Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is It Possible to Keep My Old R10s?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HappyTheManFan

HappyTheManFan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2010

Posted 02 February 2012 - 06:17 PM

I'd like to get a rundown of my options regarding upgrading to the new HD Tivo.

My current setup, which hasn't changed in 7 years, is a 3 LNB oval dish going to a 16 channel multiswitch feeding 5 R10s (with lifetime TIVO) and an old Sony SD receiver. We have held out against upgrading all these years, despite now having 2 HD TVs, because of the absolute need for Tivo.

Is there any way to add just 2 HD Tivos and keep 3 R10s and the Sony? I know we'll need a new dish, but I don't know if DirecTV is able to, or is even willing to try to, help us create a system that can use the legacy equipment. And if not, what kind of damage am I going to get hit with to replace everything?

Thanks for the info/advice.

Pat

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 02 February 2012 - 07:31 PM

You can't exceed 8 tuners and keep legacy equipment if you go through DIRECTV. You can do a non supported setup by finding a 6x16 or do a couple 6x8's.

If you exceed 16 tuners they'll swap out your equipment with current model versions of your receivers.

#3 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,249 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:46 PM

Have your read the reviews of the new DirecTV Tivo? There are a number of people who really don't like it.

#4 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,033 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:47 PM

You can't exceed 8 tuners and keep legacy equipment if you go through DIRECTV. You can do a non supported setup by finding a 6x16 or do a couple 6x8's.

If you exceed 16 tuners they'll swap out your equipment with current model versions of your receivers.

As far as I know, DirecTV will still install two SWM8s in parallel for a legacy installation, it isn't "non supported"

#5 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:56 PM

As far as I know, DirecTV will still install two SWM8s in parallel for a legacy installation, it isn't "non supported"


DIRECTV stopped installing SWM8's in parellel once the SWM 16 was entered into the field. SWM 8's wouldn't help in this situation either way because they aren't allowed to use the legacy ports on them.

Have your read the reviews of the new DirecTV Tivo? There are a number of people who really don't like it.


He's holding onto R10's it was designed for him unless he has them hacked and thinks they can hack the new ones.

#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,814 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:00 AM

So your goal is to end up with two THR22's, three R10's and one non DVR, right? That totals eleven tuners.

One option would be to set the R10's to single tuner mode and use a single WB68. A second option would be to use two SWM8's in parallel. The third option is to use an SWM16 (which you should be able to find on-line someplace).

If you run into a situation where DirecTV won't want to do the install (such as two SWM8's in parallel), you could have them do four DVRs, then add the other stuff yourself once they are done.

I would recommend the WB616 over parallel WB68's because the 8 is non-powered and you can start running into DC power problems between the receiver and the dish with parallel WB68's & splitters. If you choose to use parallel WB68's you might also consider a Sonora phase locker/power inserter between the dish and the splitters feeding the WB68's.

#7 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,371 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 03 February 2012 - 11:19 AM

If you're up for a second dish, that would be the cheap (free installation?) and easy way.

Otherwise, I'd hope that DIRECTV would install a Slimline dish with a WB616 as carl6 suggests.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#8 OFFLINE   HappyTheManFan

HappyTheManFan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2010

Posted 03 February 2012 - 12:30 PM

Thanks for the replies everyone.

I'd like to clarify a bit to maybe get down to a final answer.

First, going non-TIVO is not an option due to other forces in the household (i.e., the ones that have refused to upgrade to HD until TIVO units were available) Like it or not, for better or for worse, non-TIVO is a non-starter.

Second, I should have been more specific about the multiswitch. I used to have a 5X16 powered multiswitch but it got fried a little while ago so I replaced it with one of the kits from Solid Signal that has 4 wide band splitters feeding 2 WB68.

So as I think I understand it, I could get a 5 LNB Slimline dish installed, remove the splitters and use just one WB68, feed two lines to the two tuners on each THR22 (total of 4 lines used), one line to each R10 (total of 3 lines; won't really need to use dual tuners on the R10s), and one line to the Sony box for a total of 8 lines. As I understand it, this configuration will not use the SWM technology, right? And it will be able to get HD in the current format used by DirecTV with no problems?

Lastly, do you think DirecTV will install this at little or no charge, or will I have to buy everything myself and hire an independent installer to set up the new dish? (the dish setup is the only part of the install I haven't done myself at each house we've lived in.)

Also, is DirecTV honoring the lifetime TIVO with these new units if they are replacing R10s? And if not, will they still honor it for the remaining R10s?

Thanks again for all your help.

Pat

#9 OFFLINE   HappyTheManFan

HappyTheManFan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2010

Posted 03 February 2012 - 12:53 PM

I would recommend the WB616 over parallel WB68's because the 8 is non-powered and you can start running into DC power problems between the receiver and the dish with parallel WB68's & splitters. If you choose to use parallel WB68's you might also consider a Sonora phase locker/power inserter between the dish and the splitters feeding the WB68's.


Is this a problem caused by the THR22s or the Slimline dish? Because I have the splitters and 2 WB68s and have never had any problems with any of the receivers.

Pat

#10 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 03 February 2012 - 04:07 PM

Is this a problem caused by the THR22s or the Slimline dish? Because I have the splitters and 2 WB68s and have never had any problems with any of the receivers.

Pat


It's a problem with the setup overall. It can be done, and was done for many years, however it's not the best way to have it done. This setup is more susceptible to rain fade and other issues. There are a few posts on this type of setup in the installation thread.


DIRECTV is required to replace your setup as you have it with a SWM setup. They will not come out and leave an installation like that. So that means you're best option is to order the equipment you want and pay a private installer to install it for you. The THR22 will work fine with a 6x8 you just need 2 lines to it like your other TiVos.

The other option, much more costly but more future proof, is to replace all of your old SD TiVo's with the new THR22 and then have DIRECTV install them. This would get you the most up to date installation and allow DIRECTV to be able to service your home.

#11 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,814 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 February 2012 - 04:31 PM

Is this a problem caused by the THR22s or the Slimline dish? Because I have the splitters and 2 WB68s and have never had any problems with any of the receivers.

Pat

Nothing to do with either the THR22 or the Slimline.

Because the WB68's are non-powered, if you have particularly long coax runs (either from the receiver to the switch, or from the switch to the dish), the potential for excessive voltage drop can result in insufficient voltage reaching the dish, particularly to select the 18V stack plans. If you have parallel WB68's and are having no problems, then you obviously don't need to add more equipment. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

#12 OFFLINE   HappyTheManFan

HappyTheManFan

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2010

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:47 PM

Thanks for all the help.

It seems that what I will probably want to do is buy 2 THR22s and the 5 LNB Slimline dish from an outside vendor, get the dish professionally installed/aligned by an independent technician, then swap the 2 THR22s for 2 of the R10s. Then when I call DirecTV to activate them I will have to upgrade my service to HD. So the only cost to me from DirecTV should be the new higher bill going forward and nothing for the equipment or installation, right?

If I've got it right then I should be good to go when the THR22s become widely available.

#13 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 04 February 2012 - 11:47 AM

Thanks for all the help.

It seems that what I will probably want to do is buy 2 THR22s and the 5 LNB Slimline dish from an outside vendor, get the dish professionally installed/aligned by an independent technician, then swap the 2 THR22s for 2 of the R10s. Then when I call DirecTV to activate them I will have to upgrade my service to HD. So the only cost to me from DirecTV should be the new higher bill going forward and nothing for the equipment or installation, right?

If I've got it right then I should be good to go when the THR22s become widely available.


as a caveat, unless you pay 500+ for the unit, it is still a leased box no matte who you get it from

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,814 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 February 2012 - 01:47 PM

Second, I should have been more specific about the multiswitch. ... I replaced it with one of the kits from Solid Signal that has 4 wide band splitters feeding 2 WB68.

So as I think I understand it, I could get a 5 LNB Slimline dish installed, remove the splitters and use just one WB68, feed two lines to the two tuners on each THR22 (total of 4 lines used), one line to each R10 (total of 3 lines; won't really need to use dual tuners on the R10s), and one line to the Sony box for a total of 8 lines. As I understand it, this configuration will not use the SWM technology, right? And it will be able to get HD in the current format used by DirecTV with no problems?

You can keep the parallel WB68's. If they are working good for you now, there is no reason they shouldn't work for you going forward. That way you can keep dual tuners going on all the DVRs (if you want to).

Lastly, do you think DirecTV will install this at little or no charge, or will I have to buy everything myself and hire an independent installer to set up the new dish? (the dish setup is the only part of the install I haven't done myself at each house we've lived in.)

If all the installer has to do is change the dish and place/activate two THR22's, there should be no problem with DirecTV doing it. Just make sure the installer knows to use the existing multiswitch and wiring as is. You will have to pay for the THR22's, but you should not have to pay for the dish replacement/upgrade.

Also, is DirecTV honoring the lifetime TIVO with these new units if they are replacing R10s? And if not, will they still honor it for the remaining R10s?

That I don't know about.

#15 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:07 AM

You can keep the parallel WB68's. If they are working good for you now, there is no reason they shouldn't work for you going forward. That way you can keep dual tuners going on all the DVRs (if you want to).

If all the installer has to do is change the dish and place/activate two THR22's, there should be no problem with DirecTV doing it. Just make sure the installer knows to use the existing multiswitch and wiring as is. You will have to pay for the THR22's, but you should not have to pay for the dish replacement/upgrade.

That I don't know about.


DIRECTV installers are not allowed to leave an installation as he has it. Also the system will automatically generate a work order with a SWM 16 and swap out non SWM equipment if you exceed 8 tuners.

So the options are:

Go through a third party to get the THR22, Dish, and have it installed.
Pay the upfront cost to convert all of the old TiVos to THR22s
Get a 6x16 multiswitch and install it.
Go through DIRECTV but lose the old legacy TiVos.

If you had Lifetime TiVo with DIRECTV then yes it would be honored. If you had a promotion that was free DVR service or if your account number changed then no.




spam firewall