Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Do I have a bad LNB?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HDSC

HDSC

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2012

Posted 09 February 2012 - 07:43 AM

I have a SL5 with built-in Multi Switch with 4 cables coming out. I got a B-band converter Tuesday and set it up. Signal Strengths as follows:

101 - Mid 90's
110 - " "
119 - " "

99 -c Mid 70's
99 -s nothing- 0

103-s nothing - 0

103 ca&cb Mid-80's

Do I have a bad head(LNB) or am I doing something wrong?
This is temporary this week but I am going to purchase a new LNB if needed for next time.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,228 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:30 AM

Both 99 and 103 are way too low, but with the readings you have you should see something on the "s" sats. Keep in mind it takes a long time for those fields to fill in (you may have to watch that screen for a minute or two before all the live transponders show anything), and also keep in mind you will not have readings on all "s" transponders, there may only be one or two that show a high reading. So if you are only seeing one or two zero's appear and not waiting for all of them, you need to wait until they all fill in.

#3 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,208 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:59 AM

...and your basic issue is almost certainly alignment, not a faulty LNB.. just FYI a correctly aligned dish will have several 101 and 119 transponders at a signal strength of 100....

#4 OFFLINE   HDSC

HDSC

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2012

Posted 09 February 2012 - 09:01 AM

Carl:
You were correct for some reason I am getting almost all 0 on xponders 1-8 then they jump for 15 to the 70's but I am getting a signal on all of them. So the question is answered. Man I need a birddog to fine tune this puppy.
Thanks




Protected By... spam firewall...And...