Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

The official "ask veryoldschool" [or peds48] thread


  • Please log in to reply
803 replies to this topic

#441 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 October 2012 - 03:58 PM

0| |253 |246| 230| 246| 244| 244||| 259| 000| 241| 254| 254| 255
1| 243| | 279| 237| 249| 278 |281||249| | 0| 245| 254| 289| 292
2| 234| 286| | 235| 247| 281| 279||0| 0| | 0| 0| 0| 0
3| 232| 251| 246| | 241| 246| 244||240| 258| 0 || 248| 254| 254
4| 249| 253| 246| 240| | 244| 246||257| 259| 0| 248| | 254| 256
5 |238| 289| 281| 241| 248| | 279||242| 296| 0 |244 |255| | 289
6| 239| 291| 278| 240| 248| 279| ||247| 297| 0 |245| 254| 291|

A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#442 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 16 October 2012 - 04:28 PM

VOS

As requested I moved the H25 from the Master Bedroom to the Spare Bedroom in place of the HR23 server to the HR34

0 -21

1 N/A

2

3

4 -16

5 -18

6 -17

0 1 2 3 4 5 6

0 250 258 0 0 255 253 256

1 248 241 0 0 253 289 292

2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

4 255 258 0 0 252 253 257

5 243 292 0 0 253 239 292

6 247 293 0 0 254 292 244

Dropped Sessions 0

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C31 Clients and 1 C41 Client


#443 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 October 2012 - 04:48 PM

0| |253 |246| 230| 246| 244| 244||| 259| 0| 241| 254| 254| 255|| |258| 000| 000| 255| 253 |256
1| 243| | 279| 237| 249| 278 |281||249| | 0| 245| 254| 289| 292||248 | |0 |0| 253| 289| 292
2| 234| 286| | 235| 247| 281| 279||0| 0| | 0| 0| 0| 0||0 |0| | 0 |0| 0| 0
3| 232| 251| 246| | 241| 246| 244||240| 258| 0 || 248| 254| 254||0| 0| 0| | 0| 0| 0
4| 249| 253| 246| 240| | 244| 246||257| 259| 0| 248| | 254| 256||255| 258| 0| 0| | 253| 257
5 |238| 289| 281| 241| 248| | 279||242| 296| 0 |244 |255| | 289||243| 292| 0 |0| 253| |292
6| 239| 291| 278| 240| 248| 279| ||247| 297| 0 |245| 254| 291| ||247| 293| 0| 0| 254| 292|


So what does this all mean?

Nothing here shows any sign of it being the problem.
A.K.A VOS

#444 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 16 October 2012 - 04:56 PM

VOS

Thanks for your time and formatting of the data for analysis

I do have a band stop filter on hand so I could install it

If I understand your earlier suggestion, I could install it on the line from the LNB to the 8 Way Splitter ( ie Don't anticipate significant changes)

Thanks again for looking over my new set up

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C31 Clients and 1 C41 Client


#445 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 October 2012 - 05:31 PM

VOS

Thanks for your time and formatting of the data for analysis

I do have a band stop filter on hand so I could install it

If I understand your earlier suggestion, I could install it on the line from the LNB to the 8 Way Splitter ( ie Don't anticipate significant changes)

Thanks again for looking over my new set up

Use the pigtail to connect to the splitter's input, and then the coax to the dish to it.
A.K.A VOS

#446 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 16 October 2012 - 06:45 PM

VOS

Will do... Thanks again for all you do for us

All the Best

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C31 Clients and 1 C41 Client


#447 OFFLINE   MurrayW

MurrayW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2006

Posted 19 October 2012 - 12:36 PM

My dish is on the roof of my 2-story house and the coax lines from the dish enter my attic. I used to have my multi-switch in my attic so the coax lines from the dish were terminated in the attic.

A few years ago I centralized everything in an equipment closet on the 1st floor with all my DVR's there and used a matrix switch to send the DVR output to TV's in the 2nd floor bedrooms. In order to get the signal from the dish to the SWiM16 downstairs I used barrel connectors on the coax from the dish and extended it with coax running down to the SWiM16. I've been running like this for several years with good signal levels and no problems.

A few months ago my matrix switch died on me and now since there is the whole home capability, I am not motivated to spend $1,000's on a new switch and am going to return the DVR's to the individual rooms up stairs. The coax lines running to the bedrooms upstairs terminate in the attic.

I know the best setup would be to move the SWiM16 back up to the attic and I could eliminate all barrel connections from the dish to the SWiM16 and the SWiM16 to the DVR's in the bedrooms. I may end up doing this, but I prefer to leave my SWiM16 in its current location downstairs.

If I do leave the SWiM16 downstairs I would have a barrel in the line from the dish to the SWiM16 and another one in the line going back from the switch to the attic then to the DVR's in the bedrooms. If I use 3Ghz barrel connectors, should I expect to see any problems by having 1 connector between the dish and the SWiM16 input and another one between the SWiM16 output and the DVR input?

thanks,
Murray

#448 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 October 2012 - 01:09 PM

My dish is on the roof of my 2-story house and the coax lines from the dish enter my attic. I used to have my multi-switch in my attic so the coax lines from the dish were terminated in the attic.

A few years ago I centralized everything in an equipment closet on the 1st floor with all my DVR's there and used a matrix switch to send the DVR output to TV's in the 2nd floor bedrooms. In order to get the signal from the dish to the SWiM16 downstairs I used barrel connectors on the coax from the dish and extended it with coax running down to the SWiM16. I've been running like this for several years with good signal levels and no problems.

A few months ago my matrix switch died on me and now since there is the whole home capability, I am not motivated to spend $1,000's on a new switch and am going to return the DVR's to the individual rooms up stairs. The coax lines running to the bedrooms upstairs terminate in the attic.

I know the best setup would be to move the SWiM16 back up to the attic and I could eliminate all barrel connections from the dish to the SWiM16 and the SWiM16 to the DVR's in the bedrooms. I may end up doing this, but I prefer to leave my SWiM16 in its current location downstairs.

If I do leave the SWiM16 downstairs I would have a barrel in the line from the dish to the SWiM16 and another one in the line going back from the switch to the attic then to the DVR's in the bedrooms. If I use 3Ghz barrel connectors, should I expect to see any problems by having 1 connector between the dish and the SWiM16 input and another one between the SWiM16 output and the DVR input?

thanks,
Murray

"Not really".

Any connection can be a point of failure, so it's good to keep them to a minimum.
Since these don't sound like they'll be exposed to the weather, there is less likelihood of there being a problem.
A.K.A VOS

#449 OFFLINE   MurrayW

MurrayW

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2006

Posted 19 October 2012 - 01:59 PM

"Not really".

Any connection can be a point of failure, so it's good to keep them to a minimum.
Since these don't sound like they'll be exposed to the weather, there is less likelihood of there being a problem.

Thank you very much VOS.

#450 OFFLINE   Kev4Bama

Kev4Bama

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 04 November 2012 - 10:09 AM

I am wanting to make the jump but had a few questions I wanted to clear up first.

I currently have

(1)HR23-700 DVR
(2) H21-200's
(1) H24-700

Swm 16 System

Can I just replace the HR23-700 with the Genie and the other HD boxes still work with the Genie as far as whole home? I am a little in the dark as to what boxes will work with Genie and which wont. Directv site made it sound like only newer boxes will communicate with it over whole home setups.

Other question is what monthly fees come along with the Genie other than the 8.00 advanced reciever fee and 3.00 whole home fee I pay now? 8.00 fee is included in my base package and I pay for three additional tv's as one is also included in the package.

Just trying to educate myself on the Genie setup but a search gives me hundreds of topics all over the place none really answering my questions.

Thanks in Advance
__________________

HR23-700 ,H21-200, H24-700, Genie H44-700 AU9-SL3 Dish
SWM-16 , DECA network hooked to internet, WHDVR/MRV

Tailgate Setup: AU9-SL3 on 3' Tripod, H21-200
runs on Legacy port of SWM-16 when not at the game.


#451 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 November 2012 - 11:20 AM

I am wanting to make the jump but had a few questions I wanted to clear up first.

I currently have

(1)HR23-700 DVR
(2) H21-200's
(1) H24-700

Swm 16 System

Can I just replace the HR23-700 with the Genie and the other HD boxes still work with the Genie as far as whole home? I am a little in the dark as to what boxes will work with Genie and which wont. Directv site made it sound like only newer boxes will communicate with it over whole home setups.

Other question is what monthly fees come along with the Genie other than the 8.00 advanced reciever fee and 3.00 whole home fee I pay now? 8.00 fee is included in my base package and I pay for three additional tv's as one is also included in the package.

Just trying to educate myself on the Genie setup but a search gives me hundreds of topics all over the place none really answering my questions.

Thanks in Advance
__________________

With your current tuner count, you don't need a SWiM-16, and if you drop the HR23 for a HR34, even with the additional tuners, you still don't need the -16, since you only have 8 tuners.

If you have DECA and MRV now, there isn't anything you need to swap the 34 for the 23. Deactivate the 23 and replace it with the 34. There should be no change in your bill and everything will work as it does now.
A.K.A VOS

#452 OFFLINE   Kev4Bama

Kev4Bama

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 04 November 2012 - 12:07 PM

With your current tuner count, you don't need a SWiM-16, and if you drop the HR23 for a HR34, even with the additional tuners, you still don't need the -16, since you only have 8 tuners.

If you have DECA and MRV now, there isn't anything you need to swap the 34 for the 23. Deactivate the 23 and replace it with the 34. There should be no change in your bill and everything will work as it does now.



Thanks VOS

I know that my current SWM 16 is overkill. You actually gave some some great advice hooking it up about two years ago. The main reason I went with that one are the legacy ports which I keep one of the H21-200's on so I can keep it non SWM because I use it for tailgating. The other H21-200 as well as the H23-700 currently have DECA's and are currently functioning with whole home as well as all being networked together as far as whole home and being connected to the internet. The H24 is also connected to this setup but has a built in DECA.

With the H34 I would probably just run it out of the SWM 1 port. And then run the other boxes in the house off a 3 or 4 way splitter out of SWM 2 port. I currently have two 4 ways one each out of swm 1 and 2. For the H34 could I hook directly to the swm 1 port on the SWM 16 bypassing using a splitter?

HR23-700 ,H21-200, H24-700, Genie H44-700 AU9-SL3 Dish
SWM-16 , DECA network hooked to internet, WHDVR/MRV

Tailgate Setup: AU9-SL3 on 3' Tripod, H21-200
runs on Legacy port of SWM-16 when not at the game.


#453 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 November 2012 - 01:08 PM

For the H34 could I hook directly to the swm 1 port on the SWM 16 bypassing using a splitter?

You can, but if the coax run isn't that long [for some loss], you might want to keep a splitter inline.
I've got a 34 connected to one leg of my -16, on a fairly short coax, so I have a 2-way splitter "mostly" just to add some loss to the line.
A.K.A VOS

#454 OFFLINE   RobertTX

RobertTX

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 23, 2012

Posted 04 November 2012 - 05:19 PM

Help please with adding another receiver.

Ok let me give you more information about how my current installation is set up.

The line from the satellite dish comes into the house and goes to the "in" on a two way Splitter SWM 2 way (MSPLIT2R1-03).
One "out" on the splitter goes to the master bedroom and hooks to a Connected Home Adapter (DECA1MRO-01) which in turn feeds a coax to the receiver (H21-200) and ethernet cable to the receiver.

The other "out" on the splitter goes to the "power to SWM" on SWM Power inverter.
Then a coax cable goes from the "Signal to IRD" of the SWM Power Inverter to a splitter in the Family Room with one coax going to the receiver (H34-700) and the other coax going to the Deca Broadcast Adapter (DECABB1MRO-01).

Hope that all made sense.

I want to add a receiver in the guest bedroom.

So my question is can I take the coax cable (going to the master bedroom)that comes out of the Splitter SWM 2 way and feed it to a distribution panel which in turn will feed multiple rooms in the house?
Or do I need to get a larger SWM splitter (3 way?) so I can feed the guest bedroom?

Also will I need to get another Connected Home Adapter for the receiver in the guest bedroom?

Please excuse my ignorance I'm new to the DirecTV wiring (switched from cable tv).

#455 OFFLINE   Kev4Bama

Kev4Bama

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2010

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:33 PM

You can, but if the coax run isn't that long [for some loss], you might want to keep a splitter inline.
I've got a 34 connected to one leg of my -16, on a fairly short coax, so I have a 2-way splitter "mostly" just to add some loss to the line.


Probably about 25-30' of CCS RG6.

HR23-700 ,H21-200, H24-700, Genie H44-700 AU9-SL3 Dish
SWM-16 , DECA network hooked to internet, WHDVR/MRV

Tailgate Setup: AU9-SL3 on 3' Tripod, H21-200
runs on Legacy port of SWM-16 when not at the game.


#456 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:53 PM

Help please with adding another receiver.

Ok let me give you more information about how my current installation is set up.

The line from the satellite dish comes into the house and goes to the "in" on a two way Splitter SWM 2 way (MSPLIT2R1-03).
One "out" on the splitter goes to the master bedroom and hooks to a Connected Home Adapter (DECA1MRO-01) which in turn feeds a coax to the receiver (H21-200) and ethernet cable to the receiver.

The other "out" on the splitter goes to the "power to SWM" on SWM Power inverter.
Then a coax cable goes from the "Signal to IRD" of the SWM Power Inverter to a splitter in the Family Room with one coax going to the receiver (H34-700) and the other coax going to the Deca Broadcast Adapter (DECABB1MRO-01).

Hope that all made sense.

I want to add a receiver in the guest bedroom.

So my question is can I take the coax cable (going to the master bedroom)that comes out of the Splitter SWM 2 way and feed it to a distribution panel which in turn will feed multiple rooms in the house?
Or do I need to get a larger SWM splitter (3 way?) so I can feed the guest bedroom?

Also will I need to get another Connected Home Adapter for the receiver in the guest bedroom?

Please excuse my ignorance I'm new to the DirecTV wiring (switched from cable tv).

You can change any one of your 2-ways to a 4-way splitter to get another port for a coax.
You have an HR34 [five tuners] and a H21-200, but is this an HR21-200 [two tuners] or a non DVR H21-200 [one tuner]?
You can only have eight tuners, so it matters as to what new receiver you can connect.
Depending on what model receiver you get, it may or may not also need a DECA [what you're calling a CCK]. The H/HR24 and newer have a DECA internally.
A.K.A VOS

#457 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 November 2012 - 07:54 PM

Probably about 25-30' of CCS RG6.

With it being that short, "a splitter" might be a good idea.
A.K.A VOS

#458 OFFLINE   RobertTX

RobertTX

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 23, 2012

Posted 05 November 2012 - 12:16 AM

I have a non DVR H21-200 (one tuner) in the master bedroom with a DECA.

I'll change the 2-way that the cable from the dish feeds into. That is the easiest place to pick up the coax that feeds the guest bedroom.

I'll put a H24 (or H25?) in the guest bedroom since I can watch any program recorded on the HR34 on any TV and therefore don't need recording capability (or am I missing something here?).

Also where is the best place to put the PI - before or after the splitter (as it is now)?
I have been looking at the connection pictures in the Connected Home Reference Images thread and am confused.
Also they show the BB DECA but they don't show it connected to a router (as mine is)??? Is it a "given" that it must be connected to a router?

VOS - I really appreciate you taking the time and effort to educate me!

#459 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,695 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 November 2012 - 12:34 AM

I have a non DVR H21-200 (one tuner) in the master bedroom with a DECA.

I'll change the 2-way that the cable from the dish feeds into. That is the easiest place to pick up the coax that feeds the guest bedroom.

I'll put a H24 (or H25?) in the guest bedroom since I can watch any program recorded on the HR34 on any TV and therefore don't need recording capability (or am I missing something here?).

Also where is the best place to put the PI - before or after the splitter (as it is now)?
I have been looking at the connection pictures in the Connected Home Reference Images thread and am confused.
Also they show the BB DECA but they don't show it connected to a router (as mine is)??? Is it a "given" that it must be connected to a router?

VOS - I really appreciate you taking the time and effort to educate me!

I like to have my IP before the splitter, but it can be after the splitter too.
BB DECAs do need to be connected to the router, so if the image doesn't show it "was assumed" to be.

The H25 might be a good choice as they're small and fit places the larger don't. It will work just like your H24, so you can watch recordings with it.
A.K.A VOS

#460 OFFLINE   RobertTX

RobertTX

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 23, 2012

Posted 05 November 2012 - 12:45 AM

Thank you again!

Can you explain to me what the BB DECA is really doing? (i.e. it takes a signal from the internet and distributes it to ....)

Any suggestions on where to buy a H24/25? (other than DirecTV)




spam firewall