Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Youtube not working!


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:13 AM

Hello, ever since the HDGUI update one of my HR24-500's is not getting the youtube option on the search function. Neither am I getting the suggestions of what I might like to watch. I've tried all the usual stuff like resetting the DVR and unplugging the sat cable (nothing). Weird one of my HR24-500's gets it and the other doesn't. Before the HDGUI I got it on both DVR's.

Any other ideas?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,360 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:22 AM

Check the settings on your receiver to see if it allows Web Videos.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#3 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:33 AM

Check the settings on your receiver to see if it allows Web Videos.


Where would I find that? I don't ever remember seeing that setting, unless it's in parental controls which I have never changed or messed with.

#4 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,360 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:37 AM

Select Menu, scroll down to Settings & Help, select Parental Controls. You will see Web Videos on it's menu.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#5 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:34 PM

Select Menu, scroll down to Settings & Help, select Parental Controls. You will see Web Videos on it's menu.


I don't have that option listed...

Both of my HR24-500 DVR's have the 0x57b software.

All I have under parental controls are:
Lock Now
Rating Limits
Adult Channels
Channel Blocks
Spending Limits
Viewing Hours
Done

So the parental control is not showing Web Videos
also, with nothing showing for My Directv when you first hit menu.

I know it is connected to the internet b/c I ran all the tests and everything passed, also I'm able to download all On Demand stuff.

My other HR24-500 shows:
Lock Now
Ratings Limits
Adult Channels
Channel Blocks
Web Videos
Spending Limits
Viewing Hours
Done

and is showing My Directv being filled with suggestions.

Edited by MONSTERMAN, 21 January 2012 - 07:03 PM.
I actually do have Rating Limits


#6 OFFLINE   Justin23

Justin23

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,210 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 January 2012 - 06:00 PM

Have you tried refreshing the receiver via the D* website?

#7 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,360 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 21 January 2012 - 06:34 PM

Do a double restart within thirty minutes to clear the guide cache.

DirecTV customer since 1995.


#8 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

Have you tried refreshing the receiver via the D* website?


Yes, I've tried re-authorizing the receiver several times to no effect via Directv.com

#9 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 702 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 21 January 2012 - 08:33 PM

How long have you been connected to the internet? Have you done a red button reset?

PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)
2 D* HR24-100s and AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB, PI-21 module, and Wireless DECA Cinema Connection Kit (CCK-W)
Linksys WRT310N


#10 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 23 January 2012 - 02:38 AM

How long have you been connected to the internet? Have you done a red button reset?


Since it first was offered. Prefer menu reset, only ever used RBR when DVR freezes and doesn't respond to remote.

#11 OFFLINE   SDizzle

SDizzle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,509 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 23 January 2012 - 09:48 AM

When you say there is no Youtube option using search, with the HDGUI Youtube has been moved out of the regular search screen, when pressing Menu - Extras, do you see a "youtube" icon?
HR34-700 (1), HR23-700 (1), HR22-100 (1), HR20-700 (1), HR21-700 (1), HR21-100 (1)
Running a SWM16 with DECA
Retired: HR20-700 (1), HR10-250 (1), R10 (1), DTivo DSR-704 (1), D-10 (4), D-11 (4), R15-500 (4)

#12 OFFLINE   ashburn

ashburn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2012

Posted 23 January 2012 - 07:05 PM

I am following this thread carefully. I also do not have Youtube available. I've done all the checks above all to no effect.

Edited by ashburn, 23 January 2012 - 07:05 PM.
Spelling


#13 OFFLINE   gregftlaud

gregftlaud

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,093 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 23 January 2012 - 07:25 PM

I get youtube option in my searches just fine..... but i dont see a you tube icon in the "extras" section.

#14 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 702 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 23 January 2012 - 08:24 PM

When you say there is no Youtube option using search, with the HDGUI Youtube has been moved out of the regular search screen, when pressing Menu - Extras, do you see a "youtube" icon?


I think you have a great idea for a future enhancement, but in HDUI 0x57b, YouTube is in SMART Search.

PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)
2 D* HR24-100s and AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB, PI-21 module, and Wireless DECA Cinema Connection Kit (CCK-W)
Linksys WRT310N


#15 OFFLINE   MONSTERMAN

MONSTERMAN

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 24 January 2012 - 03:17 AM

When you say there is no Youtube option using search, with the HDGUI Youtube has been moved out of the regular search screen, when pressing Menu - Extras, do you see a "youtube" icon?


Weird, with my 0x57b update on the HR24-500 that gets youtube, I still only have ever had it in the smart search section. Never in the Extras section. Extras for me only show: Messages, Active, Game Lounge, Caller ID and Showroom.

I think this whole thing is somehow related to how "Web Videos" isn't showing up in my Parental Controls list of options. Directv can't figure this out either, they keep telling me the Youtube App didn't get downloaded with 0x57b.

I wish Apps like Youtube, Pandora and eBay existed in the Apps feature. Nothing in there now is really useful or functional.

ASHBURN: Are you getting "Web Videos" under the Parental Controls section of the menu?

#16 OFFLINE   ashburn

ashburn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2012

Posted 24 January 2012 - 07:25 PM

No, it's neither in Extras nor in the Parental Controls. It doesn't come up in smart search either.

I give up!

#17 OFFLINE   TAK3210

TAK3210

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 24 January 2012 - 07:34 PM

No, it's neither in Extras nor in the Parental Controls. It doesn't come up in smart search either.

I give up!


It doesn't show up at the bottom of the Smart Search results list for you? If you enter "AAAA", for example, you should end up with only two items in the results: 1) "AAAA" Keyword and 2) "AAAA" YouTube

That's what I see anyway.
HR24/100
HR23/700
H25/500

#18 OFFLINE   dddemos

dddemos

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2011

Posted 25 January 2012 - 11:21 AM

HR22-100...Had the same problem.(no youtube). Pressed reset button...Now I have youtube again.

#19 OFFLINE   ashburn

ashburn

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2012

Posted 25 January 2012 - 07:04 PM

It's not there in the smart search. All I see is keyword. I tried (reluctantly) a red button reset and nothing changed.

#20 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 702 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:01 PM

It's not there in the smart search. All I see is keyword. I tried (reluctantly) a red button reset and nothing changed.


YouTube should show-up in Smart Search in the next day or so if your network is working. Are the D* Apps working?

PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)
2 D* HR24-100s and AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB, PI-21 module, and Wireless DECA Cinema Connection Kit (CCK-W)
Linksys WRT310N





spam firewall