Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

8 HR24's + HR34 Install


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:18 PM

Have upgraded my system several times over the last month - was initially hoping to go from 8 HDDVR's of different model #'s to a system of 2 HR34's w/at least 6 H24's, but have been battling software issues on the HR34 which have proven too cumbersome to make that plan feasible at this juncture (namely the "Try Again" problem). There are many other reasons this architecture won't work for me/us, but I won't get into that now.

So am currently at 8 HDDVR's again (online) w/the 1 HR34 (offline). I have a SWM16 and am thinking of bringing the HR34 online into the system in hopes of getting the "Try Again" problem resolved at some point down the road and getting some of that 5 tuner joy.

Help needed is with the SWM backbone. Currently all units are DECA'd and would prefer to keep it that way, however gigE is readily available. What is my easiest path to bring the HR34 online?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,414 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:22 PM

You'll need to drop 3 DVRs, so you'll have the SWiM channels free, or change a lot of them to single tuner mode, or get another SWiM.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:26 PM

Have upgraded my system several times over the last month - was initially hoping to go from 8 HDDVR's of different model #'s to a system of 2 HR34's w/at least 6 H24's, but have been battling software issues on the HR34 which have proven too cumbersome to make that plan feasible at this juncture (namely the "Try Again" problem). There are many other reasons this architecture won't work for me/us, but I won't get into that now.

So am currently at 8 HDDVR's again (online) w/the 1 HR34 (offline). I have a SWM16 and am thinking of bringing the HR34 online into the system in hopes of getting the "Try Again" problem resolved at some point down the road and getting some of that 5 tuner joy.

Help needed is with the SWM backbone. Currently all units are DECA'd and would prefer to keep it that way, however gigE is readily available. What is my easiest path to bring the HR34 online?

Thanks


The bigger question is how are you going to resolve 21 tuners on a SWM 16? By hooking the HR34 into your current setup your DECA will be fine on all receivers (including the HR34.) If I remember right the DECA/MOCA spec is 16 nodes.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#4 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:32 PM

If I would like to utilize all 9 (8+1), what additional SWM switch will I need? Will I need an additional dish if I add that switch? From what I roughly understand if I add another SWM16, I will now have 2 non-communicating DECA networks- can this be overcome by using a 2nd DECA bridges into my router (1 on each network) so that all DVR's will see each other?

I was considering popping for the SWM32, but the note for the unit at the site I was looking at purchasing says the following:
Does not bridge DECA between all 32 connections.

Thanks

#5 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,414 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:37 PM

You could add a SWM8, and yes another BB DECA/CCK bridging to your home network is needed.

If you went with a SWiM-32, all legs/outputs need a CCK to bridge the DECA clouds.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:37 PM

Thanks DSW, the idea would be to get all receivers online (the HR34 is offline due to the switches 16 tuner limitiation). However you bring up a good question- is a tuner a node, or is it the receiver? It would somewhat make more sense for it to be the receiver itself since we're dealing with IP addressing and the receiver, no matter how many tuners it contains, is one IP address.

#7 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:37 PM

If I would like to utilize all 9 (8+1), what additional SWM switch will I need? Will I need an additional dish if I add that switch? From what I roughly understand if I add another SWM16, I will now have 2 non-communicating DECA networks- can this be overcome by using a 2nd DECA bridges into my router (1 on each network) so that all DVR's will see each other?

I was considering popping for the SWM32, but the note for the unit at the site I was looking at purchasing says the following:
Does not bridge DECA between all 32 connections.

Thanks


Utilize all 9 what? If you connect all equipment now you will have connectivity between everything (you can use up to 16 DECA at one time.) Each receiver counts as 1 DECA. The problem is the tuners (not the DECA.) If you wish to disable tuners (to 16) then you will have no problems with your setup.

And no, you don't want a SWM32.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#8 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:42 PM

veryoldschool, If I go with an additional SWM8, will I need an additional dish? I know there are expansion ports on the SWM16, is this how I would interface the 2 units together?

#9 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:46 PM

DSW- that would be all 9 receivers (the 8 HR24's + 1 HR34) I currently have. I may actually have need to bring 2 more receivers online at a later point as well (large home).

While my installers have been great, they really aren't certain about an install this size and I've heard conflicting implementation guidelines from them.

#10 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,414 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:51 PM

veryoldschool, If I go with an additional SWM8, will I need an additional dish? I know there are expansion ports on the SWM16, is this how I would interface the 2 units together?

There are a few members using two SWiM-16s like this:
http://www.dbstalk.c...70&d=1274032259

You can use a SWM8 or SWiM-16 for the second.
I'd stay away from the legacy WB68, because it doesn't have the AGC [gain] of the SWiMs.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   Iceman5000

Iceman5000

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 08:56 PM

I have a similarly complicated setup. (See my Signature) I just cascaded the auxiliary ports on one of the SWM 16's to the other. And then Used 2 Deca's to bridge the two SWM 16's via a diagram that I believe Veryoldschool had posted. I believe the same would work for you, except you could use a swm8 instead of the second swm 16.
HR34 (x3) HR20-700 HR22-100 (x3) HR21-700 HR24-200 HR24-100 R10 92" Mitsubishi DLP, 65" Panasonic Plasma, 58" Panasonic Plasma, 37" Dell LCD, 42" Akai Plasma, Samsung 46" LED (x3), 50" HP, Pioneer SC57, Swm16 (x2)

#12 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:06 PM

Great, it looks like by simply bridging (if that would be the correct term) another SWM16 to my current unit I will get another 16 ports to work with. And in adding another DECA bridge on the 2nd SWM16, I will get the MRV capability between the 2 units.

Correct me if I've misread, in exploding the view of the diagram, it appears that Legacy 1 (of the primary SWM16) gets fed into the 16V port of the secondary SWM16, and the 6 total ports get sequentially connected across ending with Flex Port 2 out on the primary going to Flex Port 2 on the secondary.

So in summary, all I will need is a 2nd SWM16 switch, and 2nd DECA bridge.

Thanks very much for the help!

#13 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:07 PM

DSW- that would be all 9 receivers (the 8 HR24's + 1 HR34) I currently have. I may actually have need to bring 2 more receivers online at a later point as well (large home).

While my installers have been great, they really aren't certain about an install this size and I've heard conflicting implementation guidelines from them.


If you wish to use all tuners then VOS and Iceman have posted the correct routes to utilize.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#14 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:08 PM

Correct me if I've misread, in exploding the view of the diagram, it appears that Legacy 1 (of the primary SWM16) gets fed into the 16V port of the secondary SWM16, and the 6 total ports get sequentially connected across ending with Flex Port 2 out on the primary going to Flex Port 2 on the secondary.


You will not need to utilize the Flex ports, and the ordering of the legacy ports is not relevant.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#15 OFFLINE   BadCommand

BadCommand

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: May 27, 2007

Posted 11 February 2012 - 09:21 PM

Thanks all for the clarifications- much appreciated. It all seems very straightforward and looks very doable. I'm much relieved that I won't need a SWM32 and that I will be able to get all receivers across the 2 SWM's MRV'd. I'll have to pass this valuable knowledge you've provided to my local installers- which I'm sure will ultimately help them as well :) .

Have a great weekend.

#16 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 806 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:15 PM

There are a few members using two SWiM-16s like this:
http://www.dbstalk.c...70&d=1274032259

You can use a SWM8 or SWiM-16 for the second.
I'd stay away from the legacy WB68, because it doesn't have the AGC [gain] of the SWiMs.


Not to hijack the thread, but can two SWM8s be wired similarly for a total capacity of 16 tuners?

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand


#17 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:16 PM

Not to hijack the thread, but can two SWM8s be wired similarly for a total capacity of 16 tuners?


Not via the legacy ports, but you could use two-way splitters between the dish and the SWM8's to accomplish this goal. This was done prior to SWM16's.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#18 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,414 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:22 PM

Not to hijack the thread, but can two SWM8s be wired similarly for a total capacity of 16 tuners?


Not via the legacy ports, but you could use two-way splitters between the dish and the SWM8's to accomplish this goal. This was done prior to SWM16's.

"Just two little problems": there are only three legacy ports, and no Ka-lo.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:26 PM

"Just two little problems": there are only three legacy ports, and no Ka-lo.


Right, that's why I said not to use the legacy ports ;)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#20 OFFLINE   TXD16

TXD16

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 806 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:52 PM

Not via the legacy ports, but you could use two-way splitters between the dish and the SWM8's to accomplish this goal. This was done prior to SWM16's.


That's what I was trying to avoid, but in order to keep my diplexed OTA with my soon-to-be 9 tuners, it looks like I don't have much of a choice.

"We are fast approaching the stage of the ultimate inversion: the stage where the government is free to do anything it pleases, while the citizens may act only by permission; which is the stage of the darkest periods of human history, the stage of rule by brute force." - Ayn Rand





spam firewall