Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Record from beginning of program?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 15 January 2012 - 10:35 PM

What happened to the ability to rewind to any particular part, hit Record, then fast forward to live TV, and everything from the part where you rewound and hit Record to had been saved to the DVR?

I was twenty minutes into an episode of Chopped when I decided I wanted to record it for my wife. So I rewound to the beginning of the episode, hit Record, the fast forward back to live TV. When I went into the DVR to see if it had worked... nope, only a minute recorded, the minute it took me to get into the DVR list.

This used to work back in the days of my 622 and probably other Dish DVRs I have had. Why doesn't this work anymore?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,457 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 16 January 2012 - 09:24 AM

It works for me on my 722k. I'll hit Record and an options box appears that lets me record from the beginning (unless you've switched channels). The buffer restarts when a channel is changed.

#3 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 16 January 2012 - 09:34 AM

How odd, all I get is a "Record Remainder of Event" box by default. Is it in the options somewhere?

#4 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,276 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 16 January 2012 - 09:52 AM

How odd, all I get is a "Record Remainder of Event" box by default. Is it in the options somewhere?


I think if the beginning of the program is in the buffer, you get the option to record the entire event ... if you tune to the channel after the program has started, recording the entire event will not be one of the options.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#5 OFFLINE   Presence

Presence

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 361 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2004

Posted 16 January 2012 - 10:00 AM

The beginning of the program was in the buffer.

#6 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,276 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:28 PM

The beginning of the program was in the buffer.

Then, it seems to me that you have a legitimate issue for the Dish Support group.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...