Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 Replacement


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Papa J

Papa J

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2007

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:40 PM

My HR20 is being replaced because it is defective. I do not have the protection plan but the only fee I must pay is the $21 shipping. There is no new contract required. I decided to asked the cs rep if he knew what the HR20 would be replaced with. He said it would probably be the same model. I hope he is wrong as I would like a box capable of 3D so I will be ready for my next TV. What are the odds of them actually shipping a HR20?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,711 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 January 2012 - 09:53 PM

You should have told them you already had a 3DTV and they would be able to flag their system to send you a different model. Most HR20's are replaced with HR20's because you might be relying on the HR20's built-in off air tuners, which the other models don't have.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:00 PM

He doesn't have a 3D TV yet so no need. If and when he gets one he can call them with the error it provides.

#4 OFFLINE   Papa J

Papa J

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2007

Posted 06 January 2012 - 10:24 PM

He doesn't have a 3D TV yet so no need. If and when he gets one he can call them with the error it provides.


When I get 3D, I have 2 HR20 units I will need to replace. They told me I am eligible for an free upgrade but that would only cover one box. Are you saying they would replace a unit because of an error code I would get when trying to watch 3D? I would rather do that then have to be committed for 2 more years.

#5 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:32 AM

yes

#6 OFFLINE   Papa J

Papa J

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2007

Posted 07 January 2012 - 03:00 PM

yes


That is great news. Thanks for the input everyone.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...