Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Removing/replacing an LNB


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rbpeirce

rbpeirce

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 431 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2006

Posted 10 February 2012 - 06:19 AM

I have a 1-lnb dish and a 3-lnb pod from another dish. It hasn't happened, but if the 1-lnb should fail, is it possible to replace it with one of the lnbs from the 3-lnb pod? If so, how do you do it? There aren't any obvious screws on either unit.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 10 February 2012 - 07:24 AM

The LNB slides out of the arm. Its held in place with two screws. If the new lnb matches the old one where it slides in, it will work physically, however, the shape of the dish is designed for each type lnb. The one with 3 horns is for an ellipital dish (phase 3) and wont work on a round 18" dish even if it fits.

If your concerned, there are lots of people upgrading to HD, and discarding their old 18" and phase 3 dishes. Just hunt through craigslist, or ask your local satellite dealer to bring you one back from an HD install for a couple bucks, get one on Amazon, or Solidsignal.com. Lots of options there.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 10 February 2012 - 11:45 AM

And no, you can not take a lnb knob off the 3 lnb unit and replace the older 1 lnb unit




Protected By... spam firewall...And...