CES. http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2012-01/dish-network-to-unveil-hopper-whole-home-dvr/

Beyond those compelling, albeit anticipated, whole-home functionality, the Hopper introduces a DVR “catch up” feature they’ve christened Primetime Anytime. Basically, one of the three tuners appears to be co-opted to record local affiliate programming (ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC) between 8PM – 11PM with programming retained for about a week. Clever! Seeya, Hulu Plus? But I wonder if this sort of automated solution will raise the ire of broadcasters – who’d rather license “catch up” services.

Lastly, the article indicates that the artist formerly known DISH Network will be dropping the “Network” and going solely by DISH (along with a new logo) in regards to marketing. Which, I suppose, isn’t entirely surprising given their (questionable) acquisition of Blockbuster along with other non-satellite TV irons in the fire.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 05 January 2012 - 01:54 PM

Does it have PIP?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,556 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 January 2012 - 02:38 PM

That catch-up feature would need more than one tuner to record all the major networks in prime time... So I am not sure how that works... Also, how long before someone complains about not being able to use "their" tuner.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#4 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 05 January 2012 - 02:47 PM

You'd think the catch-up would need 4 tuners, one for each network.

#5 OFFLINE   olguy

olguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,234 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2006

Posted 05 January 2012 - 03:04 PM

Catch-up? That's how I've used DVRs for years.
Just another old geezer killin' time till time kills me.

#6 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,760 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 05 January 2012 - 03:28 PM

courtesy of zats not funny. DISH to unveil XIP now being called Hopper at CES. http://www.zatznotfunny.com/2012-01/dish-network-to-unveil-hopper-whole-home-dvr/

Beyond those compelling, albeit anticipated, whole-home functionality, the Hopper introduces a DVR “catch up” feature they’ve christened Primetime Anytime. Basically, one of the three tuners appears to be co-opted to record local affiliate programming (ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC) between 8PM – 11PM with programming retained for about a week. Clever! Seeya, Hulu Plus? But I wonder if this sort of automated solution will raise the ire of broadcasters – who’d rather license “catch up” services.

Lastly, the article indicates that the artist formerly known DISH Network will be dropping the “Network” and going solely by DISH (along with a new logo) in regards to marketing. Which, I suppose, isn’t entirely surprising given their (questionable) acquisition of Blockbuster along with other non-satellite TV irons in the fire.

It all sounds cool but I don't get the description of that catch up feature...

Uh....

I have two ViP DVR's now in order to have four tuners when I need to record from four networks at the same time. As it is, I spend considerable time making sure I get whole programs, what with those 1 & 2 minute scheduled overruns which overlap competing programming.

I hope Dish doesn't overreach with a goal too complex for to be adequately written in code or creating a feature too constraining to seasoned customers.

Regarding branding "Dish" by dropping "Network" just as it's folding Blockbuster into its fold, Netflix is being called a "network" by analysts:

...The service is actually the 2nd most-watched 'network' behind only CBS.

Conceptually "channel" can mean "to convey through or as through a channel" so IMHO they may have been better off to drop the "Dish" as they expand their means of channeling programming to customers. Or maybe "Dishbuster" ... oh, that doesn't sound too good.:D

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#7 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,184 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 05 January 2012 - 05:10 PM

only one tuner needed since all the local big 4 networks are on a single transponder, it just records the entire transponder using a single tuner.
Kevin

2 Hoppers
2 Hoppers 2.0

#8 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 05 January 2012 - 06:44 PM

Does it have PIP?
Thank you and
Best of luck

#9 OFFLINE   dvrblogger

dvrblogger

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 562 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2005

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:07 PM

Does it have PIP?


most likely also sling capability and a 2 TB disk.

#10 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:10 PM

most likely also sling capability and a 2 TB disk.


Thank you :)
Thank you and
Best of luck

#11 OFFLINE   dvrblogger

dvrblogger

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 562 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2005

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:22 PM

CES: Dish Poised To Unveil Wireless Broadband Plans, Multiroom DVR: Reports
'Hopper' DVR to Feature 2 TB Drive and Three Tuners, According to Dealerscope
By Todd Spangler -- Multichannel News, 1/5/2012 4:14:06 PM

Dish Network is planning to launch a broadband satellite service this summer to 8 million people in the U.S. and will debut a three-tuner, multiroom digital video recorder, according to reports that leaked out ahead of the satellite operator's press conference set for next week's Consumer Electronics Show.

Remainder of article here: http://www.multichan...DVR_Reports.php

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 06 January 2012 - 10:11 AM.


#12 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,051 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 05 January 2012 - 07:22 PM

That catch-up feature would need more than one tuner to record all the major networks in prime time... So I am not sure how that works... Also, how long before someone complains about not being able to use "their" tuner.


They could dedicate a transponder to a special channel to push all the shows similiar to how DIRECTV does On Demand PPV to the box. However the storage for all of that would be huge so we'll have to see what they really mean if this report is true.

#13 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 05 January 2012 - 08:32 PM

Comming Fall 2013!!!! mark my words, or at least working at 80% as advertised fall 2013!!!! Dish prove me wrong lol

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 January 2012 - 08:50 PM

You'll see it at CES 2012 first - they're jumping out own pants trying to make new FW to show 813's features there in a few days - look how often new FW versions coming out woodwork for the 813 at dishuser.org site log.

#15 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:14 AM

They're all over this.......http://www.satellite...coming-ces.html
Thank you and
Best of luck

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:20 AM

There is nothing about FW updates frequency nor they knows what chip the box is using ... why you diverting to other site ?

#17 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,760 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 January 2012 - 01:26 AM

They're all over this.......http://www.satellite...coming-ces.html

Yeah, I've read the stuff there - one transponder, dump everything onto the large hard drive, parse later. It's an interesting idea that should work in theory. I don't want to be an Alpha tester when they release this thing to customers though. I can't even imagine what the code and processing is going to look like when from one box that's recording four broadcast networks, Dad's in the basement watching an NFL game from a cable channel, Mom's watching a recorded movie in the home theater, Sis is watching a recorded "90210" in her room, Junior is watching a PPV.... Well you get the idea.

I'd just like the code in my old 722 to not screw up guide updates since they added the Blockbuster menu.

I'm sure it can be done. I just have no idea who's going to provide the ongoing support when Dish marketing insists on modifying a menu on a Hopper they just finally got working well.:rolleyes:

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#18 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:51 AM

There is nothing about FW updates frequency nor they knows what chip the box is using ... why you diverting to other site ?

There's a hell of a lot more discussion there then here about Hopper. Am I breaking some rule or something?:grin:
Thank you and
Best of luck

#19 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,051 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:12 AM

You're not breaking any rules... if you want to discuss this here more, please do so.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#20 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:29 AM

The info available so far sounds pretty good. I think the price is probably going to be steep for existing subscribers though.

I currently lease a 622 and a 722. I also own two 612's. One Hopper and four Joeys would give me most of what I currently have. But at what cost?

I also would worry a bit about having all my recordings on one hard drive. One of the reasons I have 4 DVR's is that I record most things I care about on two devices. I've lost hard drives several times and while most shows can be found on iTunes or elsewhere online it can be a hassle. Especially when I timeshift entire seasons.

#21 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:50 AM

There's a hell of a lot more discussion there then here about Hopper. Am I breaking some rule or something?:grin:

Please outline a few items for us, here (what we missed).

#22 OFFLINE   jsk

jsk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:55 AM

I wonder how they will charge for this? I assume that each Joey will cost more per month. If so, I'll be happy with sticking with my 722K.
Dish Player DVR 722K with OTA module connected to the Eastern Arc

#23 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 905 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 06 January 2012 - 11:42 AM

Please outline a few items for us, here (what we missed).


So let me get this straight......putting me on the spot is supposed to make you feel better about your snarky comment. I'm no expert, I am just interested and I actually use the equipment... the often maligned vip922.
The reaction at "the other site" as you put it is far more positive concerning the new system. Are you threatened by Sat.Guys? I know Scott was once here, left and went on to form his own....?
I read a lot of negativity here and or suspicion. The technology is moving foreword wether you like it or not.

I was innocently reacting to what I read over there......24 pages and counting compared to your ONE. If this site does not want links be man enough to say so.....If you want to gleam more information about Hopper go the http://www.satellite...coming-ces.html and sift through the discussion. Personally I was interested in PIP and OTA and when and how much. I get my news from multiple sources. I believe multiple sources gives multiple points of view. Clearly you have one...and I have more......:grin: Ya know P. Smith.... you really don't make me feel very welcome here.......

Edited by 356B, 06 January 2012 - 11:49 AM.

Thank you and
Best of luck

#24 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,345 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 January 2012 - 11:58 AM

It was just an admission to SHARE your knowledge HERE; you got wrong turn, buddy ... sorry.

#25 OFFLINE   DavidMi

DavidMi

    Legend

  • Banned User
  • 123 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2009

Posted 06 January 2012 - 12:00 PM

It was just an admission to SHARE your knowledge HERE; you got wrong turn, buddy ... sorry.

I really wish I could understand what you were saying, all you post is gobbildy gook and you expect everyone to know what your talking about.

Please talk english to us and maybe we will understand. Look what you wrote above, what does it mean?
David -
My Equipment -
Directv HR24 - I subscribe to Directv JUST for N3D!
Dish Network 922 / 722K
Panasonic 3D HDTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...