Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Official: HR34 pricing as of 2/9/2012


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1280 replies to this topic

#326 OFFLINE   extide

extide

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 30, 2009

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:29 PM

It is CCK, Cinema connection kit.


I see, I was thinking there was actually a different name for the wireless one vs the wired DECA bridge one.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#327 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:31 PM

It is CCK, Cinema connection kit.


It may have been called an ICK before (the wired version was), and before that it was a "broadband DECA".

There's a constant conflict between the DirecTV Ministry of Truth and the engineers ;)

Edited by dwcolvin, 12 February 2012 - 08:38 PM.


#328 OFFLINE   extide

extide

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 30, 2009

Posted 12 February 2012 - 08:53 PM

It may have been called an ICK before (the wired version was), and before that it was a "broadband DECA".

There's a constant conflict between the DirecTV Ministry of Truth and the engineers ;)


That sounds about right.

Gah, why can't it just be tuesday already so I can get my HR34 installed?!

#329 OFFLINE   alirelan720

alirelan720

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2012

Posted 12 February 2012 - 09:10 PM

A DECA box with a proper power inserter can act as a CCK & was done so before CCKs.


I believe I owe you an apology, sorry about the stupid remark. Guess it makes me look the ass afterall....

#330 OFFLINE   alirelan720

alirelan720

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2012

Posted 12 February 2012 - 09:11 PM

A DECA box with a proper power inserter can act as a CCK & was done so before CCKs.


It may have been called an ICK before (the wired version was), and before that it was a "broadband DECA".

There's a constant conflict between the DirecTV Ministry of Truth and the engineers ;)


Probably.

#331 OFFLINE   El Vato

El Vato

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2010

Posted 12 February 2012 - 11:35 PM

All,

So after about four calls since this past Thursday, I finally got lucky tonight and am scheduled for an HR34 install this coming Thursday.

D* would not budge on the previous three calls: $399 + $49 install. Tonight I got what seems to be the popular $99 + $49 install.

Do I feel entitled? No. But I definitely wanted to try a few more times before giving up.

El Vato


HR22-100 (owned)
HR22-100 (owned)
HR24-200 (owned)
HR24-500 (owned)
Soon to be HR34-xxx (leased)

#332 OFFLINE   RudeDogs-DTV

RudeDogs-DTV

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2012

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:44 AM

The HR34 is $799 each there leased at $399 to get them at better price you have to A be loyal customer in system B) have an upper package C) never miss payments. If all those or met then you would in most cases have a lower price. Its much easier to get discounts on normal HD dvr's because they have more of them. Since the HR34 is new and not have that many in warehouse yet not many getting discounts. If you waited a year or more then they should have alot more discounts to give with them.

#333 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 03:07 AM

Is the CCK just the Wifi to ethernet bridget adapter so that you can get on demand content?

I don't have SWM or Whole Home DVR thing. So I would need SWM installed, if I'm not mistaken.

Anyone able to get SWM set up in addition to the HR34 for $99 and $49 installed?

#334 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 07:12 AM

That is so wrong, but alas can't fix stupid. So I will no longer comment on that.


Good, then I wont have to disconnect mine, because that is how mine has been hooked up since day 1, with no issues.


Same here. Well, until 2 weeks ago when I removed it entirely and now just use the HR34 ethernet jack. No more BB Deca and a couple less wires and a lot less heat being generated.

I think Mr. Alirelan720 needs to go through training again.

#335 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 07:22 AM

Are you saying an HR34 requires CCK? Everything I've read says that CCK isn't necessary for an HR34. I thought the DECA is what connects it to the internet and that the CCK isn't necessary. Does anyone know if an HR34 being used with numerous other HD DVRs needs or benefits from CCK?

HR34 does NOT require the CCK if you plug an ethernet cable from your router into the HR34. I have an HR34 and 2 HR24's and have REMOVED my CCK (well, it was a DECA with power inserter but same thing) and everything continues to work as before including MRV, VOD and any other internet related feature. Think of the HR34 as having a "built-in" wired CCK.

The fact that DirecTV is requiring a CCK is another story. If that is what they REQUIRE you have no choice. Worse case get it and sell it on eBay if you want to go with ethernet directly to the HR34. The reason they require a CCK is probably because most people do not have access to an ethernet cable where their HR34 is.

#336 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:08 AM

Is the CCK just the Wifi to ethernet bridget adapter so that you can get on demand content?

I don't have SWM or Whole Home DVR thing. So I would need SWM installed, if I'm not mistaken.

Anyone able to get SWM set up in addition to the HR34 for $99 and $49 installed?


The 'CCK' is the home network to DirecTV bridge, which may be WiFi to Ethernet but more commonly is WiFi/Ethernet to DECA. You need it for DirecTV Cinema, DirecTV2PC, TCP/IP remote control, TV Apps, YouTube, Media Share, Pandora, and DHCP.

It would seem whatever you're quoted, if the installer shows up to install an HR34 and you don't have SWiM, he has no choice but to install it. For many installations it may be little more than replacing the LNB.

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#337 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:16 AM

OK, but people are saying you just run ethernet to the HR34 from your router and you don't need CCK?

The only additional service I would need to add is Whole Home DVR (same thing as MRV)?

Ok this page indicates you need "Advanced Receiver Service" for $20 a month. That can't be right?

http://www.directv.c...ology/wholehome

#338 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,522 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:20 AM

OK, but people are saying you just run ethernet to the HR34 from your router and you don't need CCK?

The only additional service I would need to add is Whole Home DVR (same thing as MRV)?

Ok this page indicates you need "Advanced Receiver Service" for $20 a month. That can't be right?

http://www.directv.c...ology/wholehome


Advanced Receiver Fee = $20 = $7 DVR FEE + $3 WHDVR fee + $10 HD Fee.

It's the new marketing term.

And yes, you can use the HR34 without a CCK. It can act as a bridge from your router to your coax network.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#339 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:22 AM

OK, but people are saying you just run ethernet to the HR34 from your router and you don't need CCK?

The only additional service I would need to add is Whole Home DVR (same thing as MRV)?

Ok this page indicates you need "Advanced Receiver Service" for $20 a month. That can't be right?

http://www.directv.c...ology/wholehome


You need to understand that the DirecTV Ministry of Truth has renamed everything, and lumped certain services together for new customers... old customers have the old names and unbundled services (now, at least)...

As long as you have Ethernet from your home network to the HR34 you don't need a separate CCK. What a CSR 'requires' may be another story. I wonder if they require it if you don't have a home network. :confused:

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#340 OFFLINE   wco81

wco81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:25 AM

OK thanks, I suspected something like that.

Good to be armed with info. when I call.

Is there a good way to transfer recordings from one of the old DVRs over? Or maybe I can just deactivate it but view the old recordings before returning it?

#341 OFFLINE   pappys

pappys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 13 February 2012 - 09:00 AM

OK thanks, I suspected something like that.

Good to be armed with info. when I call.

Is there a good way to transfer recordings from one of the old DVRs over? Or maybe I can just deactivate it but view the old recordings before returning it?


If it is a leased box that you are going to deactivate, then the tech is supposed to take it with them once the switch is made. In order to not allow this to happen you would need to keep it activated until you watch all your shows on it.
If owned, you would be correct in this method.

Transferring recordings would take pretty decent computer knowledge programming.
HR20-700 (conected to plasma via receiver)
HR21-100, Connected to LCD in Bedroom and via component to my plasma in my bedroom.
HR20-700
H20
Zinwell 6x8 multiswitch
AT9 Dish
Hitachi Plasma TV.
Sony BDS-350 Blu-ray player.

#342 OFFLINE   Bartman94

Bartman94

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2012

Posted 13 February 2012 - 10:09 AM

Recordings are not transferable. Even if you remove the internal hard drive and place it in a different DVR is still will not work. It's the same concept as the old Xbox 360 removable hard drives... the data is not transferable to another console. So you either need to keep your existing DVR or watch all the programming on it that you want to see before the tech takes it away. I had my HR34 installed this past Saturday and you MUST have a SWiM system to run it due to the number of tuners (5) that it occupies by itself. If you don't have the SWiM module already installed, then your installer will put one in. In fact, it's these SWiM 16 modules that are getting harder to find; D* has less of them than they do the HR34's right now.

#343 OFFLINE   RudeDogs-DTV

RudeDogs-DTV

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2012

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:10 AM

The Only Time you or required to use a cck or wcck is for whole home network to work, all the hddvr's have a either net port in the back but when you wire direct it disables the wholehome. For older account that not have SWN installed and wish to upgrade the cck is free addon with the whole home upgrade, tho if the customer not have HS-internet we will it include it with the order. If we did the tech could not sign off the order since could not get the cck to work .

#344 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 11:45 AM

The Only Time you or required to use a cck or wcck is for whole home network to work, all the hddvr's have a either net port in the back but when you wire direct it disables the wholehome. For older account that not have SWN installed and wish to upgrade the cck is free addon with the whole home upgrade, tho if the customer not have HS-internet we will it include it with the order. If we did the tech could not sign off the order since could not get the cck to work .


Whole Home DVR service will work without a CCK. A CCK is specifically to connect the DECA network to a customer's router. Not everyone has internet connectivity, but still wish to use Whole Home.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#345 OFFLINE   extide

extide

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 30, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:10 PM

The Only Time you or required to use a cck or wcck is for whole home network to work, all the hddvr's have a either net port in the back but when you wire direct it disables the wholehome. For older account that not have SWN installed and wish to upgrade the cck is free addon with the whole home upgrade, tho if the customer not have HS-internet we will it include it with the order. If we did the tech could not sign off the order since could not get the cck to work .


Close, but a few things wrong here:
When you plug in the ethernet it disables the DECA over coax (on Hx24/25) models.

For whole home to work all the DVR's need to be networked. This can be done either all DECA, all ethernet, or a hybrid of the two IF you have a CCK which links the DECA with your ethenet lan.

And DECA requires SWiM

#346 OFFLINE   unpluggedtech

unpluggedtech

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2011

Posted 13 February 2012 - 12:32 PM

remember when the first hd dvr (942) box released for dish it was $1000 and we could not keep up. Basdically early adopters are what lets technology get out there, then the rest of us catch up.

#347 OFFLINE   unpluggedtech

unpluggedtech

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2011

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:06 PM

I sure hope you end up with an HR34 and not a service call with a guy who has an HR24 or worse and HR21/22/23, please let us all know the outcome

#348 OFFLINE   Lancelink

Lancelink

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 13 February 2012 - 01:23 PM

....He also told me that it didn't matter what level you are at, you are not going to get a deal on an HR34 and you will pay the $49 for installation. That is the bottom line. Anyone that is not a new customer and says that they got a deal, is simply lying. ....


Then paint me a big fat lair.

Called customer service about 11:30 this morning, went straight to retention with cancel, cancel. Told the outstanding rep I wanted to see what was involved in upgrading my awful HR22-100 (didn't refer to it as awful, but it is) to a HR-34. He goes clickity click...long time customer...see what we can do to make it painless clickity click. No hold no wait, after two minutes of weather and college football talk I am scheduled for the upgrade tomorrow AM. No upgrade fee, no install fee, didn't even have to ask for a discount. Shockingly painless.

Had a bad weekend and was feeling down. It's amazing what a nice, free, shiny piece of electronic equipment will do to raise a geeks' spirits!

#349 OFFLINE   carpecervisi

carpecervisi

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:28 PM

My installers just left and let me say they did an awesome job. They delivered the HR34, replaced the LNB, installed a SWiM8, installed a wired CCK, swapped out an HR21 for an HR24 all for...FREE.

No yelling at the retention department or multiple idiot CSRs. The customer service rep I spoke to after activating a replacement HR21 last week was very nice, I was polite and sometimes things just work out. I wasn't even expecting the HR24, but I was happy to upgrade (again).

:)

Now, if they can only get rid of that old clunky guide, I'll be loving that HR34 even more.

#350 OFFLINE   RACJ2

RACJ2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,854 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 13 February 2012 - 02:30 PM

But why? There's no price protection with DirecTV. When you commit to 2 years you do just that, commit. You know what you're in for and if you don't like it why commit for 2 years in the first place? Why would you expect to be treated as a new customer when you are in fact not a new customer?

I'm really talking about once you reach the end of your 2 year commitment or are close to it. They should treat you similar to a new customer. Then start offering you the new hardware at new customer pricing. Once you agree to it, they have you on another 2 year commitment.

I guess they kind of do that already, like the free HD DVR offer I have now. They should have given me an offer for the HR34 as well. I might have bit on that and re-upped for 2 more years, since I have no plans to change.
HR34-700, HR22-100




Protected By... spam firewall...And...