Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Phase III Dish, Use of


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 29 January 2012 - 06:56 AM

Can a Phase III dish be used to receive local and national hd programming in the Atlanta area? It's my understanding that Sat 103 handles Atlanta's hd local programming.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:00 AM

Can a Phase III dish be used to receive local and national hd programming in the Atlanta area? It's my understanding that Sat 103 handles Atlanta's hd local programming.


The Phase3 18x20 ODU is only used to pick up Ku orbital slots at 101,110, and 119. It will not pick up any Ka (HD) slots. The Phase3 lnb is also non-SWiM.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#3 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:05 AM

The Phase3 18x20 ODU is only used to pick up Ku orbital slots at 101,110, and 119. It will not pick up any Ka (HD) slots. The Phase3 lnb is also non-SWiM.

Lack of SWiM is not of concern. Would changing lnbs (assuming that can be done) allow the dish to be used to receive from 99, 101, and 103?

#4 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:18 AM

Lack of SWiM is not of concern. Would changing lnbs (assuming that can be done) allow the dish to be used to receive from 99, 101, and 103?


"Sort of". I HIGHLY recommend against it. You're mixing 2 generations of equipment, which are designed for different purposes. Sort of like trying to squeeze a Cummins Diesel engine into a Ford Focus, and then wondering why it doesn't really work right :lol:
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#5 OFFLINE   cbhpi

cbhpi

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2008

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:41 AM

"Sort of". I HIGHLY recommend against it. You're mixing 2 generations of equipment, which are designed for different purposes. Sort of like trying to squeeze a Cummins Diesel engine into a Ford Focus, and then wondering why it doesn't really work right :lol:

Great analogy! Thanks for your help.

#6 OFFLINE   redsoxfan26

redsoxfan26

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 385 posts
  • LocationWest Warwick, RI
Joined: Dec 06, 2007

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:44 AM

Long thread about something like that here:

http://www.dbstalk.c...t=phase dish hd

#7 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 29 January 2012 - 07:58 AM

Long thread about something like that here:

http://www.dbstalk.c...t=phase dish hd


Keep in mind, these are not serviceable setups. If a Directv tech visits to fix any issue that you're having, he's going to take one look at that and 1. Walk away, or 2. replace it with a proper KaKu ODU (which you'll be charged for).
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#8 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 29 January 2012 - 05:49 PM

Keep in mind, these are not serviceable setups. If a Directv tech visits to fix any issue that you're having, he's going to take one look at that and 1. Walk away, or 2. replace it with a proper KaKu ODU (which you'll be charged for).


agreed... thats something to play around with for fun. wouldnt do that as a permanent setup, would just put up the proper slimline dish.




spam firewall