Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MRV & VOD Install Questions?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 19 February 2012 - 04:07 PM

I would like to get MRV & VOD services activated. I have one each: HR22/100, HR23/700 & two HR 23/600 boxes installed and working, they are connected to a SWM.

Am I understanding that if I can get one ethernet cable hooked up between any one of the DirecTV boxes and my AT&T wireless PC wi-fi router that is all I need for the networking connection for MRV & VOD? Then I will need one DECA device on each DirecTV box, correct?

Do I need any additional hardware for VOD/MRV service or otherwise?

Will there be any conflict between my PC network and the DirecTV network after this install, such as slowing down my 3mbps internet connection?

Should I get the hardware/kits I need from DirecTV and install them myself or should I let DirecTV install the hardware? I have technician skills.

Is there any cost benefit to buying the hardware eleswhere and installing it myself?

Am I overlooking anything else as part of this project?

Thank you.

Edited by tenn_, 19 February 2012 - 04:40 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 February 2012 - 04:27 PM

Seems like this should show what you need to have and how to connect it. Since you have 22-23s you'll need the white DECAs shown:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1278904414

The DECA for internet has now been replaced by the black BB DECA, or CCK.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 19 February 2012 - 04:35 PM

VOS,

Thanks for the response, can you address any of my other questions?

Thank you.

#4 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 February 2012 - 04:46 PM

No "conflicts" but if you're downloading VOD, then other internet use will be sharing the same 3 Mb/s connection.

DirecTV doesn't sell "kits", so your options are to have them install or to search solidsignal, ebay, or... for the parts you need if you're going DIY.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 19 February 2012 - 05:28 PM

I would like to get MRV & VOD services activated. I have one each: HR22/100, HR23/700 & two HR 23/600 boxes installed and working, they are connected to a SWM.

Am I understanding that if I can get one ethernet cable hooked up between any one of the DirecTV boxes and my AT&T wireless PC wi-fi router that is all I need for the networking connection for MRV & VOD? Then I will need one DECA device on each DirecTV box, correct?

. . . .

No.

You got two choices. Running Ethernet to each receiver or going DECA. You'll need a DECA for each receiver and a DECA plus a Power Insert (AKA Cinema [Internet] Connection Kit - CCK) for your router.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#6 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 19 February 2012 - 09:52 PM

No.

You got two choices. Running Ethernet to each receiver or going DECA. You'll need a DECA for each receiver and a DECA plus a Power Insert (AKA Cinema [Internet] Connection Kit - CCK) for your router.


Cost wise is it better for me to buy the hardware and install it or just have the install done by DirecT? How much will they charge me for the MRV & VOD install?

Thank you.

Edited by tenn_, 19 February 2012 - 10:09 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 19 February 2012 - 10:41 PM

You play CSR roulette. It can go from $49 to $199 for Whole-Home w/On Demand.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#8 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2012 - 08:29 AM

You play CSR roulette. It can go from $49 to $199 for Whole-Home w/On Demand.


So it looks like the best way to go is to have MRV & VOD installed by DirecTV.

#9 OFFLINE   Skiman

Skiman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2008

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:03 AM

Am I understanding that if I can get one ethernet cable hooked up between any one of the DirecTV boxes and my AT&T wireless PC wi-fi router that is all I need for the networking connection for MRV & VOD? Then I will need one DECA device on each DirecTV box, correct? That is correct.

Do I need any additional hardware for VOD/MRV service or otherwise? Just the Broadband or Wireless Deca, as illustrated. However: the BB Deca is not white (what's shown is a receiver Deca being used as a BB Deca) The BB Decas are black and small - they look like a mini router and measure 3"x4"x1"

Will there be any conflict between my PC network and the DirecTV network after this install, such as slowing down my 3mbps internet connection? Only if you try downloading HD VOD. Bonus: you'll have Media Share capabilities, which will allow you to show certain types of media files stored on your computer's hard drive on your TV

Should I get the hardware/kits I need from DirecTV and install them myself or should I let DirecTV install the hardware? I have technician skills. You could probably do it yourself with little effort, but better to have a tech since they can trouble-shoot any potential problems faster.

Is there any cost benefit to buying the hardware eleswhere and installing it myself? As noted previously, it all depends on the CSR.

Am I overlooking anything else as part of this project? Don't forget the Whole-Home DVR cost of $3/mo and it needs to be added and active on your account.
"I reject your reality and substitute my own!"
Two HR23s, Two HR24s, HR21, H21
Legacy to SWM hardware

DirecTV Customer Since 2001

#10 OFFLINE   jayerndl

jayerndl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:17 AM

So it looks like the best way to go is to have MRV & VOD installed by DirecTV.

If Directv wants a lot of money you could buy on ebay and install yourself for about $70:

Posted Image
link - (2) rcvr decas plus (1) broadband deca - $54

Posted Image
link - extra rcvr deca - $14

Good luck.

Jay

#11 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:21 AM

Am I understanding that if I can get one ethernet cable hooked up between any one of the DirecTV boxes and my AT&T wireless PC wi-fi router that is all I need for the networking connection for MRV & VOD? Then I will need one DECA device on each DirecTV box, correct? That is correct.

Do I need any additional hardware for VOD/MRV service or otherwise? Just the Broadband or Wireless Deca, as illustrated. However: the BB Deca is not white (what's shown is a receiver Deca being used as a BB Deca) The BB Decas are black and small - they look like a mini router and measure 3"x4"x1"

Will there be any conflict between my PC network and the DirecTV network after this install, such as slowing down my 3mbps internet connection? Only if you try downloading HD VOD. Bonus: you'll have Media Share capabilities, which will allow you to show certain types of media files stored on your computer's hard drive on your TV



Should I get the hardware/kits I need from DirecTV and install them myself or should I let DirecTV install the hardware? I have technician skills. You could probably do it yourself with little effort, but better to have a tech since they can trouble-shoot any potential problems faster.

Is there any cost benefit to buying the hardware eleswhere and installing it myself? As noted previously, it all depends on the CSR.

Am I overlooking anything else as part of this project? Don't forget the Whole-Home DVR cost of $3/mo and it needs to be added and active on your account.


Skiman,

Thanks for the detailed response, very helpful!

Couple of clarifications please:

I can easily connect a Cat 6 cable between one of my DirecTV receiver boxes and my existing wi-fi router but runnning an ethernet cable between my router and SWM location will be difficult. So if I understand you correctly, running the MRV connection Cat 6 cable between my router and one of my receivers will be fine, correct?

I would like to get HD video from the VOD service but I'm limited to a 3 mbps AT&T internet connection with no options for a faster connection because of where I live. Are you saying I will not be able to get DirecTv HD VOD because of my connection speed?

All of our tv's are large screens so we only watch HD, is there any benefit to having VOD that is limited because of our 3 mbps connection speed if we're only going to watch HD?

Thanks again!

Edited by tenn_, 20 February 2012 - 10:29 AM.


#12 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:39 AM

Couple of clarifications please:

I can easily connect a Cat 6 cable between one of my DirecTV receiver boxes and my existing wi-fi router but runnning an ethernet cable between my router and SWM location will be difficult. So if I understand you correctly, running the MRV connection Cat 6 cable between my router and one of my receivers will be fine, correct?

This doesn't sound like it will do what you want. This location would be a good place for the BB DECA/CCK, and use another DECA for the receiver.

I would like to get HD video from the VOD service but I'm limited to a 3 mbps AT&T internet connection with no options for a faster connection because of where I live. Are you saying I will not be able to get DirecTv HD VOD because of my connection speed?

SD will download fairly well, and you can download HD, but you'll need to wait longer before you can start watching the program. With 3 Mb/s, a 1 hour show could take 3 hours to download, so selecting these to download overnight and viewed the next day may be the best.
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   Ronomy

Ronomy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:39 AM

You can't just connect Ethernet to one of the receivers. You need a BB deca with connection to your router to have internet connection to your DECA cloud.

A full wired DECA install works wonderful. I have been watching shows recorded on a remote DVR and fast forward and rewind still works great. Plus the rest of my network is free of any bandwidth load while watching from a remote DVR.

#14 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2012 - 10:59 AM

You guys are confusing me on the issue of what actual ethernet wiring I need to connect up my MRV & VOD service to my existing wi-fi router.

I understand that I also need DECA and Broadband adapters too but I'd like to be clear on the one physical network cable connection I need between my router and receiver or SWM.

Is one Cat 6 cable connected between one of my receivers or SWM and existing router all I need?

Thank you.

#15 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:05 AM

Is one Cat 6 cable connected between one of my receivers or SWM and existing router all I need?

Thank you.

Look back at the layout image I posted earlier.
The connection to your router has to be separate from a receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:15 AM

Look back at the layout image I posted earlier.
The connection to your router has to be separate from a receiver.


So the only acceptable way to connect the system to the router is with a cable from the router direct to the SWM, correct? If this is so I may have to go with a wireless connection because of the difficulty in getting a physical network cable installed. The SWM is installed in an attic crawl space.

Does a wireless connection perform as good as a wired connection?

Thank you.

Edited by tenn_, 20 February 2012 - 11:21 AM.


#17 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:24 AM

So the only acceptable way to connect the system to the router is with a cable from the router direct to the SWM, correct? If this is so I may have to go with a wireless connection because of the difficulty in getting a physical network cable installed. The SWM is installled in an attic crawl space.

Thank you.

Direct to a coax, but it doesn't have to go to "the SWiM".
If you have a receiver near your router, it has a coax, and you can connect both the receiver and a BB DECA, or CCK.

Look through this thread for some ways to do this: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=200573
A.K.A VOS

#18 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 February 2012 - 11:26 AM

Does a wireless connection perform as good as a wired connection?

Thank you.

These do vary, but for the internet connection, it isn't as important as it is for streaming programs with MRV.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   Ronomy

Ronomy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 20 February 2012 - 12:36 PM

So the only acceptable way to connect the system to the router is with a cable from the router direct to the SWM, correct? If this is so I may have to go with a wireless connection because of the difficulty in getting a physical network cable installed. The SWM is installed in an attic crawl space.

Does a wireless connection perform as good as a wired connection?

Thank you.


What I would do is near one of your receivers and after the receiver DECA install a 2 way green label splitter and install a BB DECA module to one leg of the splitter. Then run the Ethernet cable between your router and the BB DECA. That way you have all hard wired network to your receivers DECA cloud.

#20 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 20 February 2012 - 02:01 PM

What I would do is near one of your receivers and after the receiver DECA install a 2 way green label splitter and install a BB DECA module to one leg of the splitter. Then run the Ethernet cable between your router and the BB DECA. That way you have all hard wired network to your receivers DECA cloud.


I already have an open Ethernet cable home run available between one of my receivers and my router so if I understand you correctly I'm good to go, correct?

My SWM power supply is located at the above receiver location although the SWM is located eleswhere, far away in the atttic, will this cause me any problems?

Will the typical DirecTv installer understand how to make your configuration work?

Thank you.

#21 OFFLINE   Ronomy

Ronomy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2012

Posted 20 February 2012 - 05:34 PM

I already have an open Ethernet cable home run available between one of my receivers and my router so if I understand you correctly I'm good to go, correct?

My SWM power supply is located at the above receiver location although the SWM is located eleswhere, far away in the atttic, will this cause me any problems?

Will the typical DirecTv installer understand how to make your configuration work?

Thank you.


Just tell him you don't want a separate coax run from your splitter to your router. He/she will need to get in your attic to replace the splitter with a green label splitter and maybe install a band stop filter to your lnb if its not a green label lnb.

If the power inserter is a problem you could move it to one of your other receivers. Just remember you need to swap the cables at the main splitter so that the power inserter is connected to the DC passing connection on the splitter.

To be safe just move it during the install.

Edited by Ronomy, 20 February 2012 - 05:44 PM.


#22 OFFLINE   vict

vict

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2007

Posted 21 February 2012 - 06:09 PM

I already have an open Ethernet cable home run available between one of my receivers and my router so if I understand you correctly I'm good to go, correct?

My SWM power supply is located at the above receiver location although the SWM is located eleswhere, far away in the atttic, will this cause me any problems?

Will the typical DirecTv installer understand how to make your configuration work?

Thank you.


I don't want to confuse the issue any more than it is, but you keep referring to running ethernet cable from your router to your reciever. If you look at the diagram provided, that is not the case. With a DECA setup, you do not run ethernet directly from your router to your reciever.

The connection from the router is to a DECA unit (either a white reciver DECA unit with a power supply, or a black Broadband Adapter with a power supply). Alternatively, you could get the CCK, which will pick up your router over wi-fi.

Again, if you look at the diagram, it shows the router connected to a white DECA with power supply, which is then connected by RG6 coaxial cable to the splitter, not the SWM. In the case of this diagram, the SWM is actually in the dish LNB, while it seems like you have a SWM8 in the attic.

So what you need is a run of coaxial from your splitter to somewhere close to your router. In most cases, including yours, these runs already exist, since you have coaxial already going to your recievers, so most people will choose to do this close to their recievers.

I would follow what somebody previously posted. Take the coaxial cable out of the reciver that's close to your router. Add a 2 way splitter. Run one cable from the splitter to a DECA/BBA/CCK with a power supply. Connect your ethernet to the same DECA/BBA (if it's a CCK, you won't need the ethernet, because the CCK is wi-fi). Since you don't have any recievers with a built in DECA (HR24/34) you'll need separate white DECA at each reciever. So, run the other cable from the 2 way splitter back to a different white reciver DECA, and connect the DECA coaxial pigtail to your recievers sat 1 input. Lastly, use a short ethernet patch to connect the DECA and reciever. Repeat that last part with each reciver you have (coaxial from splitter/SWM to white DECA connected to reciever sat 1, ethernet patch).

Long story short, you need a DECA for each reciever, and one more for your router (this can be DECA/BBA/CCK). Nothing connects to the SWM except for the coaxial you already have connected.

There are a lot of different ways to do this, but in reality they are all very similar. Chose a setup that works best for you.

#23 OFFLINE   tenn_

tenn_

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2010

Posted 21 February 2012 - 10:51 PM

I don't want to confuse the issue any more than it is, but you keep referring to running ethernet cable from your router to your reciever. If you look at the diagram provided, that is not the case. With a DECA setup, you do not run ethernet directly from your router to your reciever.

The connection from the router is to a DECA unit (either a white reciver DECA unit with a power supply, or a black Broadband Adapter with a power supply). Alternatively, you could get the CCK, which will pick up your router over wi-fi.

Again, if you look at the diagram, it shows the router connected to a white DECA with power supply, which is then connected by RG6 coaxial cable to the splitter, not the SWM. In the case of this diagram, the SWM is actually in the dish LNB, while it seems like you have a SWM8 in the attic.

So what you need is a run of coaxial from your splitter to somewhere close to your router. In most cases, including yours, these runs already exist, since you have coaxial already going to your recievers, so most people will choose to do this close to their recievers.

I would follow what somebody previously posted. Take the coaxial cable out of the reciver that's close to your router. Add a 2 way splitter. Run one cable from the splitter to a DECA/BBA/CCK with a power supply. Connect your ethernet to the same DECA/BBA (if it's a CCK, you won't need the ethernet, because the CCK is wi-fi). Since you don't have any recievers with a built in DECA (HR24/34) you'll need separate white DECA at each reciever. So, run the other cable from the 2 way splitter back to a different white reciver DECA, and connect the DECA coaxial pigtail to your recievers sat 1 input. Lastly, use a short ethernet patch to connect the DECA and reciever. Repeat that last part with each reciver you have (coaxial from splitter/SWM to white DECA connected to reciever sat 1, ethernet patch).

Long story short, you need a DECA for each reciever, and one more for your router (this can be DECA/BBA/CCK). Nothing connects to the SWM except for the coaxial you already have connected.

There are a lot of different ways to do this, but in reality they are all very similar. Chose a setup that works best for you.


It is not practical to run a coax from my router location to one of my receiver locations or my SWM8 in my attic. I do however already have a Cat 6 ethernet cable run to one of my receiver locations, I was hoping that this ethernet connection could be used to satisfy the VOD & MRV network hook-up needs, is this not the case? I understand that I need DECA/BBA/CCK hardware in any event.

Thank you.

#24 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,544 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:08 PM

It is not practical to run a coax from my router location to one of my receiver locations or my SWM8 in my attic. I do however already have a Cat 6 ethernet cable run to one of my receiver locations, I was hoping that this ethernet connection could be used to satisfy the VOD & MRV network hook-up needs, is this not the case? I understand that I need DECA/BBA/CCK hardware in any event.

Thank you.

Well that is where you would put the CCK.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#25 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,162 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 February 2012 - 12:00 AM

It is not practical to run a coax from my router location to one of my receiver locations or my SWM8 in my attic. I do however already have a Cat 6 ethernet cable run to one of my receiver locations, I was hoping that this ethernet connection could be used to satisfy the VOD & MRV network hook-up needs, is this not the case? I understand that I need DECA/BBA/CCK hardware in any event.

Thank you.

I've tried to explain this a few times, but haven't had much success.
If you have an ethernet cable running to one of your receiver locations, then you can either use the CCK that has a pass through mode or use a 2-way splitter that feeds both the receiver and a BB DECA.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...