Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Charge for adding External Drive?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Simonjester

Simonjester

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2012

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:11 PM

Does Dish still charge $39 for adding an external drive to a 612?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 342 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:17 PM

No. Only charge is on the 211/211k conversion to DVR.

#3 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:17 PM

Does Dish still charge $39 for adding an external drive to a 612?


No.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#4 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,803 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 01 February 2012 - 10:25 PM

Let me clarify.

No.

:D

#5 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 02 February 2012 - 02:25 AM

I guess OP will just have to decide which answer best fits his situation. ;)
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#6 OFFLINE   BillJ

BillJ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 821 posts
Joined: May 05, 2005

Posted 02 February 2012 - 06:22 AM

Another external drive question: Can I use one hard drive to archive recordings from two 622 receivers? I don't need the extra storage space but there are recordings on both I'd like to preserve in case I have a receiver failure or decide to upgrade to another receiver someday. If I don't have to pay to connect an external drive I might consider doing it just to preserve those old programs. Seems like it shouldn't be too hard to move the drive from one receiver to the other occasionally.

#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,461 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:07 AM

612, 622, 722, 722K, 922, and presumably the forthcoming Hopper/Joey receivers all can share the same external hard drive.

-- I like to go fast (not really)





spam firewall