Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

question


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:01 PM

Had a 32 inch CRT sony wega flat screen [ hybrid hd with 480p] big heavy beast.

Now own a 50 inch panasonic plasma, ST30.

Which one actually eats more electric?


Plasma has some energy saving settings, but they seem to hamper PQ so I choose not to use them.

I was told the crt ate more, but I'm not so sure.

Anyone know?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dmspen

dmspen

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,377 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:46 AM

I'm betting the plasma does. Your plasma pulls 341 watts, the Sony Wega about 145. So nearly double.
However, your screen real estate has gone from 491 sw inches to 1050!
The number of lines of resolution has increased dramatically!

#3 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 02 February 2012 - 12:32 PM

I'm betting the plasma does. Your plasma pulls 341 watts, the Sony Wega about 145. So nearly double.
However, your screen real estate has gone from 491 sw inches to 1050!
The number of lines of resolution has increased dramatically!




Oh Oh, better stop using it as background noise. Thanks for the heads up!

#4 OFFLINE   mutelight

mutelight

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 03:06 PM

I'm betting the plasma does. Your plasma pulls 341 watts, the Sony Wega about 145. So nearly double.
However, your screen real estate has gone from 491 sw inches to 1050!
The number of lines of resolution has increased dramatically!


You also have to take into consideration that the power consumption is not consistent.

When the screen is dark the power consumption drastically drops, then an all white screen comes on, it draws much more power.

I have a 65" VT30 and used it quite a bit one month and it raised my power bill a noticeable amount. However, typically, since installing it I haven't seen a difference in my bill with a couple hours a day and on weekends.
HR22-100 50" Panasonic V10 Plasma 1080p (networked)
HR22-100 108" Panasonic AE4000 1080p (networked)
H21-100 65" Panasonic VT30 (networked)

Sirius Stiletto 2 (Premium Web)
..::Main Theater Room Pictures::..

#5 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 14 February 2012 - 12:36 PM

You also have to take into consideration that the power consumption is not consistent.

When the screen is dark the power consumption drastically drops, then an all white screen comes on, it draws much more power.

I have a 65" VT30 and used it quite a bit one month and it raised my power bill a noticeable amount. However, typically, since installing it I haven't seen a difference in my bill with a couple hours a day and on weekends.


When you refer to a dark screen, do you mean when the tv is on?

In standby is 0.2 watts.

I found the specs, for a 50", it draws 341 watts, but is that per hour, or what?

#6 OFFLINE   John Williams

John Williams

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 15 February 2012 - 08:39 AM

He means the plasma is only going to draw that 341 watts when there is a total white screen being displayed at the brightest picture settings (which you should not be using).

This TV was tested on cnet. They measured an average power of 215.77 watts.

#7 OFFLINE   spaul

spaul

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 15 February 2012 - 10:03 AM

I have seen on line at Best Buy a while back comparing 4 models and 2 were Panasonic plasmas P50S30& P50ST30 both rated as 106w when on. Compared to my Panasonic 42" plasma TH-42PZZU that is almost 6yrs old and uses max 578w.This makes the newer models much more energy efficient even at the specs mentioned from CNET .Which has me still looking to replace my 42" with the 50" model plasma for bigger screen size as well as having energy rating of approx of $27.00 a year for use without giving up the superior picture and color I'm use to with plasmas.

#8 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 17 February 2012 - 10:34 AM

I have seen on line at Best Buy a while back comparing 4 models and 2 were Panasonic plasmas P50S30& P50ST30 both rated as 106w when on. Compared to my Panasonic 42" plasma TH-42PZZU that is almost 6yrs old and uses max 578w.This makes the newer models much more energy efficient even at the specs mentioned from CNET .Which has me still looking to replace my 42" with the 50" model plasma for bigger screen size as well as having energy rating of approx of $27.00 a year for use without giving up the superior picture and color I'm use to with plasmas.


You will love the 50".

I thought I made a mistake by going too big, but everyone I asked said " go as big as you can" boy, were they right! Smaller than this would only be for a bedroom.
So I guess usage is somewhere in between. [161w?]

Thanks for the input, everyone!

#9 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 17 February 2012 - 11:24 AM

You will love the 50".

I thought I made a mistake by going too big, but everyone I asked said " go as big as you can" boy, were they right! Smaller than this would only be for a bedroom.
So I guess usage is somewhere in between. [161w?]

Thanks for the input, everyone!


I'm already at 46" in my BR....now I want 50 0r 55....:lol:

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,089 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 February 2012 - 01:56 PM

I'm already at 46" in my BR....now I want 50 0r 55....:lol:


I've got a 50" plasma in my bedroom. Looks pretty small compared to the 60" plasma I just bought. Been kicking myself ever since the 60" arrived. Should have got the 65" model.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   spaul

spaul

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2009

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:35 PM

Satcrazy I,agree that 50" will be great just have to do a little more softening of the wife first.It has been on going with me relating the pluses and mentioning how much the prices have come down since,I purchased the model in 2007.

#12 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,255 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:10 PM

I found the specs, for a 50", it draws 341 watts, but is that per hour, or what?

Watts is power (joules/second). Watt-hours is energy used (joules/second*seconds).

If the unit consumes 160 watts, that gives you a watt-hour figure of 160W-h for each hour that it is on. If the TV is on 100 hours per month, that's 16kW-h of power going through your meter. If your power costs $0.12/kW-h, that works out to $19.20/month for electricity to operate the TV.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#13 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,383 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 17 February 2012 - 05:56 PM

Slipped a decimal point. Should be $1.92..
Otherwise good explanation.
Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" A.Einstein

#14 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 17 February 2012 - 07:53 PM

Watts is power (joules/second). Watt-hours is energy used (joules/second*seconds).

If the unit consumes 160 watts, that gives you a watt-hour figure of 160W-h for each hour that it is on. If the TV is on 100 hours per month, that's 16kW-h of power going through your meter. If your power costs $0.12/kW-h, that works out to $19.20/month for electricity to operate the TV.


Slipped a decimal point. Should be $1.92..
Otherwise good explanation.


Whew, for a moment there I thought I was spending close to $40 a month for TV!

Thanks for doing the math............... I never quite understood how to calculate usage into cost.

to Rich-
what did you get? [ model]

#15 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 17 February 2012 - 07:58 PM

I'm already at 46" in my BR....now I want 50 0r 55....:lol:


LOL.

Why stop at 55"?

From what I gather, you guys must have BIG bedrooms;)

#16 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,089 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 09:40 AM

Whew, for a moment there I thought I was spending close to $40 a month for TV!

Thanks for doing the math............... I never quite understood how to calculate usage into cost.

to Rich-
what did you get? [ model]


I got a Panny TC-P60ST30. Haven't regretted it.

Rich

#17 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,089 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 09:44 AM

LOL.

Why stop at 55"?

From what I gather, you guys must have BIG bedrooms;)


The 50" looks small after watching the 60". I put another 50" in the living room when I got the new 60" and that looks really small. Nobody but my granddaughter watches it, tho. I've also got three or four that are from ~ '06-'07 and no burn in, no problems. Very dependable.

Rich

#18 OFFLINE   mutelight

mutelight

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 February 2012 - 10:43 AM

The 50" looks small after watching the 60". I put another 50" in the living room when I got the new 60" and that looks really small. Nobody but my granddaughter watches it, tho. I've also got three or four that are from ~ '06-'07 and no burn in, no problems. Very dependable.

Rich


I have a 50" in my bedroom and a 65" plasma and 108" projector in the other room and I honestly would not want anything larger in my bedroom at least. (OK, well let's not get carried away, I would always take a larger screen but it doesn't seem too small.)
HR22-100 50" Panasonic V10 Plasma 1080p (networked)
HR22-100 108" Panasonic AE4000 1080p (networked)
H21-100 65" Panasonic VT30 (networked)

Sirius Stiletto 2 (Premium Web)
..::Main Theater Room Pictures::..

#19 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,089 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:28 PM

I have a 50" in my bedroom and a 65" plasma and 108" projector in the other room and I honestly would not want anything larger in my bedroom at least. (OK, well let's not get carried away, I would always take a larger screen but it doesn't seem too small.)


I could easily fit a 65" in my bedroom. I can't imagine what my wife would do.

Rich

#20 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 714 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:07 PM

I could easily fit a 65" in my bedroom. I can't imagine what my wife would do.

Rich


Well, maybe it would depend on who's on the TV, LOL!

Have you ever read the "ST30" thread at AVS forums? I did before I bought my ST30, [ for homework purposes] and recently went back to see what was new, lot of people complaining about "pink tint" and "green globs" and buzz issue,[ fluctuating brightness also].

I guess I lucked out, occasionally I notice the "FBR" but I really don't want to mess with this TV. The picture seemed to get even better overtime. I never ran the slides [ are you kidding?]. I do have one question tho, maybe you know the answer to, In some programs [ more noticable SD than HD, I think?] You can have 2 people or more in one scene, and the complexion of one of the persons will be blotchy/reddish, and the others are fine. What is that? Do you notice that at all on your ST:confused:

[ I base my settings on complexion, seems to work for me]

Appreciate your input.




spam firewall