Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

2012 Dish HD


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
115 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   irishprince317

irishprince317

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2011

Posted 15 February 2012 - 11:47 PM

:lol:

Perhaps without a wide-screen presentation you're not seeing the far left and the far right. ;)



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   steveT

steveT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2002

Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:06 PM

BBC World
CNN International
Ion

#53 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,207 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 28 February 2012 - 10:29 AM

BBC World
CNN International
Ion


I want QVC HD
CNN Internatial

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#54 OFFLINE   blackhillsjk

blackhillsjk

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2012

Posted 02 March 2012 - 01:41 PM

James, how about local HD in Rapid City 57754 ? Direct, and all the cable companies have them in HD. Just not dish. Any thoughts ?

#55 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,106 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 March 2012 - 05:16 PM

James, how about local HD in Rapid City 57754 ? Direct, and all the cable companies have them in HD. Just not dish. Any thoughts ?

Anything is possible. I won't know until they are uplinked.

The good thing for cable companies is that they only have to worry about carrying one set of locals ... the ones receivable at their head end in the market. DISH is burning 38% of their capacity (Western Arc) on locals. Could you imagine a cable system where 38% of their channels were locals? In a market like Rapid City where five channels are carried by DISH (in SD) you would only have a 13 channel system. :)

Not to mention the backhauls. DISH has to get the signals they receive in each market to an uplink center in order to deliver them to anyone. Cable just has to receive the signal. At worse they have a few direct feeds from local stations ... not thousands of local channels to transmit across the country before sending them out into space and back.

DirecTV has markets that they do not serve in HD ... as well as markets that do not have SD local carriage (the last time I checked). Rapid City just happens to be one of the markets DISH needs to upgrade.

#56 OFFLINE   blackhillsjk

blackhillsjk

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2012

Posted 05 March 2012 - 12:59 PM

Thanks for the Reply. Hopefully we can get them soon....Sports of any kind in sd just isn't the same.

#57 OFFLINE   paja

paja

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 421 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2006

Posted 05 March 2012 - 09:40 PM

I want QVC HD
CNN Internatial


CNN Inter-one of the better news channels

#58 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 08 March 2012 - 01:12 AM

Anything is possible. I won't know until they are uplinked.

The good thing for cable companies is that they only have to worry about carrying one set of locals ... the ones receivable at their head end in the market. DISH is burning 38% of their capacity (Western Arc) on locals. Could you imagine a cable system where 38% of their channels were locals? In a market like Rapid City where five channels are carried by DISH (in SD) you would only have a 13 channel system. :)

Not to mention the backhauls. DISH has to get the signals they receive in each market to an uplink center in order to deliver them to anyone. Cable just has to receive the signal. At worse they have a few direct feeds from local stations ... not thousands of local channels to transmit across the country before sending them out into space and back.

DirecTV has markets that they do not serve in HD ... as well as markets that do not have SD local carriage (the last time I checked). Rapid City just happens to be one of the markets DISH needs to upgrade.







ADD Gulfport/Biloxi to that list of markets Dish Needs to Upgrade!! ...I know we are a SMALL DMA but Dish/ Direct both added us back in 2010. the only difference was Direct uplinked HD and Dish only lit SD ! Our local ABC -WLOX annouced today they are adding a CBS channel so that will give us 3/4 networks local and leave NBC only station coming from New Orleans, La or Mobile, Al markets.

Edited by rtd2, 08 March 2012 - 01:18 AM.


#59 OFFLINE   zztinker

zztinker

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2012

Posted 09 March 2012 - 10:39 AM

Bakersfield Ca., Dish HD yes, Direct HD NO....So, I'm going with dish after March 15 with the hopper......

#60 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 09 March 2012 - 10:48 AM

If you have any questions about our services or equipment, please let me know. Thanks.

Bakersfield Ca., Dish HD yes, Direct HD NO....So, I'm going with dish after March 15 with the hopper......



#61 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 26 March 2012 - 04:11 PM

How long, once a local channel is uplinked "for testing", does it usually take for the channel to become available to subscribers? I see that KSCW (CW) in Wichita, KS was uplinked on February 22nd, 2012.

Back on February 3, 2012, I emailed the station and asked why they weren't on DISH in HD and was told they they had talked to DISH "last week" and were told "soon". Of course no date was given.

Thanks.

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#62 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,297 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 March 2012 - 12:19 PM

There really is no usual... I believe there have been channels uplinked for testing that stayed there for a year and never became live to customers.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#63 OFFLINE   jeffdb27

jeffdb27

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 99 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 30 March 2012 - 08:23 AM

Well, in this case, it turns out to be a little over a month. I was surprised to see on the uplink report for March 28th that KSCW was available to customers. Yesterday I confirmed that that channel was in fact available in HD on my 722k. :)

Hopper (owned) + EHD + Sling Adapter + OTA Adapter
AT200 + BB@Home + RSNs + Locals
SATS: 110/119/129
Dish Network Customer since
October 1996


#64 OFFLINE   domingos35

domingos35

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2006

Posted 01 April 2012 - 07:45 AM

any new HD channels coming?
i want FSC+ HD

#65 OFFLINE   rtd2

rtd2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 161 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 14 April 2012 - 01:28 AM

I guess I'm in the 2013 time frame for dish upgrading our locals to HD. Also Our Market has been a short market(only ABC/FOX) its entire existance but last week our local ABC- WLOX went live with our areas first CBS on one of its subchannels and its no where in site on Dish. according to Wlox's site here is the latest info. from dish ,


"DirecTV is airing a CBS feed in HD on channel 390 temporarily, but will air WLOX CBS by April 25. When we learn what channel number they are giving it and when it is available, we will let you know. We have yet to hear from DirecTV, Dish Network about placement for WLOX-CBS on their channel lineups, but we are optimistic that WLOX- CBS will soon be available on their services. WLOX- ABC is unchanged by this addition"

Also Learned our Local Fox -WXXV will be adding NBC in July! thus giving us all 4 networks local

#66 OFFLINE   PBowie

PBowie

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 03 May 2012 - 12:45 PM

Agreed - FSC+ in HD is a must for me-Im paying 15 bucks a month extra for a SD channel :(

#67 OFFLINE   MarkoC

MarkoC

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 189 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2004

Posted 08 May 2012 - 04:27 PM

Agreed - FSC+ in HD is a must for me-Im paying 15 bucks a month extra for a SD channel :(


I was a FSC+ subscriber as well until I dropped it and signed up for foxsoccer2go.com. It is available for 19.99 a month or 169.99 a year and you have access to a lot more games, both live and on demand. I have a Mac Mini hooked up to my TV and the picture quality is much better than the SD version of FSC+. Additionally, they have an iPhone and iPad app. No brainer for me.
"I believe there is something out there watching us. Unfortunately, it's the government." -- Woody Allen

#68 OFFLINE   bonipie

bonipie

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:01 AM

Hi,
We are avid motocross fans. For several years, Directv fans have had HD broadcast on Fuel. If we go to a bar at 9am that will let us tune to motocross on Fuel, we can see it in HD-sad. This is not minor. The SD is so bad-the riders have 12" high numbers on their back and you can't read the 12" high numbers. Is that bad, or what?

I hope they don't say that "enough people don't watch Fuel TV to justify it" because you do not watch Fuel unless you really want to see something specific-It is bad in SD! If it was in HD, we would watch a lot of the programming in HD.

I think, for the price we are paying for programming, we deserve to see the available Fuel HD programming in HD, like Directv has. When is this going to happen?

Boni
:D Boni

VIP722
Dish 1000

#69 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:07 AM

I will submit a programming request form to our programming department. Thanks.

Hi,
We are avid motocross fans. For several years, Directv fans have had HD broadcast on Fuel. If we go to a bar at 9am that will let us tune to motocross on Fuel, we can see it in HD-sad. This is not minor. The SD is so bad-the riders have 12" high numbers on their back and you can't read the 12" high numbers. Is that bad, or what?

I hope they don't say that "enough people don't watch Fuel TV to justify it" because you do not watch Fuel unless you really want to see something specific-It is bad in SD! If it was in HD, we would watch a lot of the programming in HD.

I think, for the price we are paying for programming, we deserve to see the available Fuel HD programming in HD, like Directv has. When is this going to happen?

Boni



#70 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,207 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:50 AM

Hi,
We are avid motocross fans. For several years, Directv fans have had HD broadcast on Fuel. If we go to a bar at 9am that will let us tune to motocross on Fuel, we can see it in HD-sad. This is not minor. The SD is so bad-the riders have 12" high numbers on their back and you can't read the 12" high numbers. Is that bad, or what?

I hope they don't say that "enough people don't watch Fuel TV to justify it" because you do not watch Fuel unless you really want to see something specific-It is bad in SD! If it was in HD, we would watch a lot of the programming in HD.

I think, for the price we are paying for programming, we deserve to see the available Fuel HD programming in HD, like Directv has. When is this going to happen?

Boni


I've never heard Fuel TV.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#71 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 16 May 2012 - 12:48 PM

It's channel 398 in the AT 120 and above programming packages.

Here is a description of the channel:

FUEL TV delivers original and exclusive programs that speak to the core of the action sports lifestyle like no other network. FUEL TV reaches the youth demographics that is extremely loyal to their favorite brands and has a high consumption appetite for advanced video and data platforms.

Thanks.

I've never heard Fuel TV.



#72 OFFLINE   bonipie

bonipie

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 16 May 2012 - 06:30 PM

I will submit a programming request form to our programming department. Thanks.

Sorry to hear that. I believed (can't remember why) that Dish was already working on it.

But, thanks for your efforts.

Boni
:D Boni

VIP722
Dish 1000

#73 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,207 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 17 May 2012 - 10:58 AM

Well Dish! is starting out 2012 in good form adding Epix3-382 in HD.

I can only hope that Epix Drive In-292 will go HD in the future?Soon?.;)


I thought I remembered I read somewhere that Encore was going to offer more of their channels in HD besides Encore E- 340?.Hope so.;)


I would like all of the ENCORE channels in HD PLEASE!!!

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#74 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,641 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 24 May 2012 - 12:46 AM

I would like all of the ENCORE channels in HD PLEASE!!!



Me too!!.:)

#75 OFFLINE   astrantz

astrantz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: May 27, 2012

Posted 27 May 2012 - 10:45 PM

I miss the Dish HD absolute package.
It was awesome




Protected By... spam firewall...And...