Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM 8 or SWM 16 needed?


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   hornmdt

hornmdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2008

Posted 08 February 2012 - 07:43 AM

The terminology has changed; FTM is SWM.


Thanks. That's my oldest DVR so if it has it the others should most certaintly do so too.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,871 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:31 AM

And to your question, yes it will be the Sat 1 input that will also be SWM (or FTM).

#53 OFFLINE   hornmdt

hornmdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2008

Posted 10 February 2012 - 08:35 AM

Well the switch over to SWiM & DECA went without a hitch. Not one problem. I was a little worried to begin with when the Directv Tech asked me what did DECA do? He just knew he had to put them on all the receivers. But I told him what I had learned here so off he went. I watched every move but did not learn anything new that I hadn't already in this forum. Many thanks to everyone who provided input.

He used one 8 way spllitter and one 4 way. I have already bought another 4 way off Ebay and will swap that out myself. He was certain that the CCK took up one of the SWiM's channels (since it connected to one of the outputs on the SWiM splitter I guess) and I didn't feel like trying to convince him otherwise. Just figured I'd fix it after he left. He did buy in on balancing the SWiM legs putting 7 tuners on one and 6 on the other however.

Tech called in to Directv to activate the new dvr and while he was on the line had the guy on the other end of the phone to notate that I was now in a supported MRV mode and took the time to explain to him that I was using my own home network and what he had switched me to. Don't guess I'll get to see if that was all that was needed to do unless I have a problem someday that I can't fix myself.

DECA is definitely a lot faster than my home network but still not as fast as I'd hoped (which was probably unrealistic in that I wanted to not be able to tell the difference on which box the show was recorded on) but there still is a slight 2 second delay between hitting play and it beginning to play as opposed to 6 seconds before. Can't tell as there's any slowdown between having the DVRs directly connected to my network switch and having everything go through the CCK to my network switch and on to the Internet.

I do have one question - the HR34 came with the old software. When will it be updated to the new black 1080p interface? Do I have to do anything like call in and ask for it or will it automatically happen some day? A little weird to have all my other dvrs on the new interface and this new one on the old especially now that it's my main receiver.

Thanks again.

#54 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 10 February 2012 - 10:29 AM

The HR34 updated software will be auto-downloaded to your receiver as soon as it is ready, and DirecTV schedules it for your area. Typically, roll-outs of new software is regional from west to east, but it has varied. No intervention by you is necessary, nor will any attempt to force it, work. Be patient.:)
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#55 OFFLINE   hornmdt

hornmdt

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2008

Posted 20 February 2012 - 01:31 PM

The HR34 updated software will be auto-downloaded to your receiver as soon as it is ready, and DirecTV schedules it for your area. Typically, roll-outs of new software is regional from west to east, but it has varied. No intervention by you is necessary, nor will any attempt to force it, work. Be patient.:)


The HR34 dedicated support team at Directv told me that there were no plans at this time to go to the new software. The box is not stable enough yet. Also told me there would be no "Watch Now" On Demand Movies available for a little while too while they work out some bugs.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...