Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Any info outhere about the "Streaming Quality Meter"?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 558 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 08 January 2012 - 06:26 AM

We downloaded a movie from the DOD area on our 722 the other night and finally got to watch it last night. When it started in the upper left hand corner right under the the info bar, right above the "aspect" window was an area that had "Streaming Quality HD" and four squares underneath it. It also shows up above the progress bar at the bottom, when paused. I'm curious as to what the readings mean, since the program had already been DL'd and it wasn't actually streaming. When the movie started there was only one of the four squares filled in green and PQ was a bit grainy. After a couple of minutes all four were filled in and the PQ was incredible. Something I have noticed about DL PQ compared to live off the dish. It kinda makes me wish I could DL everything. But that area looks to be a "work in progress".

The thing that makes me most curious was that the movie was already on the HD, so it wasn't "streaming". I looked at the Client Bridge and there was no activity on the network either. This is usually a thing that is associated with a process that is happening. Being that this is my first encounter with it I'm curious as to what it means after the fact?

I did a search here and got no returns.

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated by my curiousity.

Thank you.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,849 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 January 2012 - 01:09 PM

What FW version is running by the 722 ?

#3 OFFLINE   FarmerBob

FarmerBob

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 558 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2002

Posted 08 January 2012 - 02:59 PM

What FW version is running by the 722 ?

I knew I forgot something. L722.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...