Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dish Remote Access (BROKEN) Has Become Utterly Useless


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jikhead

jikhead

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2010

Posted 23 January 2012 - 01:03 AM

I think most would agree, that there was some sort of problem that occurred back in October after a recent update. Nearly every comment I see posted on the Android Market is everyone complaining about the app. Those last few months in 2011 for me personally, were intermittent: I would get constant good connection over my home WiFi; but it was a complete hit-or-miss mess while on a mobile network (which didn't used to be that way prior that October update). Then and including now into 2012, it has become extremely difficult to get the app working away from home. I see that there was a receiver update on my 922 to 116 in the past couple of days; and I'm also now seeing that the app is no longer working over WiFi. I use a 300Mbps Wireless N gaming router, so this shouldn't (and never has in the past) been an issue.

It would seem to me that the app itself is in need of a major update to fix, and it appears that Dish Tiered support is completely unaware of the issue; as I simply got a canned response from them about what we all know needs to be checked upon first evaluation. I've asked them to forward my issue/complaint to their development team that works on the app.

What is everyone else experiencing right now with the app?

Here is one example of a problem I'm getting at home over WiFi. It's only making an audio connection; and that audio is from the previous/last channel that was streamed. It then stay's stuck on loading/streaming and then the screen times out.


The list of problems while on a mobile network is endless and too long to list.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 24 January 2012 - 01:00 AM

Personaly i have not had a lot of time with my Galaxy 10.1 tab,but i did run it tonight and was able to watch a show and the qualit looked good. One thing i didnotice was the guide does not seem to display in landscape mode. Know that is not a lot but wanted to let you know that at least it is not completely DOA.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#3 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 24 January 2012 - 07:41 AM

I give up on it a couple months ago. If someone here says it works again, I'll waste time trying it again. Sorry Dish. I am an early adapter, and was one of your first customers. This app is worse than anything you have tried in the past. I have faith it will work some day, but they are seriously dropping the ball. My theory would be that they have a different app in mind. The question is will it require new hardware too. That would not surprise me.
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#4 OFFLINE   kcolg30

kcolg30

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: May 11, 2010

Posted 24 January 2012 - 08:09 PM

Complete garbage...At least I got my 922 for free....

#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,586 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 24 January 2012 - 11:21 PM

I haven't actually tried today... or in the last couple of days...

but it does work. I know I used the Dish Remote access app on my iPad a few days ago and it worked just fine.

The problem, though, is that sometimes the receiver appears to be online but really isn't (a firmware issue I suspect)... and other times, the Web site is admittedly screwy too... and sometimes both are a problem!

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#6 OFFLINE   sulu600

sulu600

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2003

Posted 27 January 2012 - 11:25 PM

Just tried it on my HTC Amaze 4G, works fine on my home WiFi and on the T-Mobile 4G network (3.5G HSPSA+) around Ft Knox.

Steve

#7 OFFLINE   mcss1985

mcss1985

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 126 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2007

Posted 02 March 2012 - 07:59 PM

Been away from the site for a while, so just catching up, but had to reply to this one.

I've had issues with "slinging" from the 922 for 2 years now. Probably the worst part about these issues are the inconsistency in which they occur. I've always felt that the website was very cumbersome and never lived up to what I think it should be. That said, it usually works with a little coercing.

The Android app on the other hand it almost completely useless and has been since it came out. I say almost, because it will work on occasion. The problem is this only makes people think that it does work and doesn't indicate that there is a huge problem with the app.

First of all, almost every time I open it, it says my receiver is not connected, which is clearly is. I then close the app and reopen it and about half the time this fixes the problem and it now sees my receiver. The other half the time I have to repeat the process until it finally works or I get fed up and uninstall the app. I then reinstall it and it works (see my receiver) almost every time. This continues for a little while then it starts acting up again and the whole cycle starts over.

Now even when it sees my receiver, all problems are not fixed. I am always missing channels in the guide. I can sometimes close and reopen the app and this brings some of the channels back. Sometimes they never come back. Also many channels are greyed out and I cannot select them to record or watch them.

There have been many occasions when I am out and I remember a show is coming on that I forgot to setup a timer for and I first think "oh no problem, I have the Dish app", but then I try and try to record it with the app to no avail and I end up missing the show.

I have (tried to) use this app with 3 different Android phones all with different operating systems. I keep holding out hope that it will improve, but it only seems like it gets worse and worse.

I hope that a DIRT member will see this and pass on the frustration us Android users are having to whomever it may concern. I would also ask that anyone who tries this app to test if it works, tries it out for an extended period in real world situations. At first glance it appears the app works, but it is actually completely unusable.

#8 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 03 March 2012 - 03:47 PM

Honestly I haven't had any issues Slinging from my 922 since I received it.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#9 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 895 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 03 March 2012 - 04:54 PM

In the early days of the 922 release the Sling was a mess, I have to admit the last 6 months has been reliable for me. I watch on the computer over my network and it works with regularity.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#10 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 04 March 2012 - 07:03 AM

Yes ive had a good solid 3 months plus....its about time they got it straightend out!!!!!

Now if they could just stop playing stupid when there are problems with anything dish and just admit it up front!!!

#11 OFFLINE   wildnphx

wildnphx

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2012

Posted 28 March 2012 - 03:38 PM

Perhaps I should try it again as I gave up on it working a while ago as well...

#12 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 28 March 2012 - 04:54 PM

Perhaps I should try it again as I gave up on it working a while ago as well...


Yea PM a Dirt member they were helpfull, and calling alot to broadband suppot had to be done....I have never even seen my setup back home, but it now works 99% of the time! I am much happy'er!!!!!(its about time)

#13 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 30 March 2012 - 01:44 PM

I'm not sure if you have tried slinging to your receiver since you posted this message. I had a 722 with a Sling Adapter, initially. At first it worked great but then problems developed. It worked off and on.

I upgraded to a 922 and continued to have problems. After the lastest software upgrade was released (S1.16), the issues involved with slinging all but disappeared for me.

Since upgrading to the Hopper, I have no issues slinging with the Sling Adapter. I can use my laptop, computers, and Android phone and consistently connect and stay connected for hours either on my home network or Internet/ 3/4G networks.

If you are still having problems, please PM me. Thanks.

Been away from the site for a while, so just catching up, but had to reply to this one.

I've had issues with "slinging" from the 922 for 2 years now. Probably the worst part about these issues are the inconsistency in which they occur. I've always felt that the website was very cumbersome and never lived up to what I think it should be. That said, it usually works with a little coercing.

The Android app on the other hand it almost completely useless and has been since it came out. I say almost, because it will work on occasion. The problem is this only makes people think that it does work and doesn't indicate that there is a huge problem with the app.

First of all, almost every time I open it, it says my receiver is not connected, which is clearly is. I then close the app and reopen it and about half the time this fixes the problem and it now sees my receiver. The other half the time I have to repeat the process until it finally works or I get fed up and uninstall the app. I then reinstall it and it works (see my receiver) almost every time. This continues for a little while then it starts acting up again and the whole cycle starts over.

Now even when it sees my receiver, all problems are not fixed. I am always missing channels in the guide. I can sometimes close and reopen the app and this brings some of the channels back. Sometimes they never come back. Also many channels are greyed out and I cannot select them to record or watch them.

There have been many occasions when I am out and I remember a show is coming on that I forgot to setup a timer for and I first think "oh no problem, I have the Dish app", but then I try and try to record it with the app to no avail and I end up missing the show.

I have (tried to) use this app with 3 different Android phones all with different operating systems. I keep holding out hope that it will improve, but it only seems like it gets worse and worse.

I hope that a DIRT member will see this and pass on the frustration us Android users are having to whomever it may concern. I would also ask that anyone who tries this app to test if it works, tries it out for an extended period in real world situations. At first glance it appears the app works, but it is actually completely unusable.



#14 OFFLINE   jikhead

jikhead

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2010

Posted 31 March 2012 - 04:22 PM

Another thing that irritates me is that the Sling feature is strictly isolated to use TV2 input. So if you are recording something (which TV2 is always defaulting to recording 1st and foremost) and try to remotely connect, you are forced to either watch what is being recorded or to stop the recording (if you want to watch a different channel). It should be able to switch independently of the TV inputs that is free and available.

#15 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 03 April 2012 - 08:37 AM

You can change the default recording tuner to TV 1 if needed (Record Plus). I guess it would be a matter of which is used more - TV 1 viewing or slinging using TV 2 tuner. Thanks.

Another thing that irritates me is that the Sling feature is strictly isolated to use TV2 input. So if you are recording something (which TV2 is always defaulting to recording 1st and foremost) and try to remotely connect, you are forced to either watch what is being recorded or to stop the recording (if you want to watch a different channel). It should be able to switch independently of the TV inputs that is free and available.



#16 OFFLINE   sporttster

sporttster

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2012

Posted 09 May 2012 - 12:44 AM

So....I'm a relatively new user of Dish. Been on less than a month. Got a Hopper and the Sling adapter. The Sling adapter is one POS. Either that or I need a new reciever. The thing works 'maybe' half the time. The other half, it shows 'weak or no video signal' which is total BS because I have cable internet and don't have any problems with it and my RAZR android phone works great and has plenty of signal strength. I'm getting frickin tired of having to pull the plug on the unit, wait and reset to get this stupid thing working again! EVERY time this happens, I gotta go home and do this. It's total BS! We're going on vacation here in a month...am I going to have to have someone come reset this fking thing everytime it goes down so we can use it?? I'm tired of it! Either it works or it doesn't. Why put out a half-assed unit that don't work right?? I'm ticked....:mad:

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,842 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 09 May 2012 - 09:26 AM

So....I'm a relatively new user of Dish. Been on less than a month. Got a Hopper and the Sling adapter. The Sling adapter is one POS. Either that or I need a new reciever. The thing works 'maybe' half the time. The other half, it shows 'weak or no video signal' which is total BS because I have cable internet and don't have any problems with it and my RAZR android phone works great and has plenty of signal strength. I'm getting frickin tired of having to pull the plug on the unit, wait and reset to get this stupid thing working again! EVERY time this happens, I gotta go home and do this. It's total BS! We're going on vacation here in a month...am I going to have to have someone come reset this fking thing everytime it goes down so we can use it?? I'm tired of it! Either it works or it doesn't. Why put out a half-assed unit that don't work right?? I'm ticked....:mad:


You can join to dedicated thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=204779 and add your vision of the ongoing strategy. The 922 and 813 share codebase.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...