Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can't deactiviate Standard receiver due to Nomad


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   xtremeflyer

xtremeflyer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2010

Posted 17 January 2012 - 05:44 PM

Yup.. Weird enough and no one at DirecTV Case Management can figure it out.

3 weeks ago I received the HR34, activated it, and then deactivated the D12 that I own. When they went to deactivate it, they got an error that said that they couldn't deactivate it because it conflicts with the activated Nomad. So it went to Case Management and he said he has never seen that error and it doesn't make sense, a standard receiver and the Nomad have nothing to do with each other.

Cut to 3 weeks later, the guy from Case Management continues to call me every 3 days (which I think is GREAT customer service) and tells me their Support Team is working it, but can't figure it out. In the mean time, the Standard receiver still shows up on my account, but he says don't worry, once it's resolved I'll get credited back the $6 receiver fee.

Anyway, just another quirk with the Nomad.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,006 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 January 2012 - 06:01 PM

Is perhaps the D12 the primary receiver on your account? That might be related to the issue. They have to basically transfer everything to another receiver before deactivating the D12, and maybe NOMAD is not transferring properly.

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:50 PM

Is perhaps the D12 the primary receiver on your account? That might be related to the issue. They have to basically transfer everything to another receiver before deactivating the D12, and maybe NOMAD is not transferring properly.


That was actually my first thought as well when I started reading the OP's post.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...