Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

anyone noticed this lag?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Accordlayingkit

Accordlayingkit

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 11 February 2012 - 04:15 PM

Seems like everthing I watch NOT recorded on the dvr im watching at the time there's a lag when I fast fwd...rewind....play etc. Its like when u press them the screen freezes for a sec then recognized what I pressed then does it. Is it because its pullinng it off my network or other boxes or box via deca?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 11 February 2012 - 04:26 PM

It would help if you described your setup! DVR models? MRV?
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   Accordlayingkit

Accordlayingkit

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 11 February 2012 - 05:07 PM

It would help if you described your setup! DVR models? MRV?


Alrighty then...whole home setup, SWM 16, CCK, and deca behind each box minus the 2 24's....

What I have

Hd dvr - HR24-500 Sons Room
Hd dvr - HR22-100 Den
Hd dvr - HR22-100 Guest Room
Hd dvr - HR22-100 Master
Hd dvr - HR24-500 Office
Hd - H23-600 Garage

Edited by Accordlayingkit, 11 February 2012 - 05:33 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 11 February 2012 - 06:14 PM

Does this lag occur between any combination of DVRs or only two?

What router is being used? Maybe the trarffic is overloading the network!
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 06:19 PM

Seems like everthing I watch NOT recorded on the dvr im watching at the time there's a lag when I fast fwd...rewind....play etc. Its like when u press them the screen freezes for a sec then recognized what I pressed then does it. Is it because its pullinng it off my network or other boxes or box via deca?


For trickplay this is not unusual, and will definitely vary from time to time and depend on the receiver being used as the client.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#6 OFFLINE   Accordlayingkit

Accordlayingkit

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 11 February 2012 - 06:44 PM

Does this lag occur between any combination of DVRs or only two?

What router is being used? Maybe the trarffic is overloading the network!


http://www.netgear.c...ay/WNR2000.aspx

yea it seems like i get the lag on every receiver other than the receiver the show is actually recorded on, and when u select and show from any receiver that the shows not recorded on it does the please wait thing for like 10 secs before it starts. Not too big of a deal i guess jus thought id ask.

Only thing on the main network is the directv stuff, then i have the netgear extender network with, ps3, apple tv, ipad 1 & 2, and a laptop, so not sure if thats too much or what

#7 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:10 PM

I'd like to see that link, but it doesn't work for me.
Something wrong with the cut and paste of it.

I hope someone with a bit more knowledge on this subject can stop by. :)
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#8 OFFLINE   Accordlayingkit

Accordlayingkit

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:27 PM

I'd like to see that link, but it doesn't work for me.
Something wrong with the cut and paste of it.

I hope someone with a bit more knowledge on this subject can stop by. :)


Well a google search for netgear wnr2000 would have worked for ya Haha

#9 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:29 PM

This issue has little to do with the router as you are on a DECA network. As mentioned what you describe in not unusual.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#10 OFFLINE   Ronomy

Ronomy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 12 February 2012 - 10:02 AM

One thing I noticed with my HR23 was that the rf remote commands would sometimes take a long time to respond. I changed back to ir remote and now the receiver responds immediately.

#11 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,907 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 12 February 2012 - 11:23 AM

It depends on how sensitive you are to this sort of thing. There is always going to be some lag with MRV, but generally it's less than a second and very tolerable. If you're seeing more lag than that, you may have a loose connection or bad wire somewhere. There are tests you can run that can help you determine that... start by running the system test on all receivers (MENU/Settings&Help/System Setup/Info&Test/Run System Test) and let us know if any of them report reduced network performance.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...