Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Use HTTP Commands from Client Box


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bfkidd

bfkidd

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 08 January 2012 - 10:53 AM

Is it possible to issue http (or serial) commands to a whole home client receiver (such as an H21 or better) and have access to control the playback of recordings located on a whole home DVR such as an HR34?

So the setup would be:

HR34 contains all recordings
H21 or higher playback of recordings on HR34 over http or serial commands

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,899 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 08 January 2012 - 11:15 AM

You can emulate the Remote control commands via HTTP / IP control or through a serial -usb connection. See the SHEF topic in this section.

Unfortunately, you can't view playlists, search or much of anything else.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,656 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2012 - 11:24 AM

This link will tell you about SHEF (the IP control spec.)



http://www.satinstal...automation.html
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   bfkidd

bfkidd

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 08 January 2012 - 12:54 PM

Thanks for the link.

On one hand, it looks like the feature may be available:

http://STBIP:port/dv...ay?uniqueId=num[&playFrom=string][&offset=num][&clientAddr=string][&udn =string]


Where clientAddr is the ip of the client box.

But then again, it is all over the document that the DVR functionality is deprecated.

So it may work as of right now but not in a future release.

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 08 January 2012 - 05:26 PM

This may be of interest.
http://waltzremote.com/
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   suntken34

suntken34

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2011

Posted 14 January 2012 - 10:17 PM

What port is used? 8080? 27177? I have a Vantage system and trying to send commands via TCP but can't seem to get them right. Don't mean to hijack.... Thanks.

#7 OFFLINE   tuff bob

tuff bob

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 645 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2007

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:55 PM

What port is used? 8080? 27177? I have a Vantage system and trying to send commands via TCP but can't seem to get them right. Don't mean to hijack.... Thanks.


8080
Half a DLB, Half a DVR.




spam firewall