Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Enhanced Content???


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   StL_Don

StL_Don

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2008

Posted 22 February 2012 - 03:13 PM

My new HD Tivo keeps grabbing one of the tuners and downloading "enhanced content".
It is becoming annoying because it does at inconvenient times rather than in the middle of the night.

Questions:
Just what is it downloading?
How can I make it stop?

Thanks,
Don

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 22 February 2012 - 06:45 PM

I don't think you can stop it. I don't what the enhanced content is maybe on demand ppv movies?
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#3 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 22 February 2012 - 07:49 PM

It is movies, showcases and other things that TiVo's have in them that are available instantly. It should be doing this after 2 hours of inactivity and it will tune to a channel in the 9900 range. Scheduled recordings will interupt the process.

#4 OFFLINE   StL_Don

StL_Don

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2008

Posted 23 February 2012 - 08:58 AM

It is movies, showcases and other things that TiVo's have in them that are available instantly. It should be doing this after 2 hours of inactivity and it will tune to a channel in the 9900 range. Scheduled recordings will interupt the process.


Is there a way to disable this. It has become very annoying.
Every morning it is taking up a tuner for a couple of hours... just when I like to pop back and forth between news channels.

Would setting up an internet connection make it stop usurping a tuner?

Thanks,
Don

#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,939 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 February 2012 - 09:16 AM

I do not believe there is a way to stop this.

EDIT: see below.

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 23 February 2012 - 05:30 PM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 23 February 2012 - 04:23 PM

TiVo always did this before it was just at a set time frame and you could delay it if your chose but once it started you couldn't stop it then either.

#7 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,939 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 23 February 2012 - 05:30 PM

Turns out there is a way to stop this:

Switch to the tuner displaying that message.
Press the Record button on the remote control
On the screen that is displayed, select Stop the current recording.
That should do the trick.

Apparently this is a known issue and hopefully will be fixed in a future release.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   BAMCAT

BAMCAT

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2007

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:50 AM

There should be a way to opt out of receiving this.
It's constant use of the second tuner denies me the full use of the DVR as I leave the second tuner on another channel that I often watch.
When it takes that tuner and completes what ever it is doing, it doesn't return the tuner to the channel that I had previously set, but puts it on the same channel as tuner 1.
If it returned the tuner to the channel that it was on before it grabbed it, it wouldn't be so bad, but it doesn't. So it is really interfering and denying me the full use of my DVR.
It's not recording anything anyway. The time line is not moving and I get a message saying to "check phone or internet connection to order this program"
Even giving the movie that it is trying to record 3 thumbs down doesn't stop it.
I have stopped the recording 3 times, and after a short period of time, it was at it again trying to record the same program. Once it took tuner 1, the one that I was viewing and started trying to record a movie.
It has become a big inconvenience.
D* needs to add a menu option the turn this feature off as we should have a choice, or at least have the tuner returned to the channel that it was on after it does what ever it is trying to do.

#9 OFFLINE   speedy4022

speedy4022

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 12 March 2012 - 03:26 PM

This had not been a problem for it says hit live tv to stop it and I do.
Mike
Directv user since 96 :)

#10 OFFLINE   BAMCAT

BAMCAT

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2007

Posted 13 March 2012 - 02:14 PM

Don't think you understood my post.

#11 OFFLINE   StL_Don

StL_Don

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2008

Posted 15 March 2012 - 08:06 PM

It is really out of hand today. At least 6 times it has pulled the "Enhanced Content" stunt and at least twice on the tuner I was watching!!

This in unacceptable. We pay for this service, including two tuners.

Don

#12 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 734 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 15 March 2012 - 11:07 PM

Like Stu said, it will stop when you utilize both tuners for your viewing needs.

#13 OFFLINE   BAMCAT

BAMCAT

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2007

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:28 AM

Respectfully codespy, I think that you miss the point.
This interferes with how I use my DVR.
According to D*, if tuner 2 does not see any activity after 30min, it will take over the tuner to do whatever "Enhanced Content" is trying to do.
If it would do this in the early AM like 0200 hrs instead of anytime around the clock, and put the tuner back to the channel that it found it on, it might not be so bad, but it doesn't.
When I turn on the TV in the AM, I find that both tuners are on the same channel, I know that the "Enhanced Content" do nothing process occurred again.
Also, it is very covert about doing it. Although there is no "Red" record lamp lit on the front of the DVR, when you bring up the right arrow banner, the second tuner record light is lit, so you wouldn't even know that it is doing this unless you do a right arrow to see the title of the movie that is on tuner 1. I do a 3 thumbs down on the movie it is recording, but that doesn't help. It just keeps trying to record the same movie again.
Even when you find it doing the "Enhanced Content" and stop it, it will just start it up again. it did it to me 3 times in a row, and didn't wait 30min to try to do it again.
Why doesn't D* just do this type of process when it downloads its service data at 0200 so as to not disrupt how I use the DVR?
I don't think that D* really thought through the consequences of how they do the "Enhanced Content" process.
It is a real pain in the A** to have D* disrupt my use of the DVR.

#14 OFFLINE   rainydave

rainydave

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: May 28, 2006

Posted 23 March 2012 - 03:45 PM

Just set a manual daily recording at 30 minutes before your usual expected wake time for the news channel. Have it record for 5 minutes, and keep at most 1.

Then every morning, you should have one tuner set to the right channel with a 30 minute news buffer.

#15 OFFLINE   Wezel

Wezel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2012

Posted 30 June 2012 - 01:28 PM

Whatever enhanced content is I never see it so why do I get it? I want it to stop screwing up what I'm wanting to watch. It's probably OK for people with Directv DVRs since they can't use both tuners at the same time anyway. Refined/sophisticated customers (TiVo guys) wring more out of their service than just watching one channel at a time.

I suggest that all who want this to go away call and ask for the Cancellation Department and make your complaint. I've found that it's the Directv section that can and will really help you. Don't threaten to cancel or otherwise get mad at the Rep, just make the case for getting enhanced content eliminated from Directv HD TiVos.
"It wasn't lies...it was just bull***t", Elwood Blues, 1980

#16 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 30 June 2012 - 02:21 PM

Whatever enhanced content is I never see it so why do I get it? I want it to stop screwing up what I'm wanting to watch. It's probably OK for people with Directv DVRs since they can't use both tuners at the same time anyway. Refined/sophisticated customers (TiVo guys) wring more out of their service than just watching one channel at a time.

I suggest that all who want this to go away call and ask for the Cancellation Department and make your complaint. I've found that it's the Directv section that can and will really help you. Don't threaten to cancel or otherwise get mad at the Rep, just make the case for getting enhanced content eliminated from Directv HD TiVos.


DIRECTV DVR's can use dual buffers as well so it has nothing to do with that. Even before with TiVo's they received an update nightly which would take away a tuner. Telling a CSR that you don't like the way your TiVo works is pointless as TiVo designs the software for it so they have set it up like this.
  • Sgtsbabygirl1 likes this

#17 OFFLINE   Wezel

Wezel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2012

Posted 30 June 2012 - 02:27 PM

While I'm sure you're correct and I thank you for the info, I still hate it, don't understand what it is as I never see it, and want it to stop. How can we all work together to get this done?
"It wasn't lies...it was just bull***t", Elwood Blues, 1980

#18 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,940 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 30 June 2012 - 03:05 PM

While I'm sure you're correct and I thank you for the info, I still hate it, don't understand what it is as I never see it, and want it to stop. How can we all work together to get this done?


Either work around it or get a non TiVo HD DVR. This is the way it's going to be for these units.

#19 OFFLINE   Wezel

Wezel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2012

Posted 01 July 2012 - 06:08 AM

I'm sticking with TiVo but I'm still gonna bitch about it.
"It wasn't lies...it was just bull***t", Elwood Blues, 1980

#20 OFFLINE   frankygamer

frankygamer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2006

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:50 AM

DIRECTV DVR's can use dual buffers as well so it has nothing to do with that. Even before with TiVo's they received an update nightly which would take away a tuner. Telling a CSR that you don't like the way your TiVo works is pointless as TiVo designs the software for it so they have set it up like this.


If Tivo controls the SW as much as DirecTV swears by, why does the DTV/TiVo agreement have a clause that Tivo can not speak of the thr22 other then it exists? You keep telling people to go to Tivo but they are legally silenced to speak. Add to that, my check goes to DirecTV not Tivo. Its a DirecTV dvr with Tivo. So if anyone has a problem, you go through DirecTV. I've never seen a prime contractor take so little responsibility on one of its products and blame the subcontractor.

DirecTV needs to take responsibility for its products. I don't care what issues they have with their subcontractor. They need to resolve it. If the agreement was nothing more then a no ligation contract, shame on both companies to limp out a new box with no support as some meaningless gesture.

#21 OFFLINE   Wezel

Wezel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2012

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:57 AM

...and I'm still trying to understand what "enhanced content" is. Once it's downloaded where is it? If I never see it and after 2 months of using my two THR-22's I don't even know what it is why in the world do I need to get it?

What say you Shades228?
"It wasn't lies...it was just bull***t", Elwood Blues, 1980

#22 ONLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 975 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:24 PM

It's some of the Push Satellite VOD and things like the Showcases. In other words if you go to channel 1000 anything that lets you "Watch Now" (They had a preview of Episodes Season 2 that was already downloaded to the receiver...a lot of it is VOD content).
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#23 OFFLINE   BAMCAT

BAMCAT

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2007

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:30 PM

It's nowhere, vaperware, a ghost that can't be found.
I think the D* enabled this on the THR22 to antagonize the people that wanted a TiVo over D* junk.
I wouldn't mind it so much if:
1) It only tried to do its download at 0200hrs after the service update.
2) It restored the channel it took after it finished its useless job.
3) It's so called download appeared somewhere.
4) It wasn't mandated by D*, but the D* subscriber could opt out in the setup options.

The D* CSR"s Tell me that it only takes the secondary tuner to do the download, but I have had it come in and take the tuner that I was watching when the 2nd tuner was recording a program.
There are a lot of bugs in this software load that I hope TiVo will fix.
The one that is particularity irritating is if you are behind in the buffer watching a movie or program that you are not recording, as soon as that program ends the buffer is dumped and you find yourself watching the next program on that channel.
The HR10 would allow you to watch the program to the end.
Some flunky programer and software tester sure missed that error.
I don't think that D* has any intentions in fixing any of these things as the TiVo is just a D* unwanted stepchild created to appease the subscribers that wanted a TiVo that supported HD.
For my money, D* could have just left the MPEG2 stream on, and let me keep the HR10-250 going.
I think that the video quality looks a bit better than MPEG4 which is compressed so bad because D* cuts the bandwidth so much in order to squeeze as many channels as they can on the transponders.
Compressing the signal down was ok back when you were looking at a small screen, but today with the big flat panels, you can see the grain in the pictures if you look closely.
Oh well, D* knows that there isn't any other good choices out there. Dish compresses their signal more than D*.
The only saving grace is the local channels OTH which look so good.
D* has got us, and they know it so there is no motivation for them to improve their service as they are in the most part providing content to people that accepted VHS for years and years, so anything looks better.

#24 ONLINE   Jacob Braun

Jacob Braun

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 975 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:36 PM

Oh I agree it's totally annoying. And yes, it does take both tuners sometimes and leaves my receiver on random channels.
Had I actually paid for my THR22 I would be rather unhappy. But it's free so I can't complain. Those who paid for it though...
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#25 OFFLINE   BAMCAT

BAMCAT

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2007

Posted 02 July 2012 - 02:44 PM

You have every right to complain as their actions deny you full use of your TiVo DVR.

I leave my 2nd tuner set to another channel intentionally so I can go to it at times and review the news. If D* had this software working right, it would have returned the tuner back to the channel that was there when finished doing its non download.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...