Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What's the best way to route all of this???


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cujo46

cujo46

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2007

Posted 07 January 2012 - 09:04 PM

I've got two HR2X devices, and just added (reactivated) an H20. With an AU9S Slimline dish, what's the best wiring setup? I just can't remember where everything stands right now, can I split them at any point without recourse, or do I need a different appliance (SWM or the like)?

Thanks for any help!

AU9S Slimline Multi-Satellite 5-lnb dish.
Networked HR20-100 via HDMI to Panasonic plasma.
Networked HR21-200 via HDMI to Panasonic plasma.
H20-600 via HDMI to Sharp LCD
USSB subscriber since 1996.


"The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds new discoveries, is not 'Eureka!' but 'That's funny...'"
- I. Asimov

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,085 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 07 January 2012 - 09:14 PM

Do you have SWM or legacy now?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,892 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 07 January 2012 - 09:16 PM

With an AU9S (the S standing for SWiM) you can add a SWiM labeled splitter at any point in either of the HR2x's runs. The only thing that IS of consequence is maintaining the power passing path from the power inserter to the ODU. This is only a concern if the line that you're splitting has the power inserter on it. If so, you'll need to make sure that the power passing leg of the splitter (it's labeled) is connected to the line with the power inserter, the original existing line going to that HR2x.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."




spam firewall