Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

viglink


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 February 2012 - 07:06 PM

Yesterday I had one link open to an error code similar to what P Smith posted. But when I attempted the link again it worked. It seems to be an issue on viglink's servers ... perhaps overloading?

Try the "broken" links again. They likely work, and did soon after their initial fail.


Did try - same sh!t; you can test it here too: http://www.dbstalk.c...058#post2959058

Got <Error><Code>AccessDenied</Code><Message>Access Denied</Message><RequestId>F499FC29A95E4798</RequestId><HostId>2oShFCB7iCakd7UYqF3URXfmofh7zU9njj5UqmVcsVRiJnGKhVpBXI3BDsBcmAZ/</HostId></Error>



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,376 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:13 PM

Your browser may be florkerated. Try another one, and/or clean caches and cookies on the one you use.

The link you just posted works fine here.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#28 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:33 PM

I'll say last time for listening ppl - I did OPT OUT and I'm still get interception by the f%^$#^% site.
It should be a bug or something in local underlining of vB.

Edited by P Smith, 11 February 2012 - 11:28 PM.
tell yeah !


#29 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,376 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:23 PM

You're that certain there's not something wrong with your browser??
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#30 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,982 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:29 PM

The link you just posted works fine here.

Agreed. The link in the post P Smith linked is working fine for me as well.

#31 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 February 2012 - 01:24 PM

Well, if not want to read - I did opt out not to use the feature, but it's still intercept URLs and doesn't work for my FF.

#32 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,465 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:27 PM

I just found this thread, and viglink seems to have completely failed. When i click on a link I get this:

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
<Error><Code>AccessDenied</Code><Message>Access Denied</Message><RequestId>A4975C3342D75D61</RequestId><HostId>Bh97gFcWNkVnP+6X3WWodvNFS5hgg8LA3ZbMzamQh3qmzlIz6ZKqO8dRVcui7nQJ</HostId></Error>


Unfortunately teh displayed link is abbreviated so I can even use that
My Setup

#33 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,376 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 February 2012 - 01:20 AM

What browser are you using? Did you try another one?
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#34 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 February 2012 - 10:35 AM

So, the question to ppl who support the vB - why OPT OUT doesn't work ?

#35 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,597 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 15 February 2012 - 04:29 PM

I too opted out, yet this vigilink thing is totally forked up.
Tried with FF and Chrome. They report that the server can't be found.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#36 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,964 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 February 2012 - 03:35 AM

So, the question to ppl who support the vB - why OPT OUT doesn't work ?


We're talking about 2 different functions.

The one we can choose to opt out of is the one that changes specific words in your posts, and others, to links that people pay them to advertise. For instance the word satellite would bring up an add for a company if you hovered over it. That function we can disable completely from seeing or allowing to happen in our posts.

The problem that this thread entails is that all URLs are sent through a viglink server that tracks all the data they can then sell. So if we link solid signal all over the place then they can sell data to whoever about the links. It's all just marketing data that gets sold all over. That specific feature is beyond our ability to stop because it happens at the software level of the forum which has been added in. While I'm sure it's possible to design a function to allow you to opt out there is not one at this time.

Hope that clears it up even though it doesn't solve the premise of your complaint. I can say however that new links posted after the fix have all resolved fine however old links will still be broken to me. It's also possible you have some aggressive settings somewhere which won't allow the viglink urls to resolve due to ad blocks or firewall settings. However I would be under the assumption that you set these yourself and would know.

#37 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 February 2012 - 10:31 AM

Doesn't matter what I'm using at my side (FF with AB) - the site added viglink inserts to each posted URL and bring havoc to major Internet function - use the URLs !
It works before the "feature" OK. It should works with it. Hence opt out choice is must be supported. I'm sure it's doable and probably exist already.

#38 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,597 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 18 February 2012 - 04:54 PM

Okay, its still messing up posted URs.
This makes this forum totally useless.

And, yes I did OPT out and tried different browsers.

Please give me specific instructions on how to stop this stupidity.:)
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#39 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,964 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 19 February 2012 - 05:28 PM

Okay, its still messing up posted URs.
This makes this forum totally useless.

And, yes I did OPT out and tried different browsers.

Please give me specific instructions on how to stop this stupidity.:)


You can't but I would report the url's it is still impacting in this thread.

#40 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 February 2012 - 07:26 PM

You can't but I would report the url's it is still impacting in this thread.

I did report these and what is result ? Same. Today I got other scrambled URL.
It's doesn't matter where is the URL, report it or not - it's matter of viglink devastating interception.

#41 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,897 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 19 February 2012 - 08:23 PM

Highlight and copy the URLs and paste them into a new browser tab/window instead of right-clicking them.

Works as long as the full URL is posted instead of alternate text.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#42 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,982 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 19 February 2012 - 09:04 PM

If EVERY link is bad there is likely a problem with your computer or browser. I've clicked on a few of the links during the course of this thread and nearly all have worked. (The only one that failed for me was noted earlier in the thread and it worked later, as noted, and still works now.)

If specific links do not work while others are working then it could be helpful to know where those specific links are. Simply link to the posts with a failed link. But if it is every link in every post please see the paragraph above.

#43 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,406 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 19 February 2012 - 09:19 PM

I have to agree with Mr. Long on this one. Please post the link so we can get to the bottom of this. I've tested many links myself and I just click on them and get where I need to.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#44 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,597 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 20 February 2012 - 12:14 PM

Well, the link in post #3 here doesn't work for me.

This on my notebook using Win 7 and FF v11. BTW, they failed with IE and Chrome too!

A problem with copying and pasting links is that if the URL has been shortened by forum software, you don't get the whole thing. Like the link in post #10.

I just tried the link in post #3 using my desktop and it still didn't work.
This desktop is running Win XP SP3 and FF v10.

Also, I'm a member on AVSForum and things seem good there.
Although when you place the mouse curser on a link it doesn't show viglink in the URL as is does here.

Any other ideas?

Edited by jdspencer, 20 February 2012 - 12:30 PM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#45 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    CUTTING EDGE

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,406 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 20 February 2012 - 12:28 PM

Clicking the link on a Win7 machine using Chome and the links in post 3 works perfectly.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#46 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,597 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 20 February 2012 - 12:38 PM

That's fine! But, any ideas of what I need to look for with my PCs?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#47 OFFLINE   Chuck W

Chuck W

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 827 posts
  • LocationConnecticut
Joined: Mar 26, 2002

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:08 PM

From the other thread...

Hey Guys...

We are using Viglinks on the site in order to maybe drive some a little more revenue. Been using on AVSForum for some time with very good success and some nice deals found.

In any case, I did not forgot about the fact that some people do not like it, so if you go into the USERCP and click on "Edit Your Details", at the bottom of that page you will see two new options that can control this setting. The first one if to shut them off for you seeing them and the second is to omit your posts from being word linked. While the first one is no biggie, kind of think about the second one as it does help to support the site being able to word link.

Thanks all.



Those options work great for the posts themselves, however they seem to not be working right for the Signature section. I have both these options turned OFF yet I see one of the HR24-500 mentions in my signature with a viglink in the "Why Can't Slow Receivers Be Fixed" here...

http://www.dbstalk.c...388#post2984388

Directv since 1999

Current Equipment:

HR34-700 -> Denon AVR-X2000 -> Sony 40" KDL40XBR4
HR24-500 -> Yamaha RX-V675 -> Samsung 40" UN40F6300

HR24-500 -> Sony NSZ-GT1 with Google TV -> LG 32" 32LD450
HR20-700 -> Insignia 26" NS-26L450A11


#48 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,597 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 26 March 2012 - 08:35 PM

I'm still having trouble linking to inserted URLs. The viglink stuff gives me the unable to locate blah blah.

Here's part of the message.

Server not found

Firefox can't find the server at apicdn.viglink.com.

Same message if using IE or Chrome.

I also don't understand how the two options in the UserCP work.

Show inserted links
Relevant keywords are linked to targeted products. When you mouse over the link, additional product information is displayed.

Would you like to see these inserted links?
Yes No

Allow inserted links in my posts
Relevant keywords are linked to targeted products. When you mouse over the link, additional product information is displayed.

Is it ok to show these links to other users when they're reading your posts?
Yes No

These seem to affect whether or not relevant product information is displayed.

These two options don't seem to reference how the "Viglink" is getting involved. I've tried both Yes and No settings.

Just how does "apicdn.viglink.com" get added to inserted URLs?
And why can't I open these affected links?

For example the link at the top of this post won't open.
http://www.dbstalk.c...41&postcount=26
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#49 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,260 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 March 2012 - 10:24 PM

I lost ability to follow URLs posted here not that long and it still not working.

I'm just stop using any URLs here :(.

#50 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,267 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 March 2012 - 12:02 PM

FYI... I have seen some other posts on the internet of some people having issues but most people not.

Some seem to have traced the problem to a DNS issue, probably specific to their internet provider.

For those having viglink issues, who is your ISP? And are you using a different DNS (like OpenDNS for example) or your ISP's DNS?

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here





Protected By... spam firewall...And...