Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

It's Official! I've stumped the TurboTax tech support people--program won't open


  • Please log in to reply
256 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 863 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:29 PM

Did you look in Event Viewer? I forget if it shows application issues

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   kocuba

kocuba

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 596 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:31 PM

Have you checked the Event Viewer for any messages?

Control Panel | Administrator Tools | Event Viewer

Maybe something under Applications/

Also could run Process Monitor

http://www.techspot....ss-monitor.html

Run that and then try starting TurboTax. Then Filter by the turbotax executable and while it might not help you it could help their tech support.

Just my .02
Dave

HR20-700 connected to Zenith Z50PV220 50" Plasma, Networked, Native Off, OTA
HR20-700 Connected to Hitachi P42H401 42" Plasma, Networked, Native Off, OTA

#28 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:46 PM

There should be no need to run this program under XP Mode, besides that requires installing the XP Mode and setting it up and Windows 7 Pro or better.

I would try first to right click on the shortcut and choose Propertites then click on the compatibility Tab. Put a check mark in the box for Run in Compatibility mode. It will default to Windows XP with Service pack 3.

The next step is to try to right click on the shortcut and try to run as Administrator.

If neither of these steps work, not to sure, but will look around.

Michael.


Here's what the compatibility check shows (see attached file).

BTW, there is no option for me to run the program as an admin via the method you suggested.

Attached Files


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#29 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,224 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:47 PM

I'll tell ya what. I'll make a deal to the first person here who can correctly solve my problem


I have used the online version of Premier for a few years now. But as I remember, when you purchase it for download, can't you request a hard cd with that price?

#30 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,540 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:58 PM

I have used the online version of Premier for a few years now.


Me too, haven't bought the disc in several years - and TT is free for BofA customers to boot.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#31 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,127 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 17 January 2012 - 07:06 PM

I know you said you did all of the dotnet stuff, but I like to double-check.
http://connect.micro...-5-is-installed

#32 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 07:24 PM

This is the first I've heard of .NET 4.5. I've downloaded it and will run it to see if that makes a difference.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#33 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:13 PM

What anti-virus software are you running? Perhaps try to disable your av software and attempt to start it?

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#34 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:17 PM

I know you said you did all of the dotnet stuff, but I like to double-check.
http://connect.micro...-5-is-installed


I was really hoping that downloading and installing 4.5 would work, but sadly, it did not. Problem still exists.

What anti-virus software are you running? Perhaps try to disable your av software and attempt to start it?


I've gone farther than that--I totally uninstalled my AV program, then rebooted my PC, and re-installed TurboTax. Same problem. Just can't get it to open.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#35 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:42 PM

With regard to the .NET fixes, have you tried completely removing all aspects of .NET and then using Windows Update to reinstall .NET? I have found that sometimes does the trick with regard to issues that are caused by .NET.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#36 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:48 PM

Yup. Did that a while back.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#37 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:02 PM

Request a refund and use the online version? I moved to that 3 years ago and it's worked phenomenally. Imported my old TT files, too.

"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#38 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,553 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:03 PM

I would un-install the program, then reboot. Log in and create a new user with admin priveledges. Log in as the new user and install the program. Could be an issue with the user profile that you are installing with.

#39 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,224 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:13 PM

Why I was asking about getting the hard disc cd is that they may have a problem with the download at the remote site.
Has anyone here downloaded it and had success? Or is everyone using the online version or a cd version?

#40 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 09:46 PM

I would un-install the program, then reboot. Log in and create a new user with admin priveledges. Log in as the new user and install the program. Could be an issue with the user profile that you are installing with.


Tried that, too, but it didn't work. There are very few options I haven't tried.

TurboTax is telling me it's a Microsoft issue. Microsoft tells me it's a Dell issue. Dell tells me they want to charge me $129 to try and resolve the issue. Because the PC is 7 months old, it's beyond their free 60-day software repair time frame.

Why I was asking about getting the hard disc cd is that they may have a problem with the download at the remote site.
Has anyone here downloaded it and had success? Or is everyone using the online version or a cd version?


I first installed the CD version of Deluxe--grabbed it on sale at Amazon a while back. When that didn't work, TurboTax support gave me a free, up-to-date version of Premier to download and install. I tried that, but it didn't work either.

I may have to do the online version. Never went that route before, but it looks like I'm left with little else to do.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#41 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,224 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:02 PM

I may have to do the online version. Never went that route before, but it looks like I'm left with little else to do.


Wow, that is really a unique issue. Unless the cd set up the corruption and the download can't get past it.
Make sure they refund you the cd cost before you do the online version. You don't pay upfront, but once you go through the effort, you pay at the end before sending it. That is not the time to find out they will not reimburse you.

#42 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:07 PM

No, the CD didn't cause anything, because I first tried to install via download. I couldn't even install it because of a "bootstrapper error" issue. (The so-called fix was the .NET framework resolution, which didn't work anyway.) After that didn't work, I bought the CD and was able to install it, but that wouldn't launch, just like the Premier version via download won't launch.

At least I'm not alone in not being able to launch the program. Their Community Forum shows several others with the same issue and the inability to fix it. TurboTax has GOT to do something.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#43 ONLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,224 posts
  • LocationFort Pierce, FL
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:39 PM

At least I'm not alone in not being able to launch the program. Their Community Forum shows several others with the same issue and the inability to fix it. TurboTax has GOT to do something.


A couple years ago I ran into a lessor online trouble with them as well. I forget the details, but it involved importing wash sales data from online stock sales.
Every time I tried to use the tech support, they acted like it was a new issue. Once I got one of those community forums, I found out it was a huge issue they new damn well about and were giving everyone the run around. I think in the end when it never got fixed that year, it was an outside vendor that was to be blamed. But the community comes to realize it was the outsourcing of the tech support and their mushroom in a closet status that frustrated the whole situation.

I bet there has been not a single person you have spoken to with anything close to an English accent.

#44 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 10:55 PM

Actually, when I called today and got somebody in India, I firmly but politely demanded to speak to a U.S. based tech support representative. I got Eve from Syracuse, New York. After some time on the phone, and her consulting others in her department, she was the one who told me to go to Microsoft.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#45 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 17 January 2012 - 11:19 PM

Any reason you want to use the disc over the online version? I transitioned to the online version several years ago and haven't looked back.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#46 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,441 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 18 January 2012 - 12:12 AM

The reasons might all be irrelevant now, seeing that I'm unable to get the program to launch.

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#47 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 6,046 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 18 January 2012 - 05:16 AM

Look into Data Execution Prevention. Some reading material:

http://windows.micro...ention-settings

http://www.itechtalk...thread3591.html

http://www.sevenforu...ep-enabled.html

http://www.updatexp....exceptions.html

http://social.techne...0f-9c5224e1f403
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#48 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:17 AM

Well, this is not something of which I'm proud, but it's true. After several hours on the phone with tech support last Friday and again today--we're talking 4 hours then and another 2 hours today, they admit that there is nothing more they can do to get my TurboTax 2011 program to open.

It's installed properly, but I just can't open it. At all. The title page just flashes very quickly and disappears. Yes, we did all the .NET framework related fixes. Yes, my Windows 7 is completely up to date. (Those were the two most common "fixes" related to this problem.) However, after that and numerous other attempts, the TurboTax people admitted to me today that they can't figure out the problem and that I should call Microsoft, because the TurboTax folks believe it's a Microsoft issue.

Like the dolts at Microsoft are going to be able to figure this out.

I've used TurboTax since they began many moons ago. This may be the first of several years I won't be able to use them if I can't figure out why the f--- the program just. Won't. Open.

Ugh!!! :bang


some things to try

1. Monitiors

A. are you running multiple monitors - try removing one
B. what resolution are you running the monitors at, try dropping it down to lower resolutions

2. Installation directory

This has worked on numerous applications for me, make a directory outside or \Program Files, I called my APP, then install TT into that directory.

Someone has also mentioned in another forum that their install worked fine until they did the first set of updates to the application

#49 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:22 AM

Two ideas you might not have tried?

1.Windows 7 has a "XP compatibility mode you could try running it in. Right click the desktop icon and try some of the different operating systems/screen resolutions.

2. How about editing the start icon to tell it to run in administrative mode?

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#50 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,982 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:29 AM

Is it possible that your using a 32 bit program on a 64 bit operating system?

Your online option may be the way to go.

Do you have the option to load the program on a "older" PC ?
"Let's Have Some Fun!"
SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK




Protected By... spam firewall...And...