Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

The official "ask veryoldschool" [or peds48] thread


  • Please log in to reply
803 replies to this topic

#781 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:44 PM

Right on.  I forgot about the "guest network" option.  

Guess we can't start calling you VOS jr yet, :lol:


A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#782 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,133 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 June 2014 - 08:18 PM

Guess we can't start calling you VOS jr yet, :lol:

those are some huge shoes to fill.... :righton:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#783 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,069 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 09:53 PM

I had never heard of the guest network option...



#784 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 June 2014 - 10:06 PM

I had never heard of the guest network option...

Don't think I had either until a couple of years ago.

Without a router having the option, you'd need to setup a different subnet, use a second router, or a managed switch as peds48 posted.

 

I got this just a few weeks ago: http://www.solidsign...00NAS&ss=201944


A.K.A VOS

#785 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,069 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2014 - 06:16 AM

Don't think I had either until a couple of years ago.

Without a router having the option, you'd need to setup a different subnet, use a second router, or a managed switch as peds48 posted.

 

I got this just a few weeks ago: http://www.solidsign...00NAS&ss=201944

 

How would you use a second router to do this? There's only one internet connection (FIOS) and the second router would have to have DHCP disabled, the primary router would be issuing the IP addresses...



#786 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 July 2014 - 08:20 AM

How would you use a second router to do this? There's only one internet connection (FIOS) and the second router would have to have DHCP disabled, the primary router would be issuing the IP addresses...

Actually I think you just daisychain the routers and have each handle DHCP.

The second may need a DNS loaded manually.


A.K.A VOS

#787 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,319 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 07 July 2014 - 03:34 PM

You really don't want to daisy chain routers with both doing DHCP and NAT.  Just asking for trouble.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#788 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 July 2014 - 03:50 PM

You really don't want to daisy chain routers with both doing DHCP and NAT.  Just asking for trouble.

Not that it always won't be, but I played with it last year and didn't run into any problems other than DNS, which I had to manually set on the second router.


A.K.A VOS

#789 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,329 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 02 August 2014 - 05:22 PM

I have three HR24s and one H24 If I am correct I can change my 5lnb that I don't need for a SWM 3lnb and connect it to a 4 way splitter. Connect a power insurter to the splitter then one line to each recever.
If I wanted to add a genie in place of a 24 then I would need a SWM 16? If so would there be more signal loss with the SWM16 than the one splitter setup?

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#790 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,133 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 August 2014 - 05:36 PM

I have three HR24s and one H24 If I am correct I can change my 5lnb that I don't need for a SWM 3lnb and connect it to a 4 way splitter.  Correct 

 

 Connect a power insurter to the splitter then one line to each receiver.   Correct 

 

If I wanted to add a genie in place of a 24 then I would need a SWM 16?  Correct 

 

 If so would there be more signal loss with the SWM16 than the one splitter setup? Unless the cable runs are extremely long, this should not be a concern.

 

 

 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#791 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,329 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 02 August 2014 - 05:54 PM

How long ia extremely long?

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#792 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 02 August 2014 - 06:39 PM

This looks like the right thread.

 

I have a SWiM SL3S4NR2-02 with 1 coax line connected to a SWiM MSPLIT2R1-03 with 1 line connected to a PI21R-03 power inserter and 1 line out from the PI to a HR24.

 

To connect an HR44 would I just connect an RG6 cable to the unused port on the splitter directly to the HR44? 

 

I'm guessing at that point I would have used 7 of the possible 8 tuners available in such a setup? I plan to eliminate the HR24 very soon but I wanted to be sure I was installing the HR44 correctly.

 

Thanks


Edited by keenan, 02 August 2014 - 06:39 PM.


#793 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,133 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 August 2014 - 07:51 PM

How long ia extremely long?

150+ ft 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#794 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,133 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 August 2014 - 07:52 PM

This looks like the right thread.

 

I have a SWiM SL3S4NR2-02 with 1 coax line connected to a SWiM MSPLIT2R1-03 with 1 line connected to a PI21R-03 power inserter and 1 line out from the PI to a HR24.

 

To connect an HR44 would I just connect an RG6 cable to the unused port on the splitter directly to the HR44? 

 

I'm guessing at that point I would have used 7 of the possible 8 tuners available in such a setup? I plan to eliminate the HR24 very soon but I wanted to be sure I was installing the HR44 correctly.

 

Thanks

Correct on all counts 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#795 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 02 August 2014 - 08:21 PM

Correct on all counts 

Great, thank you! 



#796 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,329 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 17 August 2014 - 02:52 PM

Is there a max length of cable from the dish to a SWM 16 ?


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#797 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 August 2014 - 07:06 PM

Is there a max length of cable from the dish to a SWM 16 ?

You want to keep it within 50' without adding an amp like a Sonora LA144R-T


A.K.A VOS

#798 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,329 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:46 AM

Thanks I am at 60 feet.


DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#799 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,696 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 August 2014 - 02:22 PM

Thanks I am at 60 feet.

"Close enough"


A.K.A VOS

#800 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 512 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 18 August 2014 - 04:06 PM

This distance from the splitter would not affect menu navigation speed would it? I moved my HR24 about 50+ away from the splitter and after giving it a few days it seems much slower than I remembered. Granted, I'm getting very used to how crazy fast the HR44 is, but it still seems as it the HR24 has lost quite a bit of speed.






spam firewall