Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Starts recording late


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   talk000

talk000

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2003

Posted 04 February 2012 - 09:49 AM

My new/reconditioned 512 (508 replacement) which I installed Tuesday starts recording 2-3 minutes late if it is turned off, like at night, before the recording starts. If the receiver is on, the recording starts on time. . I called DISH and their only suggestion was to set it to start 3 minutes early and end a couple of minutes late to play it safe. The problem with that, of course, is it causes an overlap if you record 2 programs back to back, and, thus, is not acceptable as you lose out on one program. No other suggestion other than the normal unplug the receiver and turn it back on which did not work.

They sent me two receivers by mistake within two days of each other and both had the same problem. I sent the second one back as it was also very loud. A software problem? Do they still update the 512s?

Thanks for any suggestions.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 04 February 2012 - 11:02 AM

My new/reconditioned 512 (508 replacement) which I installed Tuesday starts recording 2-3 minutes late if it is turned off, like at night, before the recording starts. If the receiver is on, the recording starts on time. . I called DISH and their only suggestion was to set it to start 3 minutes early and end a couple of minutes late to play it safe. The problem with that, of course, is it causes an overlap if you record 2 programs back to back, and, thus, is not acceptable as you lose out on one program. No other suggestion other than the normal unplug the receiver and turn it back on which did not work.

They sent me two receivers by mistake within two days of each other and both had the same problem. I sent the second one back as it was also very loud. A software problem? Do they still update the 512s?

Thanks for any suggestions.

The 512 is a remanufactured 522 so it is "new" software that probably has some bugs. The 522 had 2 tuners so read the instruction manual your 512 may still have 2 tuners so the recordings shouldn't overlap. Try contacting a DIRT team member they should be more familiar with this bastardized DVR.:)

#3 OFFLINE   talk000

talk000

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2003

Posted 04 February 2012 - 11:32 AM

Thanks. The problem with that is only one tuner works on my 512 . I have a DishPro setup rather than a DishProPlus. I get two satellites - 110 and 119 - the others are blocked by trees including the HD ones. I had a better setup at one time to receive some locals that were on another satellite but occasionally (like windy days in the spring/summer) trouble receiving them when trees in bloom. A few years ago I had some other issue and they had to come out, and they replaced my then setup with this simpler one saying it would be better for me (and they took the existing equipment). Wish I had objected (they had already made the change before they mentioned it to me), and just ignored the satellite I then no longer really needed since the rest of my locals had moved to 110.

Can I use a separator and get the second tuner to work. From what I am reading I need a DPP for this even with a separator. If not, that would be an acceptable solution. Otherwise? How do I contact the DIRT team?


The 512 is a remanufactured 522 so it is "new" software that probably has some bugs. The 522 had 2 tuners so read the instruction manual your 512 may still have 2 tuners so the recordings shouldn't overlap. Try contacting a DIRT team member they should be more familiar with this bastardized DVR.:)



#4 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 04 February 2012 - 02:16 PM

You need the DPP Twin on the dish to use the Separator, or can keep the DP Twin and add a DPP33 switch.

The 512 uses the same software as the 522/625.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#5 OFFLINE   talk000

talk000

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2003

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:43 AM

They came out and replaced the DP with a DPP and also added a separator. That seem to have solved this issue and a loss of signal issue, when switching back from a recorded show, as well. Simply would not work with my system as is/was.

#6 OFFLINE   patman2

patman2

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2007

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:54 PM

My new/reconditioned 512 (508 replacement) which I installed Tuesday starts recording 2-3 minutes late if it is turned off, like at night, before the recording starts. If the receiver is on, the recording starts on time. .


I just got a reconditioned 512 to replace a 508 and was baffled by the fact that some - but not all - recordings seemed to start late. Found your post and now it makes a bit more sense. I tried adding 2 minutes to the beginning of the recording (not always possible due to overlap) but things were still starting late. The event programmer seems not to let one add 3 minutes to the beginning. It's 1, 2, or 5 ?!?!? I'll try leaving the receiver on to see if that makes a difference.

Do all 512's have this problem?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...