Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR24 and SWM8


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   moisheh

moisheh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2011

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:06 PM

When Iam hooking up my HR24 to an SWM8 do i only run the one cable to the RCVR.? If so how does the DBR get the signal?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,968 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:10 PM

There are several parts required. You need the SWiM module, a power inserter (for the SWiM module) and the HR24. Depending on the length of the run, you may need some other parts as well (especially if the cable run is very short).

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   moisheh

moisheh

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2011

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:29 PM

I have the HR24, a SWM8 module and the power inserter. It is my understanding that the power inserter can be installed indoors by the RCVR. My run is about 20 ft. from the roof to the RCVR. Why is a short cable a problem? Does the one cable hook up to the #1( sat2) or the #2 port on the rcvr.?

Thanks

#4 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:32 PM

This is a SWM8 (many mistakenly call a SWMLnb a SWM8.) Is this what you have?

Posted Image

Or do you have a single coax from the dish going to one of these?

Posted Image
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,016 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:59 PM

I have the HR24, a SWM8 module and the power inserter. It is my understanding that the power inserter can be installed indoors by the RCVR. My run is about 20 ft. from the roof to the RCVR. Why is a short cable a problem? Does the one cable hook up to the #1( sat2) or the #2 port on the rcvr.?

Thanks


If you have an SWM LNB on your dish and only one DVR, then the one coax from the dish goes to the power inserter, and one coax goes from the output of the power inserter to your HR24. You don't need (and probably shouldn't use) the green splitter.

If you have a conventional LNB and four coax from the dish, and are installing an external SWM8 (shown in dsw2112's post), then from the output of the SWM8 you run a coax to the power inserter, then from the power inserter to the HR24.

If in the future you add additional receivers, then put the splitter in and run a coax to each new receiver.

With SWM technology, the one single coax to a DVR goes into the Sat 1/SWM connector and you leave the second coax connector open.

#6 OFFLINE   moisheh

moisheh

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2011

Posted 13 February 2012 - 07:31 PM

Thanks: Yes it is a conventional LNB and I have the swm8 as shown in that reply. NOT a splitter.

#7 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 13 February 2012 - 08:37 PM

Thanks: Yes it is a conventional LNB and I have the swm8 as shown in that reply. NOT a splitter.


Ok, then Carl6's post has you covered. Just remember, if the SWM PI is to be inline with the receiver it can ONLY go to the SWM1 port on the SWM8. SWM2 will not power the SWM8.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100




Protected By... spam firewall...And...