Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Using PC to manage recording timers on connected HR24's


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jorb

jorb

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 24 February 2012 - 03:27 PM

Hello,

Is there a PC software that allows you to see the:
Series Recordings,To Do List of all the HR24's that
are connected to the whole home network on one
PC screen or multiple browsers.
Example: one browsers for each HR24.

I would like to add/delete program timers for all HR24's from my laptop.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,495 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:24 PM

No, unfortunately there is not.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:14 PM

This member has a neat app to control DVRs.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=186693
If you read through the thread you'll see that it's one way.
No way to receive data from the DVR to see what there.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   jayerndl

jayerndl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2007

Posted 24 February 2012 - 07:43 PM

Hello,

Is there a PC software that allows you to see the:
Series Recordings,To Do List of all the HR24's that
are connected to the whole home network on one
PC screen or multiple browsers.
Example: one browsers for each HR24.

I would like to add/delete program timers for all HR24's from my laptop.

Thanks

This feature is available with Uverse and it one of the things that I liked about it. Sure would like to see Directv implement it.

Jay

#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,642 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 24 February 2012 - 08:06 PM

I agree. I'd love to see that stuff up in the cloud.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:52 PM

I'd like to see the iPad DirecTV app schedule recordings with the network if available vs sending it up the to the dish and beaming it back down.

#7 OFFLINE   jorb

jorb

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:14 PM

This feature is available with Uverse and it one of the things that I liked about it. Sure would like to see Directv implement it.

Jay


Directv would satisfy a lot of PRE HR34 users by implementing this
feature so you don't have to run around the house to every DVR
to set timers, let alone trying remember what timers you have on
the other DVR's so you don't have program duplicates.

I believe the only way to have this feature is to upgrade to a HR34.

Mite take your advice on Uverse and go that route, at least on the Uverse system
you can surf from one channel to the other with almost no delay or lag time.
The HR24 is horrendously slow in just going to the next channel up or down.
Uverse is lightning fast, I always wondered how Uverse was able to accomplish
this seemly basic feat in the digital domain. All other multi channel services have
failed at this, including digital cable TV.

At the moment the only sane way to change channels on the HR24 is to use the
program guide. (That is probably one of the reason why they have a guide "To change channels")

Thanks

Edited by jorb, 24 February 2012 - 10:20 PM.





spam firewall