Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Nomad


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jimlenz

jimlenz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2012 - 06:31 AM

I purchased a nomad from directv and then decided to sell it on ebay. I took it off my account and the person that purchased it contacted directv and they would not add it to their account, saying they needed to purchase directly from directv.

I was told by directv that once I took it off my account, that someone could register it.

Anyone have any experience with this? Ideas on what to do?

Thanks

Jim

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,319 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 28 January 2012 - 06:38 AM

Thats crazy. Its an owned piece of equipment to begin with. Its not like they have to replace it if it dies. I would say they need to try again. Have them call the access card department directly. I know this isnt a reciever and there is no access card but they should be able to do it without the hassle. Their direct number is 877-887-7994.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#3 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,814 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 28 January 2012 - 08:26 AM

Ask to be transferred to the Access Card Dept. They usually have better info vs. front line CSR's. Let us know what they say.

#4 OFFLINE   jimlenz

jimlenz

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 28 January 2012 - 08:10 PM

I will try this and report back. Thanks

#5 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 January 2012 - 08:25 PM

I purchased a nomad from Directv and then decided to sell it on ebay.


Why did you decide to Sell It after you Bought it??? :confused:
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#6 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 28 January 2012 - 09:57 PM

Why did you decide to Sell It after you Bought it??? :confused:


I can think of a bunch of reasons why you'd want to sell it, one being the video quality when not viewed on a retina display.

#7 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 January 2012 - 10:13 PM

It is definitely possible to transfer ownership of a nomad, but it is hard.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   jimlenz

jimlenz

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:51 AM

Why did you decide to Sell It after you Bought it??? :confused:


The main reason is that I got a slinbox hooked up to a dedicated receiver and decided I didn't need the nomad. I know I can't bring video with me on flights and where I can't get wifi/3g but i will live with that. Also, the video on my ipad2 is not the greatest. Wish they had an ipad version, that may have helped.

Jim

#9 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 29 January 2012 - 08:08 AM

The main reason is that I got a slinbox hooked up to a dedicated receiver and decided I didn't need the nomad. I know I can't bring video with me on flights and where I can't get wifi/3g but i will live with that. Also, the video on my ipad2 is not the greatest. Wish they had an ipad version, that may have helped.

Jim


I would assume that an iPad version for Nomad is in the works.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#10 OFFLINE   dtv757

dtv757

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 757 posts
  • Location757
Joined: Jun 03, 2006

Posted 29 January 2012 - 08:10 AM

does NOmad cost $ monthly?

i saw when i signed into my directv it said Free
but i wonder is that the equipment? i also saw $150 when im not signed it?

also are there any updates on when this will be available for android?

thanks.

DIRECTV customer since SEPT 2000 (1) Genie (2) Genie Mini's (1) HR22-100 (1) HR23-700 all networked, total 10 live tunners!!-------------
SAYING NO TO CABLE .. PRICELESS
There’s good TV there’s better TV and than there’s DIRECTV (the undisputed sports & HD leader in TV)
NOTE: my comments are my own personal options and in no way shape or form represent my employer


#11 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 29 January 2012 - 08:22 AM

does NOmad cost $ monthly?

i saw when i signed into my directv it said Free
but i wonder is that the equipment? i also saw $150 when im not signed it?

also are there any updates on when this will be available for android?

thanks.


It does not cost monthly. If you can get the equipment free, you are fortunate. The equipment is normally $150.
DogLover

My Setup

#12 OFFLINE   jimlenz

jimlenz

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2012 - 06:56 AM

Thought I would share with you the latest on this saga. Here is from the buyer.

"I'm sorry to tell you that we did try again this evening to have Directv get the Nomad registered without success. We first tried the number you provided for the receiver department, and then they had us call the CSR department again. The tech could not help, then he transferred us to a supervisor named Matt. Matt said he doesn't know why anyone ever would have told you that the Nomad could be transferred, because that's just not an option. Needless to say, we'd like to return the device for a refund. We are sorry this didn't work out. We did order a Nomad from Directv, and they did say that you could return your's for a full refund as long as it was purchased within the last year. "

It is interesting that I see used Nomad's sold on ebay a lot. Guess I will try to return the nomad and get my money back. Can't imagine why directv would do that but you never know.

Jim

#13 OFFLINE   jimlenz

jimlenz

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2007

Posted 30 January 2012 - 07:35 AM

One more tag on to this. I called directv and of course, they told me the item could be transferred and that there was only a 30 day return policy. Just as I expected.

Amazing that you get so many different people with so many different answers.

Jim

#14 OFFLINE   mikela

mikela

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 30 January 2012 - 01:06 PM

I would buy the nomad but for two reasons.
1. No HD conversion
2. Cannot rip to a network location then transfer the file.
Is that too much to ask?

#15 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 January 2012 - 01:39 PM

I would buy the nomad but for two reasons.
1. No HD conversion
2. Cannot rip to a network location then transfer the file.
Is that too much to ask?


I would have to say that the 480P Resolution looks to me and others I know like 720P and I can't believe that it is 480P but it is the Best Looking 480P I have ever seen.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#16 OFFLINE   JAYPB

JAYPB

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: May 08, 2002

Posted 06 June 2012 - 06:15 AM

Just came across this thread. I purchased a used Nomad from someone on Ebay. Tried to set it up and have hit the "we could not activate your directv nomad" message on 2 iphones.

I contacted the seller to ask if he has "deactivated" the nomad from his account....is this even an option on the "your account" area on the directv website? I wanted to make sure that he still didn't have it "activated" before I called DirecTV to figure out what's going on.

Any info would be appreciated as I'm interested in limiting the CSR roulette routine I'm anticipating going through......:eek2:
D* sub
1 HR20/3 HR21's/1 HR22/1 AM21/3 R15's /5LNB/3LNB/single LNB dishes...and a large utility bill!!!




spam firewall