Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Zinwell WB68

no contract

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Hotscot

Hotscot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2008

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:44 PM

I'm technical but not an expert in this stuff.

The Zinwell has 4 inputs and 8 outputs.

1. Can someone please briefly explain what the inputs and outputs are? For example, do you need all the inputs to get all the channels?

2. I'm trying to tackle my long suffering 771 issue. In terms of diagnosing the issue it's interesting that I lose the signal only in my living room, not any of the bedrooms. Even if I swap receivers it's always the living room. This suggests to me that it's related only to the cables serving the living room. Would that be a fair assumption? If so what next steps would you suggest to diagnose where the issue lies.

A big thank you for any feedback. I appreciate it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Alebob911

Alebob911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,576 posts
  • LocationCERES,CA
Joined: Mar 22, 2007

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:54 PM

The 4X8 takes the 4 line from your LNB and doubles them to 8 thus allowing more receivers to be added to your system. Yes all 4 need to be connected to allow the 4X8 to work properly. Its called a switch that switches the voltages of the system depending on which channel you are requesting to watch. The problem you describe sure does sound cable related since you have the same issue with different receivers. I would check the connectors and make sure they are good as well as the actual cable. (as much of it as you can)

Hope that helps!

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,651 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 17 February 2012 - 04:55 PM

Maybe the first thing to try is to move the coax to the living room to another output of the WB68.

The four inputs carry all the SATs, where odd TPs off 101 & 99 are on the 13 volt, even TPs on the 18 volt, and 119/103 odds on the 13 volt 22 khz, with evens on the 18 volt 22 khz.

It sounds like you either have a bad coax or a bad output on the switch.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,814 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 February 2012 - 06:44 PM

Yes, because the problem is always at that specific location, it points to one of the following:
1. Bad coax or connection between the WB68 and the living room.
2. Defective output on the WB68.

You have done an excellent job of fault isolation, by moving receivers around and narrowing the problem down to a specific location (regardless of what receiver is used).

#5 OFFLINE   ds2992

ds2992

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2012

Posted 17 February 2012 - 09:48 PM

Is the receiver in your room with the bad signal an hddvr or hd?
If so is the cable rg59 or rg6? rg59 is bad replace it with rg6.
do you have low frequency barrel connectors in the line? Change them to high frequency.
the first thing as a tech i would do after confirming the other tv's were fine and the dish was aimed properly is check everything on the lines.
Are the fittings on the cable installed properly? Are the twist on or compression. twist on's fail all the time.
How many receivers do you have and what are they?

Edited by ds2992, 17 February 2012 - 09:55 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:48 PM

The first questions that should have been asked is, 1)what type of dish do you have and 2) do you have HD and 3) do you have whole home service?

If you have HD then it is possable that you do not have the correct dish. If you have HD with whole home service, again you may not have the correct dish and splitters.

Let us know what you have and the order of the cableing from your dish.

#7 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,814 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 February 2012 - 05:17 PM

The first questions that should have been asked is, 1)what type of dish do you have and 2) do you have HD and 3) do you have whole home service?

In this case, that is not necessary information based on what has been determined.

If you have HD then it is possable that you do not have the correct dish. If you have HD with whole home service, again you may not have the correct dish and splitters.

Because the symptom only exists at one location, even after swapping receivers, has narrowed it down to multiswitch, coax, or connectors. Because of WB68, probably not whole home. As to splitter, yes in his configuration a splitter could cause the problem. If there are any splitters in the line to the problem room, they need to be removed.

Let us know what you have and the order of the cableing from your dish.

Agree, in general the more information that can be provided, the easier it is to offer suggestions.




spam firewall