Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Broadcast rules !!!


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   yelrav

yelrav

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2012

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:36 PM

I just got rid of cable and installed a broadcast antennae. My picture is great with a signal that is uncompressed it's truly amazing. Does anybody else get their signal over the air? I receive around 40 channels.I also have netflix and hulu+.I've cut my TV bill by 2/3 of what it use to be.I pay 16$ a month for N/H and 39 a month for internet from AT&T.:)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,415 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:50 PM

I watch a lot of OTA TV... but not sure what it has to do with Dish Network?

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#3 OFFLINE   yelrav

yelrav

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2012

Posted 17 February 2012 - 03:55 PM

It has nothing to do with dish or direct just wanted to see if anybody went to total OTA and broke ties with the conventional methods.

#4 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,293 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:02 PM

Then you may want to join the discussion on the thread Bye Dish - Hello OTA.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#5 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 18 February 2012 - 10:24 AM

It has nothing to do with dish or direct just wanted to see if anybody went to total OTA and broke ties with the conventional methods.


I use OTA but half of what I watch isnt on the big 4 networks, and no local CW in HD To watch what I want when I want, strictly going OTA is out of the question.

#6 ONLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,181 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 February 2012 - 11:04 AM

What? Free TV? Where? :eek:

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary Month ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#7 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 18 February 2012 - 11:11 AM

I do the same thing, although I still have satellite TV. I use PlayOn, FTA satellite, and 2 OTA tuners on a HTPC, then extenders in each room for OTA/internet content. Each room also has a satellite receiver as well. Some things available on satellite just cannot yet be duplicated in the internet/OTA only environment. I give it about two years.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#8 OFFLINE   retiredTech

retiredTech

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 654 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2003

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:15 PM

I would like to do OTA but the signal is way too weak even with a 4-bay 20 feet up.
Had poor OTA with analog and virtually no OTA with digital.
OTA is all about location.
I suspect many rural areas have problems with digital.

#9 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,293 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:01 PM

I would like to do OTA but the signal is way too weak even with a 4-bay 20 feet up.
Had poor OTA with analog and virtually no OTA with digital.
OTA is all about location.
I suspect many rural areas have problems with digital.

Heck, I couldn't get analog.;)

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#10 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:04 PM

I suspect many rural areas have problems with digital.


That is the whole reason behind cable TV's inception. And most cable companies still offer "locals only" basic cable packages, which if bundled with their internet offerings, usually cost about the same as "Internet Only". Might be worth considering if you want to go the "OTA/Internet" route, and cannot get OTA :). If you dont have cable available, all the networks are available on FTA, although a 10' dish is still required.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#11 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,502 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:08 PM

I do the same thing,

FTA satellite,


I keep threatening to do that, but I don't know enough about it even after reading Sadoun's boards. I keep hearing that there isn't much in the clear any more.

I would like to do OTA but the signal is way too weak even with a 4-bay 20 feet up.


Go bigger and higher. I'm using a more conventional antenna at about 45' and I get a good selection. One station from about 60 miles is flaky sometimes, but it's stable most of the time.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#12 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 18 February 2012 - 01:17 PM

I keep threatening to do that, but I don't know enough about it even after reading Sadoun's boards. I keep hearing that there isn't much in the clear any more.


Well, for Networks, CBS, ABC, NBC, and PBS are available in HD, FOX in SD (sometimes HD), MeTV SD, CW HD, RTN in SD, THIStv SD, TuffTV SD, Univision HD. PBS World SD, ION HD, Telemundo HD.

News: AlJazeera English and Russia Today in SD, ABC News Now

Weather: WeatherNation SD and HD

Sports: Most all ESPN events (have to search for where they are) in HD, Universal Sports

Movies: PixL HD

Of course, if any major news event breaks, it will be covered all over the arc.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#13 OFFLINE   Scott in FL

Scott in FL

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 427 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 22 February 2012 - 10:19 AM

I just got rid of cable and installed a broadcast antennae. My picture is great with a signal that is uncompressed it's truly amazing.


Over the air signals are compressed.

#14 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,692 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 22 February 2012 - 12:06 PM

Using MPEG-2
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#15 OFFLINE   Scott in FL

Scott in FL

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 427 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 22 February 2012 - 12:46 PM

And that's just the OTA signal. All of the major networks use compression to deliver their feeds to the local affiliates. ABC and CBS both use MPEG-4 for distribution to the local stations, as well as contribution feeds between their own facilities.

http://www.avsforum..../t-1075686.html

#16 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 22 February 2012 - 12:49 PM

I just got rid of cable and installed a broadcast antennae. My picture is great with a signal that is uncompressed it's truly amazing. Does anybody else get their signal over the air? I receive around 40 channels.I also have netflix and hulu+.I've cut my TV bill by 2/3 of what it use to be.I pay 16$ a month for N/H and 39 a month for internet from AT&T.:)


While thats great for you, OTA, Netflix and Hulu do not cover all shows people are interested in. I'm happy its working out for you but the setup I would need to record OTA would not be cheap and I wouldnt want to have to go through all that hassle for it to not see shows I want. For people that can get by on those options, I say go for it and enjoy the savings. I will also say be on the lookout for more internet providers to do away with unlimited packages if more and more people go to streaming shows.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800




spam firewall